Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

New to gas what motor should I use

Reply
Old 10-30-2012, 05:51 AM
  #1
benboy17
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: BEAUFORT, SC
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default New to gas what motor should I use

I just purchased this http://www.greatplanes.com/performan.../gpma1414.html and I want it to be my first gas plane. I have researched a good bit but not quite sure what motors are out there. The only motor I have found that looks like it would work is the DA-50 but didnt want to spend quite that much. Also looked at the dle 55 but thought that wold be to much and it weighs alot. Any suggestions you guys have would be great.

Thanks Ben
benboy17 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 06:30 AM
  #2
kmeyers
 
kmeyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 738
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use

Sell it as fast as you can.

Heavy, old school design. 1088 sq in of one piece wing that will build at over 14 lbs.

What good bit of research did you do?

As long as very simple aerobatics is all you want something like the DLE 35R will get you up and down, but, don't plan on any 3D or IMAC.

Something tells me this is not what you want to hear.

IMHO
kmeyers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 07:30 AM
  #3
RCPAUL
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gahanna, OH
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use

Boy - that post was a sure downer.
RCPAUL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 07:55 AM
  #4
kmeyers
 
kmeyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 738
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use


Quote:
ORIGINAL: RCPAUL

Boy - that post was a sure downer.
+1
kmeyers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 08:08 AM
  #5
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,533
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use

The DLE 35R would be an excellent choice for that plane as has already be said in a previous post.
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 08:16 AM
  #6
TimBle
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 2,744
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use

Mintor 33 or DLE35R is the MINIMUM required to fly that plane in any way resembling advanced aerobatics

Next option up is the Mintor 38. or OS 33GT

Best option is the MVVS 40 or Evolution 40cc, on a pipe.



That's one heck of a weighty plane you opted for and no 50cc is going to fit without you hacking most of the cowl away.
TimBle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 08:40 AM
  #7
flyinwalenda
 
flyinwalenda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northeast, PA
Posts: 3,723
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use

You have the plane so  fly it !  Don't worry about the shoulda', coulda', woulda's.
I saw one fitted with a Fuji 43cc and it flew the plane great . The owner had no desire to do 3D but the plane did everything else OK.
The Fuji 43 weighs 4 pounds so the DLE 55 should be OK weight wise.
Other budget engines to consider would be:
CRRC 45cc & 50cc engines(I have a CRRC 40 and it runs great),
XYZ 50 cc
JBA 50cc
RCGF 45cc

flyinwalenda is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 09:11 AM
  #8
Rocketman612
 
Rocketman612's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 2,588
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use

I too recommend the DLE 55. Should be an easy installation. The DLE is very reliable and is very user friendly for a first Gasser. You will need power in up-lines and for some aerobatics. Anything less will be a dog.

Pete
Rocketman612 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 09:16 AM
  #9
mikes68charger
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: , OH
Posts: 1,671
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Rocketman612

I too recommend the DLE 55. Should be an easy installation. The DLE is very reliable and is very user friendly for a first Gasser. You will need power in up-lines and for some aerobatics. Anything less will be a dog.

Pete

I have been putting DLE55 in 30cc planes for some time now and im about 90% sure you could put one in this heavy bird with no lead needed, just move your reciver and 4cell igniton pack towards the rear, also you can move your fuel tank back some iff needed. Use a 23X8 prop
mikes68charger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 11:52 AM
  #10
karolh
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mandeville, JAMAICA
Posts: 6,273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use

Reminds me of my 80" span MW Extra 300 / G45 powered model. Old school design yes and a bit on the heavy side by today's standards, but still a very nice flying and capable model, just not a 3D'er.

