Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Gas Engines
Reload this Page >

Gas Engine Selection for The World Models 1/4 Scale Piper J-3 Cub?

Community
Search
Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Gas Engine Selection for The World Models 1/4 Scale Piper J-3 Cub?

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2014, 07:43 AM
Jim Hargett
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gas Engine Selection for The World Models 1/4 Scale Piper J-3 Cub?

I'm new to gas engines. Recently I purchased a World Models 1/4 scale
Piper J-3 Cub. The manual recommends 0.91 cu. in. displacement for a 2
-stroke engine, or a 1.20-1.60 cu. in. engine for a 4 stroke engine. The flying
weight for this Cub 14-16 lbs.; the wingspan is 104 inches.

I definitely want to buy a gas engine for this plane, but I'm open as to 2-stroke
or 4-stroke. I would also much prefer an engine whose carburetor mounts in
the rear (rather than on the side).

Here are just some of the engines I've been looking at:

Saito FG-21 (4-stroke gas)
OS GT-22 (2-stroke gas)
OS GT-33 (2-stroke gas)
DLE 35RA (2-stroke gas)

Any ideas, suggestions, or recommendations on engine choice would be much appreciated! Thanks.

jim

PS: If you respond to this tread, thanks! Just please .... if you recommend a particular gas engine,
tell me why. Thanks again!!!!
Old 01-29-2014, 07:49 AM
BadAzzMaxx

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I would go with the DLE 35RA so you do not have to destroy your cowl for the muffler.

Another choice would be a Quadra 35, they are rear exhaust but a little heaver if you do not mind the extra weight for just good sports flying.

Another good choice is the ZP38, rear exhaust and will last forever.
http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...engine-ZENEP38

Milton

Last edited by BadAzzMaxx; 01-29-2014 at 07:55 AM.
Old 01-29-2014, 07:54 AM
Cub Flyer Fresno

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts