Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

problems with dle-30

Old 12-10-2015, 07:21 AM
  #1  
hbrannan
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Micco, FL
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default problems with dle-30

Engine will not run past halve throttle. Idle is good. Have replaced all fuel lines. No leaks. Have had all the gas pros trying to adjust needle settings. No matter what I try nothing seems to work. Next I will replace the carb. Old carb had been rebuilt. Sent engine to Tower Hobbies and the said engine ran fine no problems. Still the engine will not run past halve throttle.
hbrannan is offline  
Old 12-10-2015, 07:35 AM
  #2  
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,723
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

2 things come to mind for me here. The first is a plugged up internal fuel filter (inside the carb). Those plug frequently and are very easily cleaned. Second is not so common, but sounds possible from your description. That's low ignition voltage. When the battery pack draws down to a certain point, it puts the engine into a "limp" mode, cutting power drastically. As mentioned, you don't see it often, but when you do it sounds for all the world just like a carb problem - similar to what you are describing. When measuring that battery voltage to check, make absolutely sure you do that with a draw on it - as in after the systems been turned on for a few minutes.
ahicks is offline  
Old 12-10-2015, 08:05 AM
  #3  
kerwin50
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: winston, MO
Posts: 1,378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Mine once sucked a servo screw in and got wedged in the reed block. Very same problem
kerwin50 is offline  
Old 12-11-2015, 02:41 AM
  #4  
Lifer
My Feedback: (1)
 
Lifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,267
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

If it has an external pulse line, that may be leaking. Replace it.
Lifer is offline  
Old 12-11-2015, 04:08 AM
  #5  
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)
 
flyinwalenda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northeast, PA
Posts: 3,975
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

All good suggestions. I would check the ignition battery, then remove the carb plate with the single bolt,fuel pump diaphragms, and check for dirt in the screen. If the fuel pump is blue I would change it to the black or the tan color one. While you have the carb off you can remove the backplate and check the reed block.
It's probably fuel starvation but after this if it still won't run up then the ignition box advance may be the problem.
flyinwalenda is offline  
Old 12-11-2015, 09:14 AM
  #6  
CARS II
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 5,092
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The OP is saying the engine was send to TH and they said it runs fine, when they run it I imagine the things the had to provided to run it were gas and power ( battery ) with this in mind then those that mention to check the battery under load my have a good point.
CARS II is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.