Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Fox 3.2 Help

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2012, 07:14 PM
CAPT John
My Feedback: (15)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fox 3.2 Help

I'm new to gas engines and am out of airspeed, altitude, and ideas with my Fox 3.2 engine. The engine is new with about 3 gallons of gas run through it. My problem is even with the throttle fully closed I cannot get the engine to idle below about 2300 RPM and once it heats up, it won’t idle below about 4000 rpm. The engine idled well for the first 1 ½ gallons of gas before the problem started. I have reset the needles to 1 ½ turns from closed and I have tried increasingly richening the low end until the needle is up to 4 turns out and I can’t detect a significant change in the idle or transition. The engine has a good transition and WOT is about 5900 rpm with a 22 X 10 Xoar prop. (The high end needle is leaned to about ¾ of a turn from closed to get the top end set).

When the engine is cold it seems to do better, although it still cannot be shut off by closing the throttle (thank goodness for the ignition kill switch). With the idle rpm increasing as the engine heats up, I thought the high end might be too lean but it is set to slightly rich of max rpm. I have gone through the fuel system looking for an air leak, but can find nothing.

Thanks for any help you might offer.
John
Old 08-06-2012, 07:30 PM
Carlos G

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Fox 3.2 Help

Hi ONF,

Just guessing I would say you have an air leak between the carburetor and the rest of the engine. You need to look for leaks around the carb and its mounting and or the mounting or insulation block and cylinder. Failing to find any leaks there, then you need to check the rest of the engine for leaks at seals, seams, and gasket areas. Also check for loose attachment screws or pressure taps.

Good luck and I hope this helps

Carlos G.
Old 08-06-2012, 08:25 PM
Bass1