Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 14 of 16 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 LastLast
Results 326 to 350 of 382

Thread: New DLE 35


  1. #326
    Zippi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Posts
    4,851
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    Just installed the DLE 35RA on my new H9 Cirrus SR 22T. I'll be running a Beila 17X10 3 blade prop. I've heard nothing but good things about the new 35cc. Maiden in a couple weeks.

    "It Ain't Lookin Good"
    http://www.evansvillercclub.net

  2. #327

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
    Posts
    2,613
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35


    ORIGINAL: AA5BY


    ORIGINAL: WI53072

    Guys,

    I am well on my way with my DLE 35RA everything works very well idle to full throttle no hick-ups and I have several introductory flights on the plane now. However, I have a few follow up questions. I am wondering if it is preferred to remove the spring return on the throttle and allow just the servo to open and then close the throttle? And two, it seems I have no RPM change from half throttle to full throttle. Meaning full power is at half throttle and full throttle? Is this a radio adjustment? or a geometry problem with my servo arm/pushrod or is there a setting/adjustment I need to make on the engine that will broaden my throttle spectrum. I am using a early version Spektrum Dx7 which does not have any throttle curve settings. I just want to make sure that it is not an engine issue I need to address.

    Thanks Guys!

    Paul
    To gain better linearity, there are a couple of options. One is to mechanically configure the linkage and the other is to do a transmitter work around. The mechanical method is harder to do as well as difficult to set the throttle kill switch if one is used.

    The transmitter method is done by noting and adding the up & down throw percentages and while maintaining the total sum, changing the values so that the low throttle percentage is about half of what the upper is. The reason it works is that below half stick controls the low percentage and above half stick the high. That means with the low set half the value as the up, the lower half of stick travel controls much less of the servo travel and thereby increases the servo resolution for the lower half, whereby the upper half of the stick controls twice as much servo travel than the low and has less resolution.

    The effect is better linearity with more ease to adjust the idle and more ease to jockey the throttle for the correct power when landing.
    Re: the mechanical setup (bold)
    The problem with the often used illustration has been brought up a few times. It makes it's point well, but can be misleading? The servo arm position marked idle in the diagram used to illustrate the mechanical setup, needs to be moved one notch clockwise to provide you with the ability to control the idle and/or kill the engine easily. If you proceed from there the mechanical advantage providing linear throttle response still works fine.



    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Rp44681.jpg 
Views:	39 
Size:	52.8 KB 
ID:	1899783  

  3. #328
    MTK's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Whippany, NJ
    Posts
    4,722
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    Just purchased a VVRC engine and have to say I like the way they configure the throttle arm on their engines. It has built in mechanical exponential.

    From idle to about half throttle, butterflyrotation is much greater which is needed. But from half throttle to full, the servo would move the typical amount but the throttle butterfly doesn't do much. A nice touch particularly for those that don't have access to throttle curves.

    Point being, you might just purchase a carb from them if necessary
    Regards,
    MattK
    (Rcmaster199@aol.com)

  4. #329

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
    Posts
    2,613
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    Matt, how they do that, could that be seen in a pic? -Al

  5. #330
    MTK's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Whippany, NJ
    Posts
    4,722
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35


    ORIGINAL: ahicks

    Matt, how they do that, could that be seen in a pic? -Al
    Al,

    I'll try to post a couple snaps tonight... they essentially start the throttle arm straight up and down. As the arm is pushed foreward to open throttle, the clevis hole moves in a circular motion in exagerated mode, slowing down fairly quickly beyond half throttle or so. I haven't started the engine yet so how it works in practice will have to wait
    Regards,
    MattK
    (Rcmaster199@aol.com)

  6. #331

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    White Oak, TX
    Posts
    2,122
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35


    ORIGINAL: MTK

    Just purchased a VVRC engine and have to say I like the way they configure the throttle arm on their engines. It has built in mechanical exponential.Β*

    From idle to about half throttle, butterflyΒ*rotation is much greater which is needed. But from half throttle to full, the servo would move the typical amount but the throttle butterfly doesn't do much. A nice touch particularly for those that don't have access to throttle curves.

    Point being, you might just purchase a carb from them if necessary
    Sounds backwards from what would be desirable.

  7. #332

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    White Oak, TX
    Posts
    2,122
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    Hi Karol, the work around I suggested basically does the same thing as expo, which it seems you have and are using. My suggestion was for Tx units that don't have throttle expo.

  8. #333

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    White Oak, TX
    Posts
    2,122
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35


    ORIGINAL: WI53072

    AA5BY,

    Thanks for the suggestion. However, due to the geometry of my set up my low end % (idle) is much higher 131% compared to the top end full throttle being set at 60%. So my total range % equates to 191%. So if I am following your suggestion based on my set up, my idle should be twice as high as my full throttle setting?

    Paul
    What you describe as current settings would exasperate the linearity problem. To get relief the upper travel percentage should be around double the lower and yours is the other way around. Simply exchange the two percentages and see how that goes.

  9. #334

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Pewaukee, WI
    Posts
    321
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    AA

    I broke down and cheated. I picked up a Spektrum Dx8! Now I can several other things besides having throttle curve ability. I can not believe how much easier the menu navigation is.

    Paul
    Wonder Rather Than Doubt, Is The Root Of All Knowledge.
    Sig Kadet Brotherhood #20
    P51 Mustang Brotherhood #30

  10. #335

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    , NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    13
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    i take it that everyone doubles up with the muffler washers/spring washers as per diagram

  11. #336

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA
    Posts
    2,742
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35


    ORIGINAL: Brettis1

    In the plastic bag containing the muffler there was a diagram of the screws and washer configuration. Apart form the translation saying they were gaskets the picture shows a doubling of them e.g. one flat washer then one spring washer followed by another flat and spring washer. This seems very odd. Ive never come across this before.

