Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

maloney engine???

Reply
Old 09-25-2003, 05:51 AM
  #1
eyalu540
Thread Starter
 
eyalu540's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: afula, ISRAEL
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default maloney engine???

hi

has anybody heard about this company (maloney),
and give me details of 35 cc engine??
eyalu540 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2003, 07:12 AM
  #2
Hobbsy
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 17,089
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???

If you're talking about the Maloney 125, I have one, it turns a 15x8 at around 7,200. It is fairly heavy and needs to be started with a starter unless you put an electronic ignition on it, which I did. It will however run a really long time on a 16 oz tank. They also made a 100 which was one cubic inch and the 125 is one and a quarter cubic inch disp.
Hobbsy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2003, 09:05 AM
  #3
Antique
 
Antique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Somewhere, DC
Posts: 9,825
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???

The plastic block under the carb tends to leak..If you have trouble drawing fuel take the block off and sand both sides on a flat surface..Be careful, the material is soft and will strip easily...
Unless they made a larger one, the Maloney 125 is about 20 cc.....
Antique is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2003, 09:55 PM
  #4
Hobbsy
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 17,089
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???

Ralph, so far mine has not leaked and I lucked out as it came with a round piston ring. It has great compression, some came with oval shaped rings that took forever to seat.
Hobbsy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2003, 11:39 PM
  #5
Antique
 
Antique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Somewhere, DC
Posts: 9,825
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???

The few I had here had out of round cylinders...A few passes on the Sunnen hone fixed it, round and straight within .0001
Antique is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2003, 06:59 AM
  #6
Hobbsy
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 17,089
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???

I guess if you tried to wear in an oval shaped cylinder it would then be wore out. I have thought a lot about puting a Davis Diesel head on mine and running it with out the flywheel but some say the flywheel partly balances the crank. Mine came with the key in the flywheel being too tall and making the flywheel wobble.
Hobbsy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 01:27 PM
  #7
Frank C. Bowman
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Farmington, NM
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???

I have new piston rings for this engine + over 200 more model engine rings. Email for details. Thanks Frank Bowman
frankbowman@mylifeline.net
Frank C. Bowman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 06:17 AM
  #8
gadix
 
gadix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Modi\'In, ISRAEL
Posts: 959
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???

eyal shalom

please call me regarding the maloney engine.

thx
gadi.

054-5952320

[8D]
gadix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 06:18 AM
  #9
gadix
 
gadix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Modi\'In, ISRAEL
Posts: 959
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???

hi and shalom from israel.

do u know the manufacturer, maloney, web site address, if any?
thx
gadix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 10:16 AM
  #10
Antique
 
Antique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Somewhere, DC
Posts: 9,825
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???

Made by a company in Taiwan or Korea No web site...Imported by Jim Goad when he owned ISC International..Haven't been available (or even made) for many years....Same company made the Horner twin, also extinct....
Antique is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 11:35 PM
  #11
Hobbsy
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 17,089
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???

They were made in Korea and imported by John Maloney of World Engines.
Hobbsy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 04:09 AM
  #12
Texastbird
 
Texastbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: La Porte, TX
Posts: 1,215
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???

I picked up a 125 at a swap meet and it starts right up. But it surges when I try to lean out the mixture. Any guesses on what I could try. Running a 15X6 MA on it. Thanks.
Texastbird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 08:07 AM
  #13
Hobbsy
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 17,089
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???

John Maloney only used a 15x8 for all his developement work on the 125, it is a 7,000 rpm engine, you may be turning it too fast.
Hobbsy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 06:00 PM
  #14
thamby0612
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: , GA
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???

Hi, i have a meloney 100 that is nib there is none on ebay what would it be worth to someone on here? make offers thanks, i dont post here much so if you could email me thamby0612@gmail.com if you wish i will sell it to you on ebay so you will know iam not trying you or any thing.
thamby0612 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 08:33 PM
  #15
flyoz
 
flyoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: East Moorabbin,Victoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 169
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???

Cant believe it.
I recently converted my Maloney 125 to Electronic ign (Thanks Hobbsy for some advice) yesterday I pulled an old RCM mag out and found an engine report from Clarence Lee re the Maloney 125.
Just in case any one seeks some literature I have posted it here
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
Hf97870.pdf (659.7 KB, 138 views)
flyoz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 11:03 AM
  #16
Texastbird
 
Texastbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: La Porte, TX
Posts: 1,215
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???

Could you give me an idea of what you did to convert to elctronic igniton?
Texastbird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 12:32 AM
  #17
flyoz
 
flyoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: East Moorabbin,Victoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 169
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???

