Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 15 of 16 FirstFirst ... 513141516 LastLast
Results 351 to 375 of 393

Thread: New DLE 35


  1. #351
    Lifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    2,709
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    It's always difficult to diagnose an engine issue over the internet. Are there any clubs in your area where (hopefully) there is a gas engine user in the club that can help?
    AMA #77967/CD/LM

  2. #352
    Zippi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Posts
    4,858
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    Thanks for all the onfo guys. I have been flying since the early 80's and I've had a gasser or two in my time. The latest being 3 DLE 30, Two DLE 55, one SYSSA 30cc, and now one DLE 35. I've had issues with engines before but never had an issue with firing one up for the first time. When I get home from work today I'm going to check the spark on the plug. I've already ruled out the fuel system. I'm thinking maybe the E.I. may be the issue but you never know.
    "It Ain't Lookin Good"
    http://www.evansvillercclub.net

  3. #353

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
    Posts
    2,734
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    You forgot to mention, or maybe I just missed the fact this was the initial fire up. When these things first came out there were several guys that had ign. module related issues seems like? Is the boot on the plug tight?

    jedijodi wrote and posted an Rcexl trouble shooting guide here, in post #24, down near the bottom of the first page.

    http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_8673009/tm.htm

  4. #354
    Joystick TX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    N. Richland Hills, TX
    Posts
    1,105
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35



    The spring should also be in the cap. I found that it is also hard to get the boot all the way on the plug with the 120 degree connector.

    Steve
    Check Six!

    Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.

  5. #355
    Zippi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Posts
    4,858
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    Thanks again for the info guys. Yes, plug cap is all the way over the plug. I put one more plug in today just to be on the safe side. I did get it to run if you want to call it that. It would only take a little throttle if any at all. It would serge up and down and I finally shut it down and after that it would not start. It sounded like a bad ignition battery so I went to check it and the battery in my battery tester was dead. Going to pick one up tomorrow. Both onboard and ignition packs are new. Still doesn't mean it can't be bad. I need a good day for once.
    "It Ain't Lookin Good"
    http://www.evansvillercclub.net

  6. #356
    Joystick TX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    N. Richland Hills, TX
    Posts
    1,105
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    It could be the carb or the ignition. Can you strap on an ignition module from one of your other gas engines to see if that is the problem? You do not need to put in inside the plane, nor do you even need a switch. You can just tape it to the LG along with a known good battery, use the battery plug for your ON/OFF switch. Don't fly it like that, just use it to get the engine running. An RCEXL A-01 type will work in place of the A-02 that came with the engine.
    Steve
    Check Six!

    Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.

  7. #357
    Lifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    2,709
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    Does the engine have an external pulse line? If so, check for obstructions.
    AMA #77967/CD/LM

  8. #358
    Zippi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Posts
    4,858
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    No external pulse line, no extra EI unless I pull one off my DLE 55. Done want to tear that plane down. A pain to get the cowl off. Checked my ignition battery and it's fine. I suspect the electronic ignition. Time to put a call into Tower.
    "It Ain't Lookin Good"
    http://www.evansvillercclub.net

  9. #359
    Joystick TX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    N. Richland Hills, TX
    Posts
    1,105
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    I sent my bad ignition module in to the repair service in mid-May and they have not sent a replacement yet, they say it will be in by the end of this month. There seems to be a shortage of the A-02 modules right now. I'm running one from my other gas engines.With the bad module, my engine would start okay and the idle was good if low (below 1500), but the spool up was very slow and erratic.The module will pass the tests that only check for spark at the plug with the Hall sensor simulator and the spark at the plug will appear to be normal.Do you have an ignition module you can swap or maybe borrow from someone to make sure yours is really bad?
    Steve
    Check Six!

    Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.

