Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

New Evolution 10cc gas engine

Reply

Old 03-12-2018, 04:42 PM
  #2201  
flypilot
 
flypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NORWAY
Posts: 194
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

My simple comparison of the Stock muffler against the OS muffler with regards to sound? The 10cc in this video with the OS mufflers is running on its first tank and is running really nice on a APC 10x6 run-in prop at max RPM at almost 13k... amazing for a brand new engine... very easy to tune and very reliable..

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20180312_181956_HDR.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	865.4 KB
ID:	2259000   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20180312_170217_HDR.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	961.7 KB
ID:	2259001   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20180312_170239_HDR.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	689.3 KB
ID:	2259002  

Last edited by flypilot; 03-13-2018 at 06:15 AM.
flypilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 06:31 PM
  #2202  
hairy46
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sinclair, WY
Posts: 2,356
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Very nice

engine sounds good with ether e
muffler. The OS one sounds a little deeper,
hairy46 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 05:08 AM
  #2203  
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,685
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Would have been nice if both mufflers had been tried in otherwise identical scenarios. With one run on a test stand, and the other installed on a plane, My impression is that the plane added/changed some harmonics.
ahicks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 06:21 AM
  #2204  
AA5BY
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: White Oak, TX
Posts: 2,378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yep... as Al says, the differing mountings can resonate differently.
AA5BY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 06:23 AM
  #2205  
flypilot
 
flypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NORWAY
Posts: 194
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yes I agree, it definately changes the harmonics, will make a new video once I have them both in a plane and at the field...that changes the sound quite alot... just gotta wait for the all the snow to melt first
flypilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 08:02 PM
  #2206  
jjoos99
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Yellow Springs, OH
Posts: 387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have an older non pumped version of this engine. It has been in the plane for several years and only started and ran once. Just wondering if I shouldnt just go ahead and buy the pumped carb and install a pressure port? I hope to join a club and finally fly it this season. Looks like the carb is around $35
thanks
Jeff
jjoos99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 06:07 AM
  #2207  
AA5BY
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: White Oak, TX
Posts: 2,378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by jjoos99 View Post
I have an older non pumped version of this engine. It has been in the plane for several years and only started and ran once. Just wondering if I shouldnt just go ahead and buy the pumped carb and install a pressure port? I hope to join a club and finally fly it this season. Looks like the carb is around $35
thanks
Jeff
Jeff... You didn't outline the specific reason the engine was run only once so it is hard to say if you should upgrade the carb.

I've two of the vs 1 engines and haven't had problems so continue to fly them with the non pumped carbs. If they were a problem, I'd upgrade them.
AA5BY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 06:12 AM
  #2208  
jjoos99
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Yellow Springs, OH
Posts: 387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by AA5BY View Post
Jeff... You didn't outline the specific reason the engine was run only once so it is hard to say if you should upgrade the carb.

I've two of the vs 1 engines and haven't had problems so continue to fly them with the non pumped carbs. If they were a problem, I'd upgrade them.
I was flying at a runway behind my home and lost the use of the runway so the plane I had bought this engine for has never flown, just test run in the back yard. Hasnt been started since 2016. I just thought that if it needed done now would be a good time while snow is still on the ground.
Jeff
jjoos99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 11:13 AM
  #2209  
AirmanBob
My Feedback: (14)
 
AirmanBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 492
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Well, judging from all the complaints from the guys that have the non pumped version, I'd go ahead and convert the carb.
Pumped is always better than non pumped. It would be much more reliable. You don't want to crash just because of a flame out do you?

I sure do like my pumped version. Sounds like a harly Davidson to me...

Bob
AirmanBob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 03:06 PM
  #2210  
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)
 
flyinwalenda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northeast, PA
Posts: 3,975
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by jjoos99 View Post
I have an older non pumped version of this engine. It has been in the plane for several years and only started and ran once. Just wondering if I shouldnt just go ahead and buy the pumped carb and install a pressure port? I hope to join a club and finally fly it this season. Looks like the carb is around $35
thanks
Jeff
Well, if you have nothing to do and all day to do it then go ahead ;otherwise why bother ? The original design works very well .
flyinwalenda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 05:46 PM
  #2211  
pilotpete2
 
pilotpete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lyndonville, VT
Posts: 3,291
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have one of the first examples of the Evo 15cc and fly the snot out of it. One of the frustrations people ran into, was that the fuel line provided with the engines was not much better than Tygon for the pressure tap line, and Tygon is unusable on the muffler, due to the heat. Simple solution, just use good old silicone fuel line on the vent line to the muffler, holds up just fine, you just can't use it on the carburetor line which is constantly filled with gas.
Pete
pilotpete2 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 04:51 PM
  #2212  
AirmanBob
My Feedback: (14)
 
AirmanBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 492
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yeah, but muffler pressure to the fuel tank is so yesterday.
A pumped carb eliminates the need for that.

Just sayin...

Bob
AirmanBob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 06:15 PM
  #2213  
PCT
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 35
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks for the hint, pilotpete. My Saito FG-14C will not run right without muffler pressure.
PCT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 07:06 PM
  #2214  
AA5BY
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: White Oak, TX
Posts: 2,378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by PCT View Post
Thanks for the hint, pilotpete. My Saito FG-14C will not run right without muffler pressure.
I'm running four Evolutions with muffler pressure, 2-10cc, 1-15cc & 1-20cc and they are all running fine. I'm also running three Saito glow engines converted to gas, a 90TS, a 1.25a, and a 182T all using muffler pressure with the stock carbs.

Muffler pressure does work with gas just as it has with glow for forty years.
AA5BY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2018, 01:51 AM
  #2215  
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)
 
flyinwalenda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northeast, PA
Posts: 3,975
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Absolutely There are many here who are using the first generation engine with success. If you properly break-in the engine, seal up the muffler and header joints properly, and use a good quality fuel line, the engine runs fine.
flyinwalenda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2018, 07:02 AM
  #2216  
AA5BY
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: White Oak, TX
Posts: 2,378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Adding to what Brian said, a gotcha with these small gas engines on muffler pressure is staying with a fuel tank sized for glow. Large tanks produce larger swings in mixture settings and should be avoided and are not needed because gas consumption is less than half that of glow..

If the plane was designed for a 12oz tank when glow powered, a 6oz is all that is needed or should be used on gas.
AA5BY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 01:56 PM
  #2217  
cymaz
 
cymaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 681
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

A flying buddy has the 10gx. The idle is good...top end great bit at half throttle the engine will begin to “hunt”. Revs increase then decreases. It’s got me foxed! I guessed that there may be some more crud and dirt in the carb diaphragm. It wasn’t running well ages ago so I did quick field carb maintenance which stopped the dead sticks...could it be something like that again or what?
cymaz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 02:15 PM
  #2218  
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,935
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Talking

Originally Posted by karolh View Post
Sounds very interesting.

Karol
You got that right ! Still got to work on that DLE 30 hub change.
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 04:31 PM
  #2219  
karolh
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mandeville, JAMAICA
Posts: 6,589
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by captinjohn View Post
You got that right ! Still got to work on that DLE 30 hub change.
You will need an 11mm extra deep wall thin socket to undo the crank stub nut OR as an alternative you can shorten the stub by cutting it so that a regular deep socket can work.
karolh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 07:06 PM
  #2220  
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,935
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default crank stub

Originally Posted by karolh View Post
You will need an 11mm extra deep wall thin socket to undo the crank stub nut OR as an alternative you can shorten the stub by cutting it so that a regular deep socket can work.
Thanks Karol, for the reply. Have a super weekend. Your friend, John
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2018, 03:59 AM
  #2221  
Joystick TX
 
Joystick TX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: N. Richland Hills, TX
Posts: 1,335
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by karolh View Post
You will need an 11mm extra deep wall thin socket to undo the crank stub nut OR as an alternative you can shorten the stub by cutting it so that a regular deep socket can work.
If the diameter of the hole inside the socket is too small, it is easy to drill it out so it will fit over the crank stub nut. I have had to drill out several of my sockets because the hole would not fit over the threads of bolts.
Joystick TX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 04:01 PM
  #2222  
tman52748
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 227
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

What are you guys using for an exhaust extension on the 10gx?
tman52748 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 05:39 PM
  #2223  
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,685
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Double check me, but thinking the OS 40, 45, and 55AX all use exhaust ports that line up with the 10gx. Many are using OS mufflers due to all the trouble with the Evo mufflers....
ahicks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 04:24 PM
  #2224  
tman52748
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 227
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yeah, the distance between mounting holes is 37mm. I need to space out my muffler about 1-3/8". All I can find is a 1/2" spacer.

Dubro makes an extension that can be drilled and cut to length, pn 213. Just not sure what the dimensions of it are.

Last edited by tman52748; 02-21-2019 at 04:33 PM.
tman52748 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service