Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

dle 35 break in rpm

Reply

Old 06-14-2018, 04:52 AM
  #1  
left seat
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brampton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 51
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default dle 35 break in rpm

I have a brand new DLE 35 in my Taylorcraft. I would like to know if there are any tips I should know about breaking it in. Any specific rpm, ( has a digital tach mounted on fuse) how high should the rpms be for break in and for what duration. How many tanks of fuel should be run through before first flight? Oil to gas ratio is 30:1 is this sufficiant for break in and should I use a gas stabalizer since it may not be flown regularly. I'm new to gas engines and would like to break it in properly. Any advise here would be greatly appreciated.
left seat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 06:03 AM
  #2  
mogman
 
mogman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pitt Meadows, BC, CANADA
Posts: 843
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Fire it up, get a good basic needle setting and go fly. The engine will be better cooled in flight rather than just running on the ground. 30 or 32:1 is good. vary your throttle settings in flight.

If it won't affect your C/G, fly with the cowl off for max cooling for the first few flights.

Last edited by mogman; 06-14-2018 at 06:12 AM.
mogman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 07:36 AM
  #3  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,131
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

What he said ^^^^
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 03:46 PM
  #4  
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,691
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Don't feel like you HAVE to get it the air as fast as you can. Feel free to take whatever time you need to get comfortable with it, then offer it up to the RC Gods with a little confidence! You aren't going to hurt it. The bigger point is don't waste your time tuning to the 'nth degree, as that's very likely going to change as soon as it's airborne. Also, breaking it in a stand has never resulted in an engine that will run longer or faster than one broken in while flying.

And welcome to gas!
ahicks is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 09:47 AM
  #5  
wally3185
My Feedback: (26)
 
wally3185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bloomfield , IN
Posts: 82
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Top RPM

I also have a new 35ra, the information that comes with it says break in should be two hours at 4000 rpm.I have ran about 60 oz threw it. What top end rpm should I be getting with a 19x8 xoar? I'm getting around 7000
wally3185 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 10:01 AM
  #6  
CK1
My Feedback: (60)
 
CK1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,351
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You should be getting close to 8k rpm if not more with a 19x8 on the 35ra . You are probably running a bit rich or your tach is off. A 20x8 would be more appropriate for the 35ra
CK1 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 05:10 AM
  #7  
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,691
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I wouldn't worry about top rpm you're getting (on a newer engine) as much as whether the carb has been set for max rpm, then richened until you can just hear it drop. You get what you get, and it will very likely change as the engine breaks in. Just keep in mind the fuel helps cool your engine. At first, when it's likely running much warmer than it will when broken in, it needs a lot more fuel to keep it cooled down. That will change as it breaks in too!

A lot of guys running acrobats and 3D types run 19x8 and 20x6. For 3D I like the 20x6 to keep the rpms up for quick throttle response and max acceleration, and the extra diameter to increase the amount of air blowing over the control surfaces. 20x6 will act like a big air brake when you pull the throttle back too, pretty much slowing the plane right now. Awesome for setting up for a short approach. That's me though. No hard right or wrong here, just encouraging an open mind on what the right prop is for you and YOUR plane! -Al

Last edited by ahicks; 02-17-2019 at 05:17 AM.
ahicks is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 06:32 AM
  #8  
wally3185
My Feedback: (26)
 
wally3185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bloomfield , IN
Posts: 82
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Dle 35ra

Thanks for the input, I'm getting a good idle and throttle response though out the power band. As soon as the weather permits I'll get it in the air.
wally3185 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service