Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 216

Thread: DLE 55-RA


  1. #26

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Eugene, OR
    Posts
    457
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA

    DLE is a great reliable engine.
    DAis better.

    Hobby Services does good for service.
    DAdoes better.

    Yes, Iown both brands, and yes Ihave experience with both services.

    The DA60 has a wicked power punch. It just yanks a plane off the ground, where the DLE55 will spool up.

  2. #27
    Lifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    2,535
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA

    Any hope of this thread returning to the new engine soon?
    AMA #77967/CD/LM

  3. #28
    MTK's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Whippany, NJ
    Posts
    4,714
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA


    ORIGINAL: Lifer

    Any hope of this thread returning to the new engine soon?
    Yes, really!! It seems that these types threads give no practical information whatsoever. It seems one has to be prepared to do his own research and experiments and then post his findings. What a waste of a perfectly good forum for info exchange......
    Regards,
    MattK
    (Rcmaster199@aol.com)

  4. #29

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    , OH
    Posts
    978
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA

    I got one of the new 55ra and thus far I love it. But I have only bench run it with 3 tanks so I fell like I have not run it in enfo to pos factual data

  5. #30
    Lifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    2,535
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA

    Mike,

    What is your opinion as to the effectiveness of the muffler?
    AMA #77967/CD/LM

  6. #31

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    , OH
    Posts
    978
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA

    It's sounds deeper and a little louder than the side muff set up. I like the motor you can see some upgreads over the othere which makes me feel better

    Ie. Thicker mounting flanges, and metal fuel nip on carb. Etc

  7. #32
    acerc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Lithia, Fl
    Posts
    5,912
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA

    Mike, if you don't mind what does your manual state for hp, rpm, and prop's?
     The DLE website say's,
    DLE55-  5.5hp  @ 7500rpm prop's 22x8 - 23x10
    DLE-R-  5.5hp  @  8500rpm no prop data
    Don't understand the difference in hp @ rpm between the two, wondering if a misprint.
    Robert
    Cub Brotherhood #3\\ Ryan STA Brotherhood #4
    Corsair Brotherhood #56\\ Waco Brotherhood #184

  8. #33
    Mr67Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Raeford, NC
    Posts
    3,822
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA


    ORIGINAL: acerc

    Mike, if you don't mind what does your manual state for hp, rpm, and prop's?
    Ā*The DLE website say's,
    DLE55- Ā*5.5hp Ā*@ 7500rpm prop's 22x8 - 23x10
    DLE-R-Ā* 5.5hpĀ* @Ā* 8500rpm no prop data
    Don't understand the difference in hp @ rpm between the two, wondering if a misprint.
    I was looking at this as well. I fear they just moved the power band to the upper range meaning even more "spool up" to get into it. This type of power is great for speed planes but not 3D and general sport flying.
    He who dies with the most toys wins!

  9. #34

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    56
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA

    I have a DLE-55 in a giant scale ESM Spitfire. It is realiable and I've got about 20 flights on it. I broke it in with lawnboy ashless at 32:1 (one gallon). I then switched to Redline at 40:1. However I only get 6000 turning a Xoar 22x10. The Spit flies fine but not with the authority I expected. I down sized to a Xoar 20x10 and but still only get 6800-6900. My (2) DA-50s turn a 22x10 at 7200 and my new O.S. GT 33 turns a Xoar 18x10 at 7300! The engine is tuned fine and does not hesitate or gurgle at full throttle. I figured I should get at least 6800 on a Xoar 22x10 but nothing doing. Is the engine just defective or can it be leaned out more? I always just leaned them out until they stopped gurgling then back off 1/16.

    Thanks,
    Mike

  10. #35
    MTK's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Whippany, NJ
    Posts
    4,714
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA


    ORIGINAL: p38mike

    I have a DLE-55 in a giant scale ESM Spitfire. It is realiable and I've got about 20 flights on it. I broke it in with lawnboy ashless at 32:1 (one gallon). I then switched to Redline at 40:1. However I only get 6000 turning a Xoar 22x10. The Spit flies fine but not with the authority I expected. I down sized to a Xoar 20x10 and but still only get 6800-6900. My (2) DA-50s turn a 22x10 at 7200 and my new O.S. GT 33 turns a Xoar 18x10 at 7300! The engine is tuned fine and does not hesitate or gurgle at full throttle. I figured I should get at least 6800 on a Xoar 22x10 but nothing doing. Is the engine just defective or can it be leaned out more? I always just leaned them out until they stopped gurgling then back off 1/16.

