Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

MLD 35 - can't strrt!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2016, 07:56 AM
scoobiemario
My Feedback: (8)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MLD 35 - can't strrt!!

Hello, I'm fairly new to gas engines in airplanes, so maybe someone can help me out here.
I got MLD35 with Walbro carb (WT202) in GeeBee.
It flew fine for 7 flights. Easy to start. With exception of two deadsticks. Engine died mid throttle. I Adjusted throttle curve and it was much better.
Than I had some problems starting it. It would start, revv up a little and die. Took carb off, cleaned it, and it worked for 3 flights.
Now I can not start it at all.
Choke on, little throttle, ign on, flip 5-6 times,
pops, choke off. And it won't start. So Choke on again, flip flip flip. it will pop or even revv up like it want's to run for a second. It dies. I keep flipping it, and it floods. remove plug, clear gas, plug back, flip, flip. And it want's to start, but it dies quickly.

So I checked plug/replaced it. Spark is nice. Tried different ign battery. When I rotate prop slowly I can even hear spark inside of cylinder.
Hi/Low needles are in same place they were before. I use same gas as on DA50, which runs great.

I took carb off, checked it, checked reed valve. Replaced gaskets between reed valve and engine/carb. There was never much crap in carb. I have fuel filter on the plane and on gas can.
Still same, can't start it.

I ordered carb rebuild kit. I'll try that. If not, I'm thinking to get carb from DLE35 RA. It has same foot print, and it's for same displacement engine. So it should work.

Anyone has any suggestions??
Thanks
Mario
Old 01-05-2016, 08:22 AM
kmeyers

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts

Originally Posted by scoobiemario
Hi/Low needles are in same place they were before.
This is what I see first.

You are assuming the first owner had it right because you had 7 good flights?
I say start with data.