Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Soft Mount (Vibration Isolator) Suppliers

Reply

Old 12-09-2013, 03:05 AM
  #1  
thailazer
Thread Starter
 
thailazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Liberty Lake, WA
Posts: 1,520
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Soft Mount (Vibration Isolator) Suppliers

Been running my Tartan Twin on the test stand and the vibration at idle is of high concern. Once past idle, it is very smooth, but the normal two cycle idle nature is taking the test stand to its limits.

Curious as to what soft mounts gas flyers are using on their engines. Rather than home-brewing a solution, I would rather buy the mounts and then machine my own engine back plate to mount them to to make the transition to the aircraft firewall.
thailazer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 05:29 AM
  #2  
Nieuport nut
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kingston, ON, CANADA
Posts: 535
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I looked into soft vs hard mounting gas engines some years ago and concluded that hard mounting made sense. You can do a search on this forum and get lots of threads. If you decide to go with soft mounting, I have a set of 4 B&B soft mounts you can have for $10

Martin
Nieuport nut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 05:44 AM
  #3  
thailazer
Thread Starter
 
thailazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Liberty Lake, WA
Posts: 1,520
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Martin... Thanks for the offer and let me look into those! Would cost another ten dollars to get them to Thailand but I might still be ahead.

I've been reading a lot of threads and it seems it really depends a lot on the engine. My Tartan is incredibly smooth at higher RPM, but at idle it shakes my 1/2 inch plywood box so much I can't imagine what it would do to an airframe. I'm not that good of a builder!

Have to admit that I haven't tried leaning the idle mixture which a friend suggested. Apparently that helps tame the lower end vibrations a lot. Wondering if you have experience with that?

Last edited by thailazer; 12-09-2013 at 05:47 AM.
thailazer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 07:39 AM
  #4  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The Hyde mount is a super well made vibration mount but it is expensive
Try Hyde vibration mount on Google
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 11:26 AM
  #5  
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,935
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Check the compression on each cyl...a big difference can cause vibes. Also do you have the timing set right. Then there is the carb setting, if too rich can cause vibes also. Try to retard the spark a bit & lean the low end up a tad. Let us know what happens.
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service