  10. #360
    Joystick TX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    N. Richland Hills, TX
    Posts
    1,105
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    I have my new A0-2 module back from the repair shop. The engine runs, but will not spool up as fast as the A0-1 module and will frequently die if the throttle is advanced too fast.
    For you math wizards out there, here is the raw data that I measured. Can one of you convert the time delay, from the Hall sensor to plug fire at the RPMs shown below, into Degrees before or after TDC? I did it and I find the results hard to believe, it looks like the timing is still messed up; just wondering if I made a conversion error.
    RPM mSec
    500 8.2
    750 4.8
    1000 3
    1250 2
    1500 1.2
    1750 3.6
    2000 3.2
    2250 2.6
    2500 2.1
    2750 1.61
    3000 1.2
    3250 0.98
    3500 0.58
    3750 0.36
    4000 0.2
    4250 0.01
    Steve
    Check Six!

    Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.

  11. #361
    Zippi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Posts
    4,858
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    Well, tried a fiends electronic ignition today and its no different than mine. I notice a lot of air in the fuel line. Fuel pump seems fine as I can rock the prop and get it to draw fuel from my can on the ground. Now it's beginning to seem like the reeds may be sucking air. It's under warranty so it's going to get sent in to be checked out.
    "It Ain't Lookin Good"
    http://www.evansvillercclub.net

  12. #362

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sandy, UT
    Posts
    177
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35

    [quote]ORIGINAL: Joystick TX
    I have my new A0-2 module back from the repair shop. The engine runs, but will not spool up as fast as the A0-1 module and will frequently die if the throttle is advanced too fast. For you math wizards out there, here is the raw data that I measured. Can one of you convert the time delay, from the Hall sensor to plug fire at the RPMs shown below, into Degrees before or after TDC? I did it and I find the results hard to believe, it looks like the timing is still messed up; just wondering if I made a conversion error./quote]

    Graphing your data gives the timing curve shown below. Converting your time delay to degress BTDC would not change the shape of the graph. Assuming no error in your data collection, there something weird going on. The ignition is advancing the spark between 500 and 1500 and then retards between 1500-1750 and then advances again between 1750 and 4250. I wonder what they are trying to accomplish with this. This bump is right in the idle range.

    Do you have a standard RCEXL ignition you get the same data from for comparison? You would think it would be a smooth curve.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ay73908.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	33.5 KB 
ID:	1904009  

  13. #363
    Joystick TX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    N. Richland Hills, TX
    Posts
    1,105
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New DLE 35



    Aerobear, Thanks for the input, there is a reason I converted the data to degrees. It is easier to understand what is going on when it isΒ*shownΒ*that way.



    I have tested several of the A0-1 modules and none of them have this odd looking curve.



    Will do more testing today.

    The engine will idle at a very low RPM without quitting.
    Steve
    Check Six!

    Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.

  14. #364

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Lancaster, NY
    Posts
    92
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Hi all, I'm currently installing a DLE 35r in my 1/4 scale Fokker D VII, it's my first gas engine and my question is do I need to be concerned about the clearance between the carb and the firewall, in regards to airflow to the carb? I'm using the stock stand offs supplied by DLE and I have 3/8" clearance. Should I be boring a hole in the firewall behind/inline with the carb throat?
    Thanks,
    lumpy

  15. #365

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Southern California, CA
    Posts
    115
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    I think DA says they want 1 inch, if less than, need to drill a hole. Maybe someone with a DLE 35A will comment with the clearance they have used successfully.

  16. #366
    Lifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    2,709
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    You can open up a hole behind the carb if you wish. In my experience, even with the carb very close, it will still run okay.

  17. #367
    MTK's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Whippany, NJ
    Posts
    4,758
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by lumpy649 View Post
    Hi all, I'm currently installing a DLE 35r in my 1/4 scale Fokker D VII, it's my first gas engine and my question is do I need to be concerned about the clearance between the carb and the firewall, in regards to airflow to the carb? I'm using the stock stand offs supplied by DLE and I have 3/8" clearance. Should I be boring a hole in the firewall behind/inline with the carb throat?
    Thanks,
    lumpy
    I have bored holes in every firewall to date (6 planes) since going to gasoline with rear intakes. Holes are fairly large, at least 2x2 inches. I've experienced no issues other than cleaning a bit of fuel spit from inside the first plane. I've installed a piece of breathing foam on the other side of the firewall in all planes to avoid fuel spit making a mess
    Regards,
    MattK
    (Rcmaster199@aol.com)

  18. #368
    vertical grimmace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    ft collins , CO
    Posts
    5,914
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    For those that have been running this new 35R, how is the vibration, and what is your best prop? I am thinking about getting one of these engines.

