Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

DLE 55-RA

Reply
Old 09-02-2012, 05:58 AM
  #26
JRgraham
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 457
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA

DLE is a great reliable engine.
DAis better.

Hobby Services does good for service.
DAdoes better.

Yes, Iown both brands, and yes Ihave experience with both services.

The DA60 has a wicked power punch. It just yanks a plane off the ground, where the DLE55 will spool up.
JRgraham is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 06:04 AM
  #27
Lifer
 
Lifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 3,864
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA

Any hope of this thread returning to the new engine soon?
Lifer is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 07:04 AM
  #28
MTK
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Whippany, NJ
Posts: 5,386
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Lifer

Any hope of this thread returning to the new engine soon?
Yes, really!! It seems that these types threads give no practical information whatsoever. It seems one has to be prepared to do his own research and experiments and then post his findings. What a waste of a perfectly good forum for info exchange......
MTK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 09:12 AM
  #29
mikes68charger
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: , OH
Posts: 1,627
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA

I got one of the new 55ra and thus far I love it. But I have only bench run it with 3 tanks so I fell like I have not run it in enfo to pos factual data
mikes68charger is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 10:31 AM
  #30
Lifer
 
Lifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 3,864
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA

Mike,

What is your opinion as to the effectiveness of the muffler?
Lifer is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 02:06 PM
  #31
mikes68charger
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: , OH
Posts: 1,627
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA

It's sounds deeper and a little louder than the side muff set up. I like the motor you can see some upgreads over the othere which makes me feel better

Ie. Thicker mounting flanges, and metal fuel nip on carb. Etc
mikes68charger is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 02:27 PM
  #32
acerc
 
acerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The Sunshine state, when it's not raining!
Posts: 8,108
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA

Mike, if you don't mind what does your manual state for hp, rpm, and prop's?
 The DLE website say's,
DLE55-  5.5hp  @ 7500rpm prop's 22x8 - 23x10
DLE-R-  5.5hp  @  8500rpm no prop data
Don't understand the difference in hp @ rpm between the two, wondering if a misprint.
acerc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 07:28 PM
  #33
Mr67Stang
Thread Starter
 
Mr67Stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Raeford, NC
Posts: 3,822
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA


Quote:
ORIGINAL: acerc

Mike, if you don't mind what does your manual state for hp, rpm, and prop's?
The DLE website say's,
DLE55- 5.5hp @ 7500rpm prop's 22x8 - 23x10
DLE-R- 5.5hp @ 8500rpm no prop data
Don't understand the difference in hp @ rpm between the two, wondering if a misprint.
I was looking at this as well. I fear they just moved the power band to the upper range meaning even more "spool up" to get into it. This type of power is great for speed planes but not 3D and general sport flying.
Mr67Stang is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 12:49 PM
  #34
p38mike
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 66
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA

I have a DLE-55 in a giant scale ESM Spitfire. It is realiable and I've got about 20 flights on it. I broke it in with lawnboy ashless at 32:1 (one gallon). I then switched to Redline at 40:1. However I only get 6000 turning a Xoar 22x10. The Spit flies fine but not with the authority I expected. I down sized to a Xoar 20x10 and but still only get 6800-6900. My (2) DA-50s turn a 22x10 at 7200 and my new O.S. GT 33 turns a Xoar 18x10 at 7300! The engine is tuned fine and does not hesitate or gurgle at full throttle. I figured I should get at least 6800 on a Xoar 22x10 but nothing doing. Is the engine just defective or can it be leaned out more? I always just leaned them out until they stopped gurgling then back off 1/16.

Thanks,
Mike
p38mike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 01:15 PM
  #35
MTK
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Whippany, NJ
Posts: 5,386
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA


Quote:
ORIGINAL: p38mike

I have a DLE-55 in a giant scale ESM Spitfire. It is realiable and I've got about 20 flights on it. I broke it in with lawnboy ashless at 32:1 (one gallon). I then switched to Redline at 40:1. However I only get 6000 turning a Xoar 22x10. The Spit flies fine but not with the authority I expected. I down sized to a Xoar 20x10 and but still only get 6800-6900. My (2) DA-50s turn a 22x10 at 7200 and my new O.S. GT 33 turns a Xoar 18x10 at 7300! The engine is tuned fine and does not hesitate or gurgle at full throttle. I figured I should get at least 6800 on a Xoar 22x10 but nothing doing. Is the engine just defective or can it be leaned out more? I always just leaned them out until they stopped gurgling then back off 1/16.