    Thanks,
    Mike
    6K on a 22x10 is quite low, even on muffler.
    My 55 turns 22x12 MDK hybrid prop at 7400 and a 20x12 3 blade Mejzlik carbon at 7200 (but is piped). FWIW- my OS33GT turns APC 20x10.5 PN 2 blade at 7200 (but again on pipe). The pipe adds about 500 rpm.
    My recommendation is to lean the engine a bit more. Assuming good baffling for cooling, you should get no sag anywhere on any extended vertical when the engine is doing the most work. Lean it until it wants to sag on the vertical then back off (again I assume good baffling). BTW you will likely hear the engine get noisy, almost barking, when you are too lean so that's another way you can tell what it needs
    Regards,
    MattK
    (Rcmaster199@aol.com)

  11. #36
    acerc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Lithia, Fl
    Posts
    5,912
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA



    Go to full throttle, lean to top rpm, this is best done with a tach. And the bottom does have an effect on the top. So check it for good responce after setting the top.

    Robert
    Cub Brotherhood #3\\ Ryan STA Brotherhood #4
    Corsair Brotherhood #56\\ Waco Brotherhood #184

  12. #37

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    56
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA

    Thanks for your responses. I put the 22x10 Xoar back on and removed the cowl and will try to lean and tac. What about the 40:1 Redline? The manual says 30:1 but I was trying to use the same fuel mix for my DA, DLE, O.S. GT 33 and RCGF 45s.

    Thanks,
    Mike

  13. #38
    acerc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Lithia, Fl
    Posts
    5,912
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA

    40-1 is good with sythetic. Synthetic cool's better, has less friction, and burn's off better. Some say it can be even leaner. But take it from a small engine repairman and stay between 40 and/or 50 to 1.
    The manual's are written for standard two cycle oil.
    Robert
    Cub Brotherhood #3\\ Ryan STA Brotherhood #4
    Corsair Brotherhood #56\\ Waco Brotherhood #184

  14. #39
    Moderator daveopam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    ELK CITY, OK
    Posts
    7,009
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA

    Mike, you might pull the carb and check the reed block. If the leaning does not work anyway. Below is a pic of the reed block from my DLE 30. You can see many air gaps around the reed. It was the same on both sides. My issue was with pulling fuel to start. But after I smoothed both sides of the block it did have more power. Sorry I don't have tach reading, but that was not my issue.


    David
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Yw69023.jpg 
Views:	101 
Size:	149.5 KB 
ID:	1799286  
    I never want to see a crash. But I don't want to miss one either.

  15. #40
    Lifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    2,535
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA

    Daveopam,

    What method did you use to re-surface the block?

    Thanks in advance!
    AMA #77967/CD/LM

  16. #41
    Moderator daveopam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    ELK CITY, OK
    Posts
    7,009
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA

    I removed the 2 screws,reed and metal plate. Then layed a piece of 400 grit paper on a sheet of glass I keep on my workbench( anything perfectly flat would work). I hung the back part of the block over the edge of the glass then slowly slid the reed block back and forth on the sand paper. I took my time went easy, but honestly it was not hard to do. The matterial the reed block is made from is similar to what a MA prop is made from.
    Then just cleaned and reassembled.


    David
    I never want to see a crash. But I don't want to miss one either.

  17. #42

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Findlay, OH
    Posts
    72
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA

    OK guys, I am taking a Fugi 50 off a G.P. Patty Wagstall and plan on mounting a DLE-55 to replace it. There are a lot of holes in the plywood firewall. What plywood thickness would you suggest I use to mount the DLE to? Since I will have to make the piece to fit, I was hoping you could offer any advice. The firewall was dowled pegged for the Fugi and since the DlLE is way, more powerfull. What would you suggest? Thanks Chris

  18. #43
    MTK's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Whippany, NJ
    Posts
    4,714
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA


    ORIGINAL: chicks5

    OK guys, I am taking a Fugi 50 off a G.P. Patty Wagstall and plan on mounting a DLE-55 to replace it. There are a lot of holes in the plywood firewall. What plywood thickness would you suggest I use to mount the DLE to? Since I will have to make the piece to fit, I was hoping you could offer any advice. The firewall was dowled pegged for the Fugi and since the DlLE is way, more powerfull. What would you suggest? Thanks Chris
    I tend to be careful on weight added to airframes so I've been using cross grained balsa-carbon cloth laminate that I make. The thickness is typically 1/4" on 55cc engines. I epoxy pieces of carbon tubing at the mounting bolt locations and back up blind nuts on 1/8" plywood rings. Very light yet plenty strong. This type of firewall allows removal of the center area
    Regards,
    MattK
    (Rcmaster199@aol.com)

  19. #44

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    , OH
    Posts
    978
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA

    Well guys I'm happy

    I have ran 4 standard tanks with a xora 22x8 prop. Then put on the prop intended for this motor

    Its Troybuilt Modles adjustable 3 blade carbon scale prop 20in

    Its adjustable from 10,12,14 pich.

