Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Prop mounting

Reply

Old 04-04-2019, 12:07 PM
  #1  
Fly4Funn
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Orangeburg, SC
Posts: 44
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Prop mounting

Just got a Moki 215 and bought a couple 32X18 props for it. One was a SEP and the other a Xoar. Both prop hubs are thicker than the prop shaft stub on the front of the engine so when I put the prop on, there is no shaft sticking out for the plate to slide onto. Is it a must to have this shaft sticking into the hole in the front prop plate or just mount with the prop bolts and move forward. If it does need to stick into the front plate, how are you guys handling this when there isn't enough shaft to reach through the prop.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
Fly4Funn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 12:19 PM
  #2  
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,563
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Use a Barrel nut type mounting setup whereby the nut has a sleeve that extends through the prop washer
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 03:10 PM
  #3  
Fly4Funn
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Orangeburg, SC
Posts: 44
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by w8ye View Post
Use a Barrel nut type mounting setup whereby the nut has a sleeve that extends through the prop washer
Thanks but that won't work in this setup. See the pictures which may clarify what I am describing


.
Fly4Funn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2019, 07:37 AM
  #4  
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)
 
speedracerntrixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 6,656
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I would not run an engine of that size without the prop washer engaged onto the spindle. I think the only choice you may have is to locate/adjust prop size so that you find a prop with a thinner hub. Can you go larger diameter and less pitch? Have you contacted Moki to see if a longer spindle nut is available?
speedracerntrixie is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 06:16 AM
  #5  
Fly4Funn
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Orangeburg, SC
Posts: 44
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I did contact Dr G at Vogelsang Aeroscale and they do make an extension but it is out of stock right now. According to him the extension isn't really needed unless the corsair style hub is used which I am not. He stated that it is perfectly fine to run the engine without the shaft coming completely through the prop and into the prop washer. That is what I plan to do. I do plan to purchase the extension once they come back in stock just to have in hand.
Fly4Funn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2019, 04:08 PM
  #6  
kmeyers
 
kmeyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 779
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I'm going to assume that you will be using a spinner and that the shaft is threaded to attach it. I would use a spacer the shaft dia. drilled for the spinner bolt with clearance and use it while mounting the prop washer to center it while torquing the bolts.
kmeyers is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service