Thanks,
Mike
6K on a 22x10 is quite low, even on muffler.
My 55 turns 22x12 MDK hybrid prop at 7400 and a 20x12 3 blade Mejzlik carbon at 7200 (but is piped). FWIW- my OS33GT turns APC 20x10.5 PN 2 blade at 7200 (but again on pipe). The pipe adds about 500 rpm.
My recommendation is to lean the engine a bit more. Assuming good baffling for cooling, you should get no sag anywhere on any extended vertical when the engine is doing the most work. Lean it until it wants to sag on the vertical then back off (again I assume good baffling). BTW you will likely hear the engine get noisy, almost barking, when you are too lean so that's another way you can tell what it needs
MTK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 01:17 PM
  #36
acerc
 
acerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The Sunshine state, when it's not raining!
Posts: 8,108
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA



Go to full throttle, lean to top rpm, this is best done with a tach. And the bottom does have an effect on the top. So check it for good responce after setting the top.

acerc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 03:16 PM
  #37
p38mike
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 66
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA

Thanks for your responses. I put the 22x10 Xoar back on and removed the cowl and will try to lean and tac. What about the 40:1 Redline? The manual says 30:1 but I was trying to use the same fuel mix for my DA, DLE, O.S. GT 33 and RCGF 45s.

Thanks,
Mike
p38mike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 03:30 PM
  #38
acerc
 
acerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The Sunshine state, when it's not raining!
Posts: 8,108
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA

40-1 is good with sythetic. Synthetic cool's better, has less friction, and burn's off better. Some say it can be even leaner. But take it from a small engine repairman and stay between 40 and/or 50 to 1.
The manual's are written for standard two cycle oil.
acerc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 06:57 AM
  #39
daveopam
Moderator
 
daveopam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ELK CITY, OK
Posts: 7,318
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA

Mike, you might pull the carb and check the reed block. If the leaning does not work anyway. Below is a pic of the reed block from my DLE 30. You can see many air gaps around the reed. It was the same on both sides. My issue was with pulling fuel to start. But after I smoothed both sides of the block it did have more power. Sorry I don't have tach reading, but that was not my issue.


David
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw69023.jpg
Views:	216
Size:	149.5 KB
ID:	1799286  
daveopam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 09:39 AM
  #40
Lifer
 
Lifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 3,864
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA

Daveopam,

What method did you use to re-surface the block?

Thanks in advance!
Lifer is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 10:31 AM
  #41
daveopam
Moderator
 
daveopam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ELK CITY, OK
Posts: 7,318
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA

I removed the 2 screws,reed and metal plate. Then layed a piece of 400 grit paper on a sheet of glass I keep on my workbench( anything perfectly flat would work). I hung the back part of the block over the edge of the glass then slowly slid the reed block back and forth on the sand paper. I took my time went easy, but honestly it was not hard to do. The matterial the reed block is made from is similar to what a MA prop is made from.
Then just cleaned and reassembled.


David
daveopam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 02:30 PM
  #42
chicks5
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Findlay, OH
Posts: 73
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA

OK guys, I am taking a Fugi 50 off a G.P. Patty Wagstall and plan on mounting a DLE-55 to replace it. There are a lot of holes in the plywood firewall. What plywood thickness would you suggest I use to mount the DLE to? Since I will have to make the piece to fit, I was hoping you could offer any advice. The firewall was dowled pegged for the Fugi and since the DlLE is way, more powerfull. What would you suggest? Thanks Chris
chicks5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 08:04 PM
  #43
MTK
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Whippany, NJ
Posts: 5,386
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA


Quote:
ORIGINAL: chicks5

OK guys, I am taking a Fugi 50 off a G.P. Patty Wagstall and plan on mounting a DLE-55 to replace it. There are a lot of holes in the plywood firewall. What plywood thickness would you suggest I use to mount the DLE to? Since I will have to make the piece to fit, I was hoping you could offer any advice. The firewall was dowled pegged for the Fugi and since the DlLE is way, more powerfull. What would you suggest? Thanks Chris
I tend to be careful on weight added to airframes so I've been using cross grained balsa-carbon cloth laminate that I make. The thickness is typically 1/4" on 55cc engines. I epoxy pieces of carbon tubing at the mounting bolt locations and back up blind nuts on 1/8" plywood rings. Very light yet plenty strong. This type of firewall allows removal of the center area
MTK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 11:23 AM
  #44
mikes68charger
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: , OH
Posts: 1,627
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA

Well guys I'm happy

I have ran 4 standard tanks with a xora 22x8 prop. Then put on the prop intended for this motor

Its Troybuilt Modles adjustable 3 blade carbon scale prop 20in

Its adjustable from 10,12,14 pich.

Running her a little rich to be safe for now she's turning 7800rpm at the 10pich setting.

This prop / DLE55 RA is going to do well on my 74 ESM corsair. And my topflite gaint p47 wateing to be built.

Seems to rev very fast. I hope to have flight data soon

Im running 32-1 shill synthictic

mikes68charger is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 03:02 PM
  #45
TimBle
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 2,744
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA


Quote:
ORIGINAL: MTK


Quote:
ORIGINAL: chicks5

OK guys, I am taking a Fugi 50 off a G.P. Patty Wagstall and plan on mounting a DLE-55 to replace it. There are a lot of holes in the plywood firewall. What plywood thickness would you suggest I use to mount the DLE to? Since I will have to make the piece to fit, I was hoping you could offer any advice. The firewall was dowled pegged for the Fugi and since the DlLE is way, more powerfull. What would you suggest? Thanks Chris
I tend to be careful on weight added to airframes so I've been using cross grained balsa-carbon cloth laminate that I make. The thickness is typically 1/4" on 55cc engines. I epoxy pieces of carbon tubing at the mounting bolt locations and back up blind nuts on 1/8" plywood rings. Very light yet plenty strong. This type of firewall allows removal of the center area



pics?

TimBle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 03:18 PM
  #46
chicks5
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Findlay, OH
Posts: 73
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA

Thanks for the advice. Could you tell us a little more on how you do this. We're can I get some of the materials I will need to do this job?
Thanks for any more info.
chicks5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 05:44 PM
  #47
mikes68charger
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: , OH
Posts: 1,627
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA


Quote:
ORIGINAL: mikes68charger

Well guys I'm happy

I have ran 4 standard tanks with a xora 22x8 prop. Then put on the prop intended for this motor

Its Troybuilt Modles adjustable 3 blade carbon scale prop 20in

Its adjustable from 10,12,14 pich.

Running her a little rich to be safe for now she's turning 7800rpm at the 10pich setting.

This prop / DLE55 RA is going to do well on my 74 ESM corsair. And my topflite gaint p47 wateing to be built.

Seems to rev very fast. I hope to have flight data soon

Im running 32-1 shill synthictic

Hey I just wanted to say, Ihave 14 flights thus far with the DLE 55 RA with the MorPower 3 blade prop.

This motor is ripping this prop at WOT, its got that great ripping sound at WOTon low pass.

This motor is running great, so good 2 guys with DA50 asked me how much tuneing it took me to get it sound so great, After my little break in, it took me 4 min to set up tune and its running and starting great!

The only issue I seem to have was on my last flight Ithink the motor maybe broken in and needing some retuneing as it ramp up off idel is crazy fast Ihad to use my DX8 and slow the servo down 1.8Sec to help my low end transhion.

Mike
mikes68charger is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 08:39 AM
  #48
MTK
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Whippany, NJ
Posts: 5,386
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA


Quote:
ORIGINAL: TimBle


Quote:
ORIGINAL: MTK
I tend to be careful on weight added to airframes so I've been using cross grained balsa-carbon cloth laminate that I make. The thickness is typically 1/4'' on 55cc engines. I epoxy pieces of carbon tubing at the mounting bolt locations and back up blind nuts on 1/8'' plywood rings. Very light yet plenty strong. This type of firewall allows removal of the center area



pics?

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Rp44783.jpg
Views:	150
Size:	121.1 KB
ID:	1802515  
MTK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 09:03 AM
  #49
MTK
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Whippany, NJ
Posts: 5,386
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA

Some of the builders out here might find some stuff in this thread useful.... http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_10...m.htm#11232461.

Laminating carbon and balsa firewalls is straight forward. I use 6 oz carbon fabric, any weave is fine, and good laminating epoxy such as the one US Composites sells. There are a bunch of fine epoxies that can be used for this.

The basic "trick" to the lamination is to back the surfaces of the firewall up well with a good releasing medium like .015" mylar sheet, place the firewall in a block (plywood works well) and place the assembly in a vice. Don't go crazy with the vice pressure tho. OR you can vacuum laminate using a food preserver vacuum system. Either works well
MTK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 09:14 AM
  #50
TimBle
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 2,744
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 55-RA

Excellent, thanks Matt!
TimBle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:54 PM.