Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Gas Engines
Reload this Page >

DLE35ra with Bowman ring low rpm and compression?

Community
Search
Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

DLE35ra with Bowman ring low rpm and compression?

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2015, 08:40 PM
JoeyCoates

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DLE35ra with Bowman ring low rpm and compression?

Ok, I have a brand new DLE35ra that I have bench run maybe 12-14 Oz through while mounted on the airplane. The gas is mixed 30:1 per manual with husqvarna oil. Basically I was just running it to set the needles and check transition. Now to be perfectly honest this is my first larger gas engine, my only other gas engine is a Evolution 10gx so I am very new to this. Before the engine ever ran I put a Bowman ring on it and made sure the reed block was flat. I then made sure the high and low needles were at 1.5 turns for low and 2 turns for high, they were way off out of the box. I also put in a nkg plug gapped to a #11 exacto blade, very scientific I know but it ended up with about a .023 gap. I also set the timing to 29 degree's from the 35 that it shipped at.

As I said, I put a Bowman ring on it before it ever ran. The stock ring gap is .012 whereas the Bowman ring has a .005 gap, so far so good. The Bowman ring went in with no issues, this is my first larger gas engine but I have flow glow for over 30 years and have built a lot of other engines. Before I ever started the engine the compression felt a bit soft compared to what I am used to, but it had never been ran so I did not think anything of it.