Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

4 stroke gas engines, recommend

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2019, 08:04 AM
KCCraig
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4 stroke gas engines, recommend

Hello, I am getting back into RC after 15 years. Gas engines were new on the scene. I own one FPE 2.4 and one 3.2 engines and really love the convenience and power of gas engines. I am looking around for engines for two new models and am very interested in 4 stroke gassers. One model is a 82" Gee Bee Y. I am considering a Saito FG 30 but it is 600 us dollars. There is apparently a new 3 cylinder, of similar displacement, radial out in Feb,(this month) which will cost around 1k us dollars.. I am thinking it would be cool to mount a radial engine in a round cowl. Extra expense might be worth it. Also looked at YS, and OS, (even more expensive) and evolution engines. I have no experience with evolution engines and cant seem to find much on them. Price on Evolution engines is much cheaper, (Chinese?).

Other plane is a GP super skybolt. I have a couple of 4 stroke glow engines that would work just fine in this plane, but I would really like to move to gas engines. Super Skybolt is 60 to 91 recommended but I saw a you tube video where they mounted a Saito 1.20 golden knight in a super skybolt and it worked very well. Probably eliminated any need for nose weight LOL. I have a 1.20 Saito in glow, never run which I could use. Also a OS .91 in glow.
What would you guys recommend for me?

Thanks for your input
Craig

Last edited by KCCraig; 02-06-2019 at 06:26 AM. Reason: correct engine sizes
Old 02-05-2019, 10:04 AM
airborne870724

Default Viper Engin

I am building a P40 enlarged to 1:1 and I wanted to us the viper engin since it has the HP to run the aircraft. I am looking for anyone who could help me build the parts needed to afix a propellar to this engin. Thanks!
Old 02-05-2019, 12:31 PM
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)