Karol
karolh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 12:10 PM
  #11
jasburrito
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rockford, MI
Posts: 154
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use

Looks pretty sweet,Dig 540s. My bud and I both have had that size plane. A really good 45 is needed? nobody makes 1. A 35 may be under powered. A dle 55 will have all kinds of sack. Prob lot stronger than the toothpick planes too!
cheers.
jasburrito is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 12:14 PM
  #12
karolh
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mandeville, JAMAICA
Posts: 6,273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use

Those earlier models were almost bulletproof

Karol
karolh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 12:27 PM
  #13
rexbirk
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gahanna, OH
Posts: 525
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use

One of our club members has one. I forget what engine is in his. I believe somewhere around a 40cc. His flies great. Not a 3D plane but flies IMAC type manuevers well. I would say a PTE 36 would fly it well. It may be old school but all the Great Planes ARFS I have owned were built well and lasted.
rexbirk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 03:37 PM
  #14
Tluu
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Rocketman612

I too recommend the DLE 55. Should be an easy installation. The DLE is very reliable and is very user friendly for a first Gasser. You will need power in up-lines and for some aerobatics. Anything less will be a dog.

Pete
Would the landing gear too short for a 23x8 prop. He might not have enough ground clearance.
Tluu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 03:51 PM
  #15
Rocketman612
 
Rocketman612's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 2,588
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Tluu


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Rocketman612

I too recommend the DLE 55. Should be an easy installation. The DLE is very reliable and is very user friendly for a first Gasser. You will need power in up-lines and for some aerobatics. Anything less will be a dog.

Pete
Would the landing gear too short for a 23x8 prop. He might not have enough ground clearance.

I have a GP Patty Wagstaff Extra which is comparable in size to this plane with a DA 50 on her swings a 22x8 prop with no problem another 1/2 in would be doable or use a 22"

Pete
Rocketman612 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 04:37 PM
  #16
mikes68charger
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: , OH
Posts: 1,671
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use

Or a nice 20x10 or 21x8 3 blade
mikes68charger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 06:28 PM
  #17
flycatch
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Barstow, CA
Posts: 1,993
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use

I have a H9 Extra 260 using a Saito 220FS perfect combination. This plane is quite similar to yours in weight and wing area. Mine is set up for IMAC and probably will also do 3D. Gas is cheaper than glow and that is the reason for the change in power-plants. Gas engines have been around for a long time and started to gain in popularity as the size of the airframes increased. Our planes are right on the cutting edge when switching over to gas engines.
flycatch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 06:39 PM
  #18
Tluu
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use

I have a great plane yak 54 with a DA50 running a 22x8 prop. I had to change out the landing gear, because the original gear only leaves me with about 1"-1/12" clearance, but maybe the yak has a shorter landing gear.



Tri
Tluu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 03:49 AM
  #19
RCFlyerDan
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cape Coral
Posts: 1,181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use

DA-50.....best engine out there.
RCFlyerDan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 03:56 AM
  #20
pdm52956
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Levant, ME
Posts: 700
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use


Quote:
ORIGINAL: RCFlyerDan

DA-50.....best engine out there.
How so?
pdm52956 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 06:13 AM
  #21
bgw45
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Haltom City, TX
Posts: 391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use

DA will tune it for you when you send it back.[8D]
bgw45 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 06:20 AM
  #22
Rocketman612
 
Rocketman612's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 2,588
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use


Quote:
ORIGINAL: bgw45

DA will tune it for you when you send it back.[8D]

Don't know what you purchased but mine has over 10 gal thru her and has been flawless. If budget is no option DA's are the choice if you want to save a few hundred and still have a decent engine the DLE 55 will serve you nicely.

Pete
Rocketman612 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 06:23 AM
  #23
Tluu
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Rocketman612


Quote:
ORIGINAL: bgw45

DA will tune it for you when you send it back.[8D]

Don't know what you purchased but mine has over 10 gal thru her and has been flawless. If budget is no option DA's are the choice if you want to save a few hundred and still have a decent engine the DLE 55 will serve you nicely.

Pete
+1
Tluu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 07:07 AM
  #24
DaleD
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 253
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use


Quote:
ORIGINAL: karolh

Reminds me of my 80" span MW Extra 300 / G45 powered model. Old school design yes and a bit on the heavy side by today's standards, but still a very nice flying and capable model, just not a 3D'er.

Karol
+1

DaleD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 07:16 AM
  #25
Truckracer
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 4,514
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to gas what motor should I use


Quote:
ORIGINAL: bgw45

DA will tune it for you when you send it back.[8D]
And those factory needle settings will be correct for your plane, your fuel and fuel system, your area and altitude, etc?

I think NOT!
Truckracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:53 AM.