Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Gas Engines
Reload this Page >

How long should my ignition battery last?

Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

How long should my ignition battery last?

Old 08-27-2013, 10:58 AM
planeman1969

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How long should my ignition battery last?

Hello
I have a Giant Super Sportster with a CRRC 40 cc gas engine in it. I flew it for about 30 minutes ( 3 flights) and desided to check the batteries to my suprize my ignition battery showed almost dead. I am using a Hydrimax 2000 4 AA pack 4.8 v, I did check the charge before I started flying and it showed full charge. Is this normal? I am new to gas engines. Have been flying for close to 30 years / mostly glow,
Thank You
Planeman
Old 08-27-2013, 11:20 AM
JohnB96041

Originally Posted by planeman1969
Hello
I have a Giant Super Sportster with a CRRC 40 cc gas engine in it. I flew it for about 30 minutes ( 3 flights) and desided to check the batteries to my suprize my ignition battery showed almost dead. I am using a Hydrimax 2000 4 AA pack 4.8 v, I did check the charge before I started flying and it showed full charge. Is this normal? I am new to gas engines. Have been flying for close to 30 years / mostly glow,
Thank You
Planeman
you did not state the kind of battery. Is it a Nicad pack?
Old 08-27-2013, 12:02 PM
planeman1969

Hello John
They are Hydrimax 2000 . They are NIMH Nicole metal hydrite batteries. I know they are not nicad, Should have more power than nicads, I think?
Thanks
Old 08-27-2013, 12:38 PM
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)

Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts

If it's an Rcexl ignition, and the battery is in good shape (never assume with NiMh!) it should have gone much longer I would think? If it's not an Rcexl ign. all bets are off. Some ignitions can be power hungry little pigs!
Old 08-27-2013, 01:13 PM
av8tor1977
My Feedback: (6)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts