Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

DLE vs DA

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2015, 11:30 AM
juance

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question DLE vs DA

Hi guys:
I am into IMAC aerobatics and I have always aimed for reliability, for obvious reasons.

Looking into buying a new engine, DA200 or DLE 222, price makes me stop and think.
I would like to have an unbiased input from both sides, that could make me take a reasonable decision.
My experience has always been with DA, and to be fair no complaints at all.

Thanks!

JC
Old 12-12-2015, 01:00 PM
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)

Received 44 Likes on 43 Posts

First, I have no experience with either of the engines listed so have no bias toward either one. I do own both DA and DLE engines. If I had an alliance and good experiences with DA, I'd probably stay with that company. You know its a proven product with excellent support. From that point, its just a matter of whether $ speaks louder than past experience. Where is your comfort level with each product?
Old 12-12-2015, 01:49 PM
kmeyers

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts

The Da 200 and the DLE 222 fall outside the bell curve.

No company can make a reliable product with so few customers especially if price matters. Both of these engines are probably being developed mostly for other then hobby purposes. Those purposes hold different bench marks than you have. So they will meet the real clients purposes much more then yours.

I have heard of delivery and crank twisting problems.

I will not give any source information an these rumors.
Old 12-12-2015, 02:42 PM
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)

Received 44 Likes on 43 Posts

Both engines had problems early on but both have been redesigned and crank problems seem to have been resolved. Both engines were off the market during the redesign but have been available again for most of two years or so.
Old 12-13-2015, 08:49 AM
juance

Thanks guys for your reply.