    Running her a little rich to be safe for now she's turning 7800rpm at the 10pich setting.

    This prop / DLE55 RA is going to do well on my 74 ESM corsair. And my topflite gaint p47 wateing to be built.

    Seems to rev very fast. I hope to have flight data soon

    Im running 32-1 shill synthictic


  20. #45

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA
    Posts
    2,742
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA


    ORIGINAL: MTK


    ORIGINAL: chicks5

    OK guys, I am taking a Fugi 50 off a G.P. Patty Wagstall and plan on mounting a DLE-55 to replace it. There are a lot of holes in the plywood firewall. What plywood thickness would you suggest I use to mount the DLE to? Since I will have to make the piece to fit, I was hoping you could offer any advice. The firewall was dowled pegged for the Fugi and since the DlLE is way, more powerfull. What would you suggest? Thanks Chris
    I tend to be careful on weight added to airframes so I've been using cross grained balsa-carbon cloth laminate that I make. The thickness is typically 1/4" on 55cc engines. I epoxy pieces of carbon tubing at the mounting bolt locations and back up blind nuts on 1/8" plywood rings. Very light yet plenty strong. This type of firewall allows removal of the center area



    pics?


  21. #46

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Findlay, OH
    Posts
    72
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA

    Thanks for the advice. Could you tell us a little more on how you do this. We're can I get some of the materials I will need to do this job?
    Thanks for any more info.

  22. #47

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    , OH
    Posts
    978
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA


    ORIGINAL: mikes68charger

    Well guys I'm happy

    I have ran 4 standard tanks with a xora 22x8 prop. Then put on the prop intended for this motor

    Its Troybuilt Modles adjustable 3 blade carbon scale prop 20in

    Its adjustable from 10,12,14 pich.

    Running her a little rich to be safe for now she's turning 7800rpm at the 10pich setting.

    This prop / DLE55 RA is going to do well on my 74 ESM corsair. And my topflite gaint p47 wateing to be built.

    Seems to rev very fast. I hope to have flight data soon

    Im running 32-1 shill synthictic

    Hey I just wanted to say, Ihave 14 flights thus far with the DLE 55 RA with the MorPower 3 blade prop.

    This motor is ripping this prop at WOT, its got that great ripping sound at WOTon low pass.

    This motor is running great, so good 2 guys with DA50 asked me how much tuneing it took me to get it sound so great, After my little break in, it took me 4 min to set up tune and its running and starting great!

    The only issue I seem to have was on my last flight Ithink the motor maybe broken in and needing some retuneing as it ramp up off idel is crazy fast Ihad to use my DX8 and slow the servo down 1.8Sec to help my low end transhion.

    Mike

  23. #48
    MTK's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Whippany, NJ
    Posts
    4,714
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA


    ORIGINAL: TimBle


    ORIGINAL: MTK
    I tend to be careful on weight added to airframes so I've been using cross grained balsa-carbon cloth laminate that I make. The thickness is typically 1/4'' on 55cc engines. I epoxy pieces of carbon tubing at the mounting bolt locations and back up blind nuts on 1/8'' plywood rings. Very light yet plenty strong. This type of firewall allows removal of the center area



    pics?

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Rp44783.jpg 
Views:	84 
Size:	121.1 KB 
ID:	1802515  
    Regards,
    MattK
    (Rcmaster199@aol.com)

  24. #49
    MTK's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Whippany, NJ
    Posts
    4,714
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA

    Some of the builders out here might find some stuff in this thread useful.... http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_10...m.htm#11232461.

    Laminating carbon and balsa firewalls is straight forward. I use 6 oz carbon fabric, any weave is fine, and good laminating epoxy such as the one US Composites sells. There are a bunch of fine epoxies that can be used for this.

    The basic "trick" to the lamination is to back the surfaces of the firewall up well with a good releasing medium like .015" mylar sheet, place the firewall in a block (plywood works well) and place the assembly in a vice. Don't go crazy with the vice pressure tho. OR you can vacuum laminate using a food preserver vacuum system. Either works well
    Regards,
    MattK
    (Rcmaster199@aol.com)

  25. #50

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA
    Posts
    2,742
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: DLE 55-RA

    Excellent, thanks Matt!


Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:43 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.