    I have a DLE 30, along with other club members, and I was never very happy with the amount of vibration. Maybe mine needs more time, but it shook more than any gas engine I have owned.
    \"let\'\'\'\'s just say, they will be satisfied with less\" Ming the Merciless

  19. #369
    Joystick TX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    N. Richland Hills, TX
    Posts
    1,105
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    I have not noticed any excessive vibration with this engine. I'm running it on a Giant Super Sportster, weight is 14.5 lbs, with a 19x10 Xoar prop. Great combo.
    Steve
    Check Six!

    Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.

  20. #370
    Joystick TX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    N. Richland Hills, TX
    Posts
    1,105
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    For some reason I can't get the engine to run with the DLE A-02 ignition module. Just tried module #3 and the engine is hard to start, won't spool up at all, and dies after about 30 seconds. The repair service says the timing should be set at 46 degrees, I would like to know how they do that; the hall adjustment slots on my engine only gives a range of 30 to 40 degrees. The holes would need to be redrilled to get 46 degrees. I have tried running it with the hall adjustment fully CW and CCW with no change in performance. The timing curve looks very strange. It runs great with an RCEXL A-01 module set at 30 degrees BTDC.
    Last edited by Joystick TX; 08-28-2013 at 08:30 PM.
    Steve
    Check Six!

    Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.

  21. #371
    rcguy59's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    tacoma, WA
    Posts
    978
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    The vibration level on my 35RA is quite low. I run an APC 18-12 on a KMP Bearcat. Great combo.
    Jet Central Superbee & Rabbit
    18MZ FASSTest for everything I fly

  22. #372
    vertical grimmace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    ft collins , CO
    Posts
    5,914
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Thanks for the info guys. Does anyone have an opinion on which engine they like better, the 35R or the 30? Any overheating problems with the rear exhaust or carb problems being so close to the muffler?
    \"let\'\'\'\'s just say, they will be satisfied with less\" Ming the Merciless

  23. #373

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    solihullwest midlands, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    81
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Hi Just thourght I had better mention it but the 'standard' rexcel ignition module is set to 28degs the one supllied with the dle 35 is set to 35 degs so the two units are not interchangable, there has been a sticker on both of mine that say special for dle 35.

    regards

  24. #374

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    solihullwest midlands, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    81
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Oh and currently I have two 35's set up on full pipes giving 8350rpm at last run on the ground on a 20*8 falcon carbon prop running 50\1 stihl fully synthetic. These motors unwind some in the air up to 9200rpm would like to try a 21" prop if I can find one.

  25. #375
    Joystick TX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    N. Richland Hills, TX
    Posts
    1,105
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by morecashthansense View Post
    Hi Just thourght I had better mention it but the 'standard' rexcel ignition module is set to 28degs the one supllied with the dle 35 is set to 35 degs so the two units are not interchangable, there has been a sticker on both of mine that say special for dle 35.

    regards
    The DLE 35 ignition is "special", I posted the timing curve for the A-02 ( what I call the bad module) and a standard A-01 module. See post #341. My engine will run great on the standard RCEXL module, but it will not run on the A-02 module. I tested three of the A-02 modules and they all follow about the same odd timing curve on what I thought was a bad one. There is something else going on with my engine or I have the worst luck in the world to have three modules in a row that are bad. I just sent the engine back in for service. BTW, the repair center says the timing should be set to 46 degrees BTDC. I have no idea how that can be done. I can only get a range of 30 to 40 degrees by adjusting the Hall sensor to the limits both directions.
    Steve
    Check Six!

    Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.


Page 15 of 16 FirstFirst ... 513141516 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:19 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.