Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Fuel filters?

Old 10-17-2014, 07:58 AM
CARS II
My Feedback: (7)

Received 123 Likes on 106 Posts
Default Fuel filters?

I'm new to gas and I have been reading about ( clean the carburator screen a lot ) so, here is my question/survey.

How many of you ( the readers ) are using a fuel filters before the carburator?

I'm asking because I allway have ( even now ) used a fuel filter bafore the carburators that I have flown, on my first gas airplane the fuel is filtered 3 times before it gets to the carburator.

Thanks
Old 10-17-2014, 09:58 AM
pilotpete2

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Many gas flyers use the felt filter clunks, but to be effective as a filter for the carb, you really need to run a 3 line setup with a separate fill/drain line, or elese you're pumping possible debris into the wrong side of the filter. I run three line setups with felt filter clunk on all my gas engines.
Pete
Old 10-17-2014, 10:11 AM
raptureboy

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Same as above. Only exception would be a 2 line system with a T and an inline filter before the carb. I use the sintered brass filters by Dubro in the tank in place of a std clunk, and a felt one in my fuel can.
Old 10-17-2014, 11:50 AM
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)

Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts

Felt clunk filter only here.
Old 10-17-2014, 12:15 PM
sarpet

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

This is the best money can buy.
http://www.amazon.com/White-Fuel-Fil.../dp/B00455Q2TO
Old 10-17-2014, 07:17 PM
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)

Received 43 Likes on 42 Posts