Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Walbro carb rebuild

Reply
Old 12-31-2003, 07:48 PM
  #1
Scott McCrory
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dillon, CO
Posts: 132
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Walbro carb rebuild

Just purchased a kit for my Walbro carb but no specs were included. Any help and do's and dont's would be appreciated.

Scott
Scott McCrory is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2003, 08:15 PM
  #2
Antique
 
Antique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Somewhere, DC
Posts: 9,825
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Walbro carb rebuild

Take out both needles, and take off both covers, Try not to bend the lever that operates the inlet needle......Remove the fine screen and blow it out with some carb cleaner, and replace..Find the gasket with the big hole in the middle, put it on the carb on the side with the lever and inlet needle..Put the diaphragm with the metal piece in the center on top of the gasket, replace the cover...Put the other diaphragm on the carb, put the gasket on top, replace the cover...Replace the needles, open 2 turns from closed..Start the engine, let it warm up a little, then open the throttle wide and lean out the high speed needle until it just starts to slow down, open about 1/4 turn..Close the throttle to the idle speed you want, usually around 1800 rpm..Slowly close the low speed needle until the engine starts to speed up..Open the throttle fast..If the engine doesn't die close the low speed needle about 1/4 turn and open it fast again..Do this a few times until the engine dies when you open the throttle...Open the low speed needle about 1/4 turn, it should now transition smoothly..Go back and re set the high speed needle..
There are always people who will say they never touched the "factory" setting...This is ridiculous, no one can possibly predict what the best setting will be...NEEDLES ARE THERE TO BE ADJUSTED.....[8D]
Antique is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2003, 11:02 PM
  #3
Scott McCrory
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dillon, CO
Posts: 132
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Walbro carb rebuild

RCIGN1,

Thanks for the great info. It took all of 15 min. to rebuild. I'll adjust the needles tomorrow. To bad auto carbs can't be this simple.

Scott
Scott McCrory is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2004, 07:26 PM
  #4
WRK
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 663
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Walbro carb rebuild

RCIGN1,

What? A clear concise explanation of just what to do and hwo to do it, Now that is what I call a expert job of helping! Very well done.

flierbk
WRK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2004, 07:39 PM
  #5
Jemo
 
Jemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: in, FL
Posts: 1,924
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Walbro carb rebuild

That was a good job. It makes you think He has done it before..........
Jemo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 04:36 AM
  #6
mikenlapaz
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: La Paz BCS, MEXICO
Posts: 1,986
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Walbro carb rebuild

That's a keeper for the engine file. Thanks RCIGN1!
mikenlapaz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 11:55 PM
  #7
Bass1
 
Bass1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va.Beach, VA
Posts: 2,461
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Walbro carb rebuild

Yeah , I'm saving this page also!
Bass1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 05:56 AM
  #8
solo_one
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chillicothe, OH
Posts: 85
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Walbro carb rebuild

On the same subject, I have a G38 carb that needs a rebuild, it isnt pumping fuel properly after sitting for over a year. Where do I find the carb number so I can get the right kit?
solo_one is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 09:46 AM
  #9
Antique
 
Antique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Somewhere, DC
Posts: 9,825
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Walbro carb rebuild

The number is stamped in the body...The WTA6 with no choke uses the D10WTA kit, the one with a choke is WT338, kit is D10WAT...About $5...
Antique is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 03:55 PM
  #10
solo_one
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chillicothe, OH
Posts: 85
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Walbro carb rebuild

Thanks a bunch, those numbers are tiny, wouldnt have found them on my own.
solo_one is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:21 PM.