Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

DLE Throttle arm question

Reply
Old 10-11-2012, 09:21 AM
  #1
chuck993
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 660
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default DLE Throttle arm question

I just bought a DLE20 for my yak 90-120 and the picture in the manual does not match the throttle arm and choke arm position. My throttle arm is ligned up with the choke arm so the choke arm is in the way. The manual shows the choke arm on one side and the throttle arm on the other side. The only way I can do that is take the throttle arm off and flip it over, which means the servo will pull the throttle open vs pushing it open.

Has anyone run into this? Did you flip the throttle arm or use the provided throttle arm extension?

Thanks,

Chuck
chuck993 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 09:50 AM
  #2
Truckracer
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 4,533
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE Throttle arm question

Its common practice to flip the arms as needed. You can also buy replacement arms that are offset further from the carb. These are available from Valley View and many other vendors. Don't feel that you are locked into using the arms as supplied.
Truckracer is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 10:27 AM
  #3
chuck993
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 660
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE Throttle arm question

great, thanks, how about the placement of the throttle servo, the manual says to keep it a good distance from the engine, can I place it in the engine box or infront of the fuel tank, any distance required?
chuck993 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 10:34 AM
  #4
Truckracer
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 4,533
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE Throttle arm question

I usually place the servo fairly close to the engine ...... in the engine box or just behind it. There has been many words written about this subject and connecting the servo to the carb. Please do yourself a favor and read the sticky note at the top of this forum for gas engine newbies. Also, do some searches in this forum for throttle servo hookup, throttle servos, linkages, throttle curves, etc. Lots already written on the subject and very easy to search.
Truckracer is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 05:47 PM
  #5
chuck993
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 660
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE Throttle arm question

I have other gas engines, just that DLE manual seemed to stress not putting the throttle servo near the engine, that was my concern.
chuck993 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 06:50 AM
  #6
raptureboy
 
raptureboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kempton PA
Posts: 2,598
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE Throttle arm question

If you bought it from Tower then throw it out(the manual). It is useless, and follow the sticky notes. And throw out anything you know about glow engines and read all the notes here, by jedijody,T.O.M. and others.
raptureboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 01:02 PM
  #7
chuck993
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 660
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE Throttle arm question

yes the manual sucks i downloaded one online, I've got other gassers for the last 5 years, first time with a dle and some things seemed questionable, so I am use to gassers, should do pretty good in my yak once I get it setup correctly
chuck993 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:30 PM.