Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Throttle Return Spring

Old 10-12-2014, 05:41 AM
ETpilot

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts
Default Throttle Return Spring

I am a gas newbie and I am at the point in my build where I will be rigging my engine. I reviewed the Sticky " Newbie to Gas General Information "

Item 7 states to disconnect the throttle return sping. All I have read says to do this. Understandable to me.

However, post 34 in sticky, last section on Servo Selection, paragraph 3, it says do not disconnect the return springs. Use a good servo.

All II have read says disconnect. Now I read this post that says do not disconnect.

Thoughts, comments on this. Thanks.
Old 10-12-2014, 07:13 AM
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)

Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts

There's a big debate regarding this. Both side make a good case. I think the much larger issue is making sure the spring is left in place whether or not you decide to disable it.

Me? I disconnect...
Old 10-12-2014, 07:51 AM
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)

Received 173 Likes on 149 Posts

+1 I disconnect it as well but leave in place. The carb throttle shaft needs the spring pre-load. There are many options here. The thought is that if you leave it connected in the event of a linkage failure the throttle will come to idle or off. With the use of an IBEC you have the availability to shout down the engine at a flick of a switch so no real need for a mechanical safety. IMO most guys go cheap on the throttle servo so being under load all of the time might shorten the servo life. I emphasize the word might here as I have no evidence of this. When it comes to gassers there is a very wide spectrum of opinions on how to do things. If you want options, ask your question and then select the option that makes most sense to you.
Old 10-12-2014, 08:27 AM
Granpooba
My Feedback: (5)

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by speedracerntrixie