    It is the best way to ensure the bolts stay secure.


  12. #337

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA
    Posts
    2,742
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35


    ORIGINAL: Brettis1

    i take it that everyone doubles up with the muffler washers/spring washers as per diagram

    On every 2 stroke petrol I own. Never used RTv or any other kind of "gasket maker". I use the supplied gaskets and simply double up the spring washer and flat washer as per the DLE diagram. Been doing this for three years. Never had a muffler come loose


  13. #338

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    White Oak, TX
    Posts
    2,122
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35


    ORIGINAL: WI53072

    AA

    I broke down and cheated. I picked up a Spektrum Dx8! Now I can several other things besides having throttle curve ability. I can not believe how much easier the menu navigation is.

    Paul
    As always, newer radios do offer some nice features. I upgraded transmitter last winter and have enjoyed additional features like the extra trims that work in conjunction with the wider practice of dual elevator and aileron servos and allow trimming dual elevators to remove an unwanted roll component and ailerons up or down to neutralize the elevators.

    What used to take dozens of flights and adjustments can now be done in one flight.

  14. #339

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    , NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    13
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    Well I have run a few tanks through it on the trst stand and so far its purring at an idle and squeals like a cut cat when the throttle is tweaked.
    I'm running castrol active 2T at 32:1 with 91 octane.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Qn38625.jpg 
Views:	41 
Size:	89.0 KB 
ID:	1900722   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Mk25459.jpg 
Views:	33 
Size:	82.6 KB 
ID:	1900723  

  15. #340
    Lifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    2,551
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    I have mine installed in a H-9 Hellcat. It is turning a MA16x8x3. It replaced an RCGF 15cc. What a difference!
    AMA #77967/CD/LM

  16. #341
    Joystick TX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    N. Richland Hills, TX
    Posts
    1,105
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    I purchased my engine on May 13, 2013. I had an ignition module failure after 1-1/2 gallons of fuel. It had spark, but the advance curve was way off normal. Have been runningan RCEXL A-01 module since then.The DLE repair service says anew DLE A-02module will not be available until the end of this month. That is also what they told me last month, so time will tell.


    I am running the engine on a 13-1/2 lb Giant Super Sportster ARF,using Stihl Ultra HP oil at 30:1, with a 19x10 Xoar prop and getting good idle at 1,700 with 6700 to 6800 rpm at WOT. Turned the DLE plug into a piston stop, works great for that purpose.



    Engine starts great, usually one flip after warm-up.

    Attached Files Attached Files
    Steve
    Check Six!

    Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.

  17. #342
    rcguy59's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    tacoma, WA
    Posts
    975
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    I always thought the DLE plugs would do a fair job of keeping crud out of the cylinder, but that's about all.
    Jet Central Superbee & Rabbit
    18MZ FASSTest for everything I fly

  18. #343
    Zippi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Posts
    4,851
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    Just tried to start my DLE 35RA. It will pop but will not start. It's getting fuel and just to be on the safe side I put fuel in the carb with a tube. Still nothing but a pop when I choke it and It try's to start but just runs for a second. Plug cap is all the way on and both needles Are at 1 1/4 open. I put a new plug in after it wouldn't start. Any ideas?
    "It Ain't Lookin Good"
    http://www.evansvillercclub.net

  19. #344
    Lifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    2,551
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    Open the needles about 2 turns and see what happens.
    AMA #77967/CD/LM

  20. #345
    Zippi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Posts
    4,851
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35


    ORIGINAL: Lifer

    Open the needles about 2 turns and see what happens.
    I was trying to start it again before you posted and now it won't even pop.
    "It Ain't Lookin Good"
    http://www.evansvillercclub.net

  21. #346
    Zippi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Posts
    4,851
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    I pulled the line off the carb and ran a line straight out of my gas can so I could rule out any issues with the fuel system. The diaphram in the cab is working because I can rock the prop and get fuel to the carb.
    "It Ain't Lookin Good"
    http://www.evansvillercclub.net

  22. #347

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
    Posts
    2,613
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    It sounds flooded. Time to pull that plug and see if it's wet.

  23. #348
    Zippi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Posts
    4,851
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35


    ORIGINAL: ahicks

    It sounds flooded. Time to pull that plug and see if it's wet.
    Your probably right, it may be flooded. Still have the issue as to why it wouldn't start from the get go.
    "It Ain't Lookin Good"
    http://www.evansvillercclub.net

  24. #349

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
    Posts
    2,613
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    As used to handling and the care and feeding of my planes that are flown regularly, that happens to me on occasion? I generally pull the choke on, flip till it pops, open the choke, flip it a few more times and it starts. On occasion though, I never get that first pop. After flipping with the choke on for a while, it's almost certain it's flooded. That's about the time I see fuel dripping from the exhaust too - and I know it's happened again! Doesn't happen often, but it does happen. Even when I remember to turn the kill switch on the receiver to the on position!

    It's why I carry an extra plug and the tools required to change it with me. -Al

  25. #350
    Indiomike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Indio, CA
    Posts
    307
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    If you have your engine mounted inverted (plug at the very bottom) and the plug was wet when you inspected it, most likely it was a flooded condition. You said you changed the plug but did not say what the plug was. Use a NGK CM6 or the Honda equivalent and NOT a DLE plug. Check gap to be about .022 (anywhere from .018 to .024 should work).

    One other thing to look at is the reed block and reeds. Inspect to verify they sit flat on the block. Reeds that don't seal well can make an engine hard to start or run.

    Mike
    Women who have big butts tend to live longer.
    Men who tell them that, don't.


Page 14 of 16 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:14 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.