Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

DLE 30 ignition voltage

Reply
Old 07-15-2013, 12:49 PM
  #1
scvsteve
Thread Starter
 
scvsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 40
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default DLE 30 ignition voltage


Reading somewhere that DLE likes higher voltage than 5 volts. 5.5 to 6 is this true? It seems to sputter at times. I have a wikes IBEF throttle cut off that regulates and I can adjust the voltage to higher. 4.8 to 16 volts. I don't know to check the voltage and what should it be set at. The standard that it comes with is 5.0 volts. I have a volt meter just not sure how to do it or where to put the leads.
scvsteve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 12:58 PM
  #2
cubarican323
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: litllerock, CA
Posts: 38
Default RE: DLE 30 ignition voltage

I run my dle20,30 and 55 at 5.1 and never had a problem. Everybody at my field told me the same keep it at 5.1 if you put on 6v it will burn out sooner or later.
cubarican323 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 01:54 PM
  #3
scvsteve
Thread Starter
 
scvsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 40
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 30 ignition voltage

Does any of your motors sputter while flying. Mine does sometimes not all of the time. I was told if you increase the voltage that would go away.
scvsteve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 03:04 PM
  #4
cubarican323
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: litllerock, CA
Posts: 38
Default RE: DLE 30 ignition voltage

Only my DLE 55 sputters a lil bit but I think it needs some more tuning not 100% sure hopefully somebody can give us some good advise with about it. I would try 6v on your dle30 just to see if it goes away.
cubarican323 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 03:41 PM
  #5
skillet92
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: camden, SC
Posts: 1,133
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 30 ignition voltage

It won't. I have 2 30s that sputtered when I first bought and ran them. One in a GP Waco and one in an ESM FW-190. Both required tuning to get the mid range sputter out. And a spark plug change. NGK cm6. Both mine and all my gas engines run on 2000 mil amp 4.8 volts. Lasts a full day at the field.
skillet92 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 04:06 PM
  #6
scvsteve
Thread Starter
 
scvsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 40
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 30 ignition voltage

Are you just running one battery and it last that long or two
scvsteve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 04:07 PM
  #7
ahicks
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,445
Default RE: DLE 30 ignition voltage

As weird as it sounds, opening the spark plug gap to .024-.025 con make a noticeable difference in that miss you guys are talking about....
ahicks is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 04:10 PM
  #8
scvsteve
Thread Starter
 
scvsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 40
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 30 ignition voltage

I have tried that but have not flown since. Will check that out thanks
scvsteve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 04:11 PM
  #9
STUKA BARRY
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Summerfield, NC
Posts: 1,937
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 30 ignition voltage

If your using an RcXcel ignition, you need to use a 4.8 pack. The capacity is up to you, but the more milliamps the better, I use 2500 with no problems at all. The use of an NGK CM-6 plug or Honda equivalent is highly recommended.
STUKA BARRY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 04:26 PM
  #10
scvsteve
Thread Starter
 
scvsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 40
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 30 ignition voltage

Am using a wike IBEF ignition cutoff and the ignition is just DLE. Running 6.6 volt life battery just one for the whole thing. Been running that for a year or so. Just trying to lose the miss, popping in the midrange.

http://www.troybuiltmodels.com/items/WRCIBEFV2.1.html
scvsteve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 05:22 PM
  #11
skillet92
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: camden, SC
Posts: 1,133
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 30 ignition voltage

I use one battery solely for ignition. Eliminates any issues. And I can get 5-6 10-12 minute flights recharge puts about 800 back in battery.

Ahicks I did the spark plug gap on my 2 dle 20s and it helped both. Still had to tune the rest out.
skillet92 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 02:35 AM
  #12
ahicks
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,445
Default RE: DLE 30 ignition voltage

Not too surprised at that. What many have noticed is that they can't get that burble out no matter how well it's tuned. At that point, opening the gap up with no other changes will usually make enough difference where the problem is no longer noticeable?

Starting out with a wide gap allows more forgiving settings, allows you to stay on the rich side of things? It doesn't force you into leaner conditions where you may find dead stick landings start occurring.

BTW, this tip is not just for the DLE 20 people. It works very well on most all of the smaller gassers, including the 30 and 35cc engines. -Al
ahicks is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 04:12 AM
  #13
raptureboy
 
raptureboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kempton PA
Posts: 2,572
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 30 ignition voltage

Check your ignition unit for voltage rating. The new ones are coming in rated for 8.4 v now.
raptureboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 06:32 AM
  #14
AMA 74894
Moderator
 
AMA 74894's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Spicer, MN
Posts: 1,212
Default RE: DLE 30 ignition voltage


Quote:
ORIGINAL: raptureboy

Check your ignition unit for voltage rating. The new ones are coming in rated for 8.4 v now.
+1 I've got a brand new (less than 3 months old) DLE30 and a DLE 55, BOTH ignition modules specify 5 - 8.4 volts.
both are running a dedicated LIFE ignition battery, both run solid.
AMA 74894 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 12:39 PM
  #15
Scota4570
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Salinas, CA
Posts: 841
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 30 ignition voltage

Do what the instructions that came with it said.
Scota4570 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 04:05 PM
  #16
Lightspeed1551
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Palatine, IL
Posts: 183
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE 30 ignition voltage

I got the Dle 20 2 months ago and run it on a 4.8 volt NiMh. I fly 5 to 6 (10 minute) flights per fly day with no problems.
Lightspeed1551 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:30 AM.