Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

New Saito 4 Cycle Gas Engine, 3 Cyl FG-84

Reply

Old 12-02-2017, 07:25 PM
  #151  
CH Ignitions
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Rcexl makes the Saito CDI.
so yes that did or CH will be compatible 100%.

Adrian
CH Ignitions is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 04:41 AM
  #152  
Jim Cattanach
 
Jim Cattanach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Larnaca, , CYPRUS
Posts: 2,109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks Adrian.
One last question before I buy a new ignition system. I hooked up my 3 cylinder Saito radial ignition module, attached a battery, removed the spark plugs & fitted them in the plug caps.
There are strong blue sparks at each plug. Is it possible there could be no sparks under compression?
I cannot get a pop out of any cylinder when trying to start the engine. Fuel is getting to the cylinders, as the plugs get wet.
Jim Cattanach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 05:26 AM
  #153  
CH Ignitions
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I may say 1 but not all 3 of them...
How do you connect the wires? the wires out from CDI falls on the engine naturally .
The wire in the middle is CYL #1 , right wire #2, Left is #3 and that is with you as a pilot in the "sit"
Not from the prop site.

Maybe is to much fuel that kills the spark, USE a 7.4 V Battery.

I have the CDI for those, Email me in case you need a new one.
CH Ignitions is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 05:42 AM
  #154  
Jim Cattanach
 
Jim Cattanach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Larnaca, , CYPRUS
Posts: 2,109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

HT leads are on the correct plugs. I am using a 2 cell lipo with good charge.
It did start for a few seconds yesterday & idled perfectly. Advancing the throttle caused an eratic running like the spark was cutting on & off.
I stopped the engine to inspect the electrical connections. All looked fine, but it never started again after 3 hours of trying.
I am fairly certain it is some electrical problem.
Jim Cattanach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 06:39 AM
  #155  
CH Ignitions
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The cutting on off could be from too rich...but I am not there to see/hear.
Take plugs out and heat them out like in good old times on the stove to dry them up or put ne.
Reset the carb to factory settings.
If you have a RCexl tachometer use it to see if you get signal from sensor and start from square 1.
CH Ignitions is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 09:04 AM
  #156  
Jim Cattanach
 
Jim Cattanach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Larnaca, , CYPRUS
Posts: 2,109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks Adrian for your help.
I changed the plugs twice. Carb adjustment was tried at factory settings & many positions around the proper settings.
Not one cough would the engine give.
I have ordered another ignition from the UK.
Once it arrives, I will post the results.
Jim Cattanach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2018, 10:21 PM
  #157  
Jim Cattanach
 
Jim Cattanach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Larnaca, , CYPRUS
Posts: 2,109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Update. New RCEXL ignition finally arrived. Engine is now running perfectly.
Jim Cattanach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2018, 05:33 AM
  #158  
SJN
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Copenhagen, DENMARK
Posts: 6,273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Guys.

My Saito 84 has been a great engine.
A bit difficult to start, but I have always just injected some gas into the open carb before each start.....a little annoying, but got used to it in my Yak 3U.

Now im in the process of installing it into my waco, and I had to remove the carb to remove the mounting place so I could install longer engine mount bolts........and then I saw a huge problem....
The carb spacer with the cutout for the pump vacume line was installed the wrong way around, so instead of vacume to the pump in the carb, it was actually venting to the atmosphere, and sucking in air........

Its amaizing that my engine ran without the pump....I cant believe it myself.. How can it run at all without the pump pulse ?

The very first time I started my engine ages ago, it was only running on 1-2 cylinders until I richened the needles......now it makes sense, as it was sucking in air before the carb, and running lean.......I did not think much of it at the time.....

I just counted and reset my needles. Manual says 4.5 on the low, and 2 on te hig needle. I have run mine at 4.75 on the low, and 5 on the high needle screw.

Unbelievable....as my engine was actually running great. :-)
I hope it runs just as well with the pump working :-)
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20180305_183006.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	1.03 MB
ID:	2257844   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20180306_132427.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	1.14 MB
ID:	2257845   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20180306_133359.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	1.12 MB
ID:	2257846  
SJN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2018, 06:07 AM
  #159  
BobH
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Springfield, VA,
Posts: 7,925
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You are mistaken.
According to your,picture the pulse hole is located in the pulse channel. While the hole is not directly over the hole in the carb it is still allowing the pressure change necessary to operate the pump diaphragm.
Idealy yes the hole in the spacer should be directly over the hole in the carb.
BobH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2018, 06:15 AM
  #160  
SJN
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Copenhagen, DENMARK
Posts: 6,273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

no, the gasket/spacer was covering the whole channel.
I should have taken the pictures a few days ago when I found out, then you could clearly see only one indentation in the gasket on the opposite side of the gasket cutout.
I put it back together the propper way a few days ago, and now you see the indentation on both sides of te gasket.
SJN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2018, 11:21 AM
  #161  
SWORDSN
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: WILLIAMSTON, SC
Posts: 1,126
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Have you been able to run it after correcting the problem?
SWORDSN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2018, 11:25 AM
  #162  
SJN
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Copenhagen, DENMARK
Posts: 6,273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

im still assembling the plane.
I have just reset the needles to factory........and test it when I can


This is how it ran before......i bet setting it right it will run like crap :-)






And here it was running for one of the first times with the factory needle settings out of te box..........and aparently the carb port blocked.

Last edited by SJN; 03-06-2018 at 11:42 AM.
SJN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2018, 11:57 AM
  #163  
BobH
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Springfield, VA,
Posts: 7,925
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yes I see the indent on the gasket on the other side from the hole.
All one can say is that their carb operates a little differently than a normal Walbro Carb or similar.
Apparently the pulse is not so critical for operation?
BobH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2018, 12:00 PM
  #164  
SJN
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Copenhagen, DENMARK
Posts: 6,273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

yea, because normal walbro carbs dont work at all without the pulse.
But it did run great before....except the starting :-)
SJN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 09:54 AM
  #165  
EFHANC
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: N. Central Fla.
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

SJN , are you still running your FG84R3 ? If so, how is it holding up if you don't mind me asking? I do own one but haven't run it yet. Thanks, Ed
EFHANC is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 09:58 AM
  #166  
SJN
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Copenhagen, DENMARK
Posts: 6,273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Still runs great. Going to fly again tomorrow
SJN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 09:58 AM
  #167  
EFHANC
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: N. Central Fla.
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Sorry, I should have asked is anyone still running their FG84R3 and how is it doing? Thanks, Ed
EFHANC is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 10:03 AM
  #168  
EFHANC
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: N. Central Fla.
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

SNJ, Terrific, that gives me confidence to carry on with the program. Got some questions but I'll read the threads first. Thanks, Ed
EFHANC is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 10:00 PM
  #169  
tyor
 
tyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rena, NORWAY
Posts: 259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by EFHANC View Post
Sorry, I should have asked is anyone still running their FG84R3 and how is it doing? Thanks, Ed
after 3 year Still runs great
tyor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 12:18 PM
  #170  
SJN
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Copenhagen, DENMARK
Posts: 6,273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Another great day flying :-)





SJN is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service