Yep. I removed the rear flywheel it Prizes off ie straight out and has a small semicirle key in shaft.
Then I rempurchased this http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=6292 Plus a sensor pickup elsewhere same site a Lipo Battery and Voltage reg to keep it at the required 6V max and a tiny rare earth magnet
I drilled an 1/8th hole in the prop waher/base aluminium boss on the shaft and epoxied the magnet in flush.
The sensor can be flipped over in its plastic holder to get the right Mahgnetic pole.

The sensor is mounted so it is just over the magnet. When the shaft and magnet rotate the sensor is activated and initiates the spark.

You need to figure 26 Degrees BTC (I yhink) to find wher to mount the sensor an magnet. see http://www.rcextremepower.net/ignitions.html

The sensor can be adj a s bit each way with the 2 mounting screws

To Set up the spark angle see http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GBXFpxWg7vY

All done
flyoz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 09:43 AM
  #18
93octane
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Coopersburg, PA
Posts: 183
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???


Quote:
ORIGINAL: flyoz

Yep. I removed the rear flywheel it Prizes off ie straight out and has a small semicirle key in shaft.
Then I rempurchased this http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=6292 Plus a sensor pickup elsewhere same site a Lipo Battery and Voltage reg to keep it at the required 6V max and a tiny rare earth magnet
I drilled an 1/8th hole in the prop waher/base aluminium boss on the shaft and epoxied the magnet in flush.
The sensor can be flipped over in its plastic holder to get the right Mahgnetic pole.

The sensor is mounted so it is just over the magnet. When the shaft and magnet rotate the sensor is activated and initiates the spark.

You need to figure 26 Degrees BTC (I yhink) to find wher to mount the sensor an magnet. see http://www.rcextremepower.net/ignitions.html

The sensor can be adj a s bit each way with the 2 mounting screws

To Set up the spark angle see http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GBXFpxWg7vY

All done
I have 9 of these engines! I like them, yes they are a bit heavy..but with a few internal mods and some lightening they run excellent!! with stock ignition or aftermarket cdi...can you post some pics of your conversion? thanks
93octane is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 11:34 AM
  #19
Texastbird
 
Texastbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: La Porte, TX
Posts: 1,215
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???

So it runs ok with the flywheel removed? That is probably a lot of weight gone with the coil too. I already have an ignition module I think will work, I just need to find some of the little magnets.
Texastbird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 02:32 PM
  #20
93octane
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Coopersburg, PA
Posts: 183
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Texastbird

So it runs ok with the flywheel removed? That is probably a lot of weight gone with the coil too. I already have an ignition module I think will work, I just need to find some of the little magnets.
Yes sir runs just fine..spools up alittle quicker saves abunch of weight..radio shack has the rare earth magnets 1/8 in diameter...they work fine...
93octane is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 12:05 PM
  #21
appy2day
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sanbornville, NH
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???

Nice to find this thread on the Maloney engines. I have a few of these and some spare parts. The weight has kept them off my planes, but the CDI conversion looks
like the answer. I'll have to order some ignition parts and give it a try. Any pictures of the converted engines?

Happy Flying,
appy
appy2day is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 08:14 PM
  #22
Duayne P
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tamuning, , GUAM (USA)
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???

I have one of these engines and I will post pics as soon as I can get my camera back. I bought the ignition from syssa and I also bought a new and better piston ring. It has awsone compresion and runnns like a champ. I payed under $200 for the engine and all the mods. WELL WORTH THE MONEY. I would love to get more of them.
Duayne P is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 12:30 PM
  #23
rcnats
 
rcnats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Steens, MS
Posts: 410
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???

I had a Maloney 125 that I converted to diesel (Bob Davis, Davis Diesel) and the engine became lighter (no magneto) and it turned an 18x6 prop. Sold it...should have kept it [&o].
rcnats is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 01:31 PM
  #24
STUKA BARRY
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Summerfield, NC
Posts: 1,938
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???

I purchased one way back in 1985 along with the first shipment of Model Tech Dragon Ladies. The engine is heavy, but ran like a sewing machine. It never let me down. It did require an electric starter, but once it started, it did'nt stop. Very fuel efficeint too just not a powerful engine. Its been along time, but I think I got the whole package from Jim Goad for $200. The Dragon Lady was an awesome flying plane. I'd luv to have that one back.
STUKA BARRY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 08:54 PM
  #25
rightname
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: , CO
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: maloney engine???

I have a Maloney 100 that my father bought new many years ago. It has only been run for a while on a test stand. Any offers?
rightname is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:25 PM.