Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Beginner to Gas

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2005, 08:25 PM
SplitWings

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginner to Gas

I've been flying with glow engines for a couple of years now, but I've been thinking (OK, wanting) to move up to gas engines. Does anyone know of any beginner's guides that have either been posted before or that is available on the internet. Basically I would like to learn the differences in setting up (as opposed to a glow setup). For example, I've some things like gas sometimes uses electronic ingnitions and a gas engine usually has a kill switch.

I'm not asking someone to write a whole newbie's guide to post here, but if someone knows a source thats already been written. I've been searching this forum without much luck so far.

Thanks alot!

Joe
St. Louis
Old 09-09-2005, 08:46 PM
gasoline

Default RE: Beginner to Gas

Hi,I too just move to gas after few years on glow,from this transition what I have found is nothing much diffrent beside the equipment that we use is bigger,stronger and a little more expensive.If we are talking about setup basically is the same.But what I really found out is the balancing of prop,if we take a 40. to 120. plane during my glow time,what I always do is but it from the shelf and fit it to the motor and fly but with gas swinging up to 24 inch prop, if the prop is not balance besides the vibration you will notice the engine won't give out alot of power and the mounting will actually crack which is metal.Then we have to learn to mix our own oil.Tuning the engine is basically the same as 2 stroke glow but the diffrence is the low end will always effect the high end where as inn glow it doesn't.If you buy a gas engine the manual actually give you enough information on the motor and how to use it.