Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

DLE-35RA Issue

Old 09-08-2013, 04:05 PM
aerobatixkid

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default DLE-35RA Issue

DLE 35RA
Tech-aero IBEC (unregulated, powered by an A123)

32:1 Amsoil Dominator / 91 Octane (Highest octane available here)

NGK CM6 .025gap

Hi all.

Received this engine last week from a distributor here in Canada.

I've had a few issues with hard starting and now I am having an problem with

the engine not coming down to an idle for 15-20 seconds after the throttle is

closed. It seems to "hang" at a certain rpm and then it will come down to an

normal speed. I've been flying and tinkering with gassers for about 3 years and

this is the first time I have expirenced such an issue.

It does this at the stock needle settings, and I have tried tuning it out of the

engine with no success. Only way I can reduce the time, is to richen the low to

an excessive amount, and then it has no choice but to come down to an idle

because its starting to flood itself out.

Any insight is much appreciated.

Shane.
Old 09-08-2013, 04:16 PM
All Day Dan
My Feedback: (5)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Shane, you’re not alone. Some of those DLE’s can be a PIA and my friend has one also. He has rebuilt the carburetor, replaced the ignition with a CH version, changed the spark plug and inspected the reeds. His problem is a little different than yours. The only thing he has not done is replace the carb with a Walbro. If nothing works for you, try changing the carb. Dan.
Old 09-08-2013, 04:17 PM
aerobatixkid

What is his doing?
Old 09-08-2013, 04:50 PM
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)

Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts