Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Gas tank - two line plumbing plan

Old 01-12-2013, 10:27 PM
krayzc-RCU
My Feedback: (31)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Gas tank - two line plumbing plan

i use to run 3 i run 2 now a days along with i never drain my tanks... works well 4 my needs...
Old 01-13-2013, 12:07 AM
rangerfredbob
My Feedback: (13)

No need to clunk the fill/drain as you should always leave at least some fuel in the tank to prevent fuel system issues. I run 3 line systems in my planes (one's more complex as it has a primer on the carb so there's a tee in the fill/return/drain line). I store my planes nose down so I only leave a splash of fuel in them but I've had the same fuel lines in my plane for over 3 years without issue, just a standard tank with Dubro stopper...
Old 01-13-2013, 04:23 AM
john josey

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

ORIGINAL: av8tor1977

ORIGINAL: BobH

Many years ago when I worked in the chain saw industry felt filtlers were the standard. The only issue with them is that after a while they tend to harden and restrict fuel. If you are aware of that and change them befor that happens you are fine. No fibers get in the carb etc. These filters are made specifically for their intended purpose.
Walboro carbs take about 10psi or more to over come the inlet needle valve. So fueling on the two line system would only be an issue if you have a lot of fuel pressure in that line. FYI I've always used a 3 line system but I don't see big problems with either situation provided you do the right things in the first place.
But what I didn't like was each time you fuel the plane, you are filling it through the wrong side of the fiilter clunk and it is possible to introduce crap straight into the line the goes to the carb.

AV8TOR