Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

DLE 20 choke linkage?

Reply
Old 03-31-2012, 07:23 AM
  #1
vertical grimmace
Thread Starter
 
vertical grimmace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ft collins , CO
Posts: 7,138
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default DLE 20 choke linkage?

So how are you guys configuring your choke on this engine? I am having a hard time getting mine setup in a way that I can get to work well.
vertical grimmace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 08:03 AM
  #2
pe reivers
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Arcen, , NETHERLANDS
Posts: 6,571
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 20 choke linkage?

a simple push-pull rod through the firewall will do, connected to a servo, or a crank instead of a servo. The crank can be operated from the fuselage side.
Quote:
ORIGINAL: vertical grimmace

So how are you guys configuring your choke on this engine? I am having a hard time getting mine setup in a way that I can get to work well.
pe reivers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 08:55 AM
  #3
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,523
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 20 choke linkage?

All the ones I've seen on cowled models were a simple wire that could be reached from a front air inlet opening of the cowl.
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 09:01 AM
  #4
TimBle
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 2,744
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 20 choke linkage?

I run a simple Golden Rod from the linkage, through the firewall and through the side of the fuselage for better mechanical advantage.
Its simple, light and reliable.
TimBle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 11:15 AM
  #5
unclecrash
 
unclecrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 1,523
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 20 choke linkage?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: w8ye

All the ones I've seen on cowled models were a simple wire that could be reached from a front air inlet opening of the cowl.
+1 it works great on my butcherbird just ran it outside waiting for me to run it again
unclecrash is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 08:45 AM
  #6
vertical grimmace
Thread Starter
 
vertical grimmace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ft collins , CO
Posts: 7,138
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 20 choke linkage?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: TimBle

I run a simple Golden Rod from the linkage, through the firewall and through the side of the fuselage for better mechanical advantage.
Its simple, light and reliable.
I really like this idea. The airplane I have this engine installed on is a smallish FW 190. The engine itself gets in the way of running it forward, but I never thought of using a supported cable. This creates more options. Thanks for the ideas guys
vertical grimmace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 09:39 AM
  #7
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,523
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 20 choke linkage?

I've seen people use the Golden Rod outer sheath supported here and there and run a wire inside it to the choke lever. Just and loop or "L" bend where you grab it with your fingers
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 02:28 PM
  #8
TimBle
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 2,744
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 20 choke linkage?

I use a Dubro threaded ball end into the plastic inner sheath. No L bends or other unsightly things protruding out into the airstream.
TimBle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 11:40 AM
  #9
ec121
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Billingsley, AL
Posts: 734
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 20 choke linkage?

I use a nyrod (turned/curved 90deg to make some friction) throught the side of the fuse. I put a servo screw in the end to pull on. When it is set right, the screw head is flush with the fuse when the choke is off. Almost looks like a cowl screw, etc. Sometimes a bellcrank is needed.
ec121 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 02:22 PM
  #10
unclecrash
 
unclecrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 1,523
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 20 choke linkage?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: vertical grimmace


Quote:
ORIGINAL: TimBle

I run a simple Golden Rod from the linkage, through the firewall and through the side of the fuselage for better mechanical advantage.
Its simple, light and reliable.
I really like this idea. The airplane I have this engine installed on is a smallish FW 190. The engine itself gets in the way of running it forward, but I never thought of using a supported cable. This creates more options. Thanks for the ideas guys

Mine is a 70 in fw 190 and I had no problem running it foward. I didn't even extend the arm. I hooke a ball link to the arm and nyrod and it just clears the engine. A extended arm would make it that more easy.
unclecrash is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 06:52 PM
  #11
RBean
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lady Lake, FL
Posts: 1,382
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 20 choke linkage?

I made a guide from aluminum and ran the choke control out front. Didn't alter the choke arm, just used a metal clevis with the metal clip to keep it closed. You hardly notice the wiring protruding out the cowling. If you have a radial engine cowl its easier.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fc90238.jpg
Views:	617
Size:	95.9 KB
ID:	1746184   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pk31955.jpg
Views:	311
Size:	96.1 KB
ID:	1746185   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lq36335.jpg
Views:	381
Size:	97.9 KB
ID:	1746186   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ys48716.jpg
Views:	249
Size:	97.9 KB
ID:	1746187  
RBean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 06:56 PM
  #12
RBean
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lady Lake, FL
Posts: 1,382
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 20 choke linkage?

Here is a picture with the cowl on. Can hardly see the choke wire.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw68278.jpg
Views:	178
Size:	98.8 KB
ID:	1746188  
RBean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 07:01 PM
  #13
unclecrash
 
unclecrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 1,523
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 20 choke linkage?

Quote:
ORIGINAL: RBean

I made a guide from aluminum and ran the choke control out front. Didn't alter the choke arm, just used a metal clevis with the metal clip to keep it closed. You hardly notice the wiring protruding out the cowling. If you have a radial engine cowl its easier.
Basically the same setup I did. And if I were to put the radial engine in it could be hidden like yours.
unclecrash is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 07:10 PM
  #14
unclecrash
 
unclecrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 1,523
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 20 choke linkage?

RBean whats the deal with your plug ? It looks like you are getting blowby between the ceramic and steel in the pics, could just be residue from oil.
unclecrash is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 11:31 PM
  #15
TimBle
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 2,744
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 20 choke linkage?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: RBean

I made a guide from aluminum and ran the choke control out front. Didn't alter the choke arm, just used a metal clevis with the metal clip to keep it closed. You hardly notice the wiring protruding out the cowling. If you have a radial engine cowl its easier.
IF the OP wishes to follow this set up I would offer caution: After choking ensure that the Ignition is OFF.

Reaching into the prop arc is always a dangerous activity.

TimBle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 12:42 AM
  #16
fritter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Brisbane, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hello guys, new to DLE and ran in a brand new 20 engine today. Got it to pop with choke closed, opened the choke started and stopped immediately. Did this a few times and decided to leave the choke not fully open. Started beautifully ran up and down, idle good etc. As soon as I opened the choke fully the engine stopped again. Is this just a running in thing, or is it needle setting?
fritter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 09:18 AM
  #17
Truckracer
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 4,469
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Open the needles! Default Walbro carb settings usually start around 1 1/2 turns out for both needles and most engines will at least run at that setting. Adjust from there as needed.
Truckracer is online now  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:35 PM.