Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Gasser Throttle Servo???

Reply
Old 07-25-2007, 05:05 PM
  #1
bzyguy01
Thread Starter
 
bzyguy01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Peoria , AZ
Posts: 497
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Gasser Throttle Servo???

I am asking for good sources for a gasser throttle servo. I have installed a brand new spektrum digital (CHEAP) servo on my fire wall of my H9 33% Edge w/ brison 100cc. Killed the servo in 1 flight. I am hearing conflicting stories on MG servos for the throttle??? Any input here would be great.

Oh yeah...for those that were wondering what happened to the throttle when it failed....Yeah, Stuck WOT for 15 min's until I lost the 2 top cowell screws due to the intense 15 min's of WOT and ate the cowell to stop the engine.....Dead sticked it in. That was an intense 15 min's trying to keep the air speed to a minimum.....we got pretty good at flat spins tho!
bzyguy01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 05:32 PM
  #2
AirWizard
 
AirWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Coffeyville, KS
Posts: 1,228
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???

I use Hitec MG servos for the throttle on all my gas planes.
AirWizard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 05:51 PM
  #3
krayzc-RCU
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kannapolis, NC
Posts: 7,415
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???

i have various one on my gassers right now i have 2-811 and 1-hitec 605 and one jr 517, and one 3121 mini. I do love those 811 but its only on the bench can i tell anything in the air all of my throttle seem good wth either mixing or a good resuliton set up.....
krayzc-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 06:01 PM
  #4
mrbigg
 
mrbigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Streator, IL
Posts: 4,776
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???

Anyone running standard digitals? with nylon gears?
mrbigg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 06:05 PM
  #5
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???

If you read the advice given by Quique Simozimi he reccomends not using digital servos, because of thier constant referencing back to the servo position and therefore draining the battery uneccesaraly, he reccomends a good analog servo.

Mike
BaldEagel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 06:36 PM
  #6
TLH101
 
TLH101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Elephant Butte, N.M.
Posts: 6,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???

And a radio controlled kill switch, or a servo operated choke.
TLH101 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 07:51 PM
  #7
Josey Wales
 
Josey Wales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: **, NJ
Posts: 4,741
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???

Ive used 811's 5965's and 6965's
Josey Wales is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 08:13 PM
  #8
cap10b
 
cap10b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 819
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???

All,
I go with Baldeagle in that I use a fast analog non-digital servo on throttle and choke. However last weekend I got up to the flight line and flip flip flip and no start. Seems the choke servo went out leaving the choke in operative. I am wondering since both throttle and choke servos were in stalled fresh overhaul from the factory at the same time, if I should replace the throttle servo just to be safe. ? Hmmm good question.

Servo Specs

Airtronics 94151 High Speed MOS Fet Pro servo
96 oz/in at 6 vdc at .07 speed. at the time these
were about $90 servos.

I have some DS 821 JR sport digitals but I'm afraid to use them because
of the splines popping off under load. I hate to waste an 8611a on throttle
and choke.

JDS


cap10b is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 08:18 PM
  #9
mrbigg
 
mrbigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Streator, IL
Posts: 4,776
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???

I have some 8611's laying around. I would like to swap one in just to see the speed difference. I just have a 148 on there now.
mrbigg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 09:06 PM
  #10
Nogyro
 
Nogyro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Puryear, TN
Posts: 2,712
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???

I"ve used 148's before, and now I'm using a Hitec 545 I believe the number is. It's a 5 pole motor analog servo with nylon gears. Centers very well...Over 300 flight on the 545 with no problems.
Nogyro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 09:15 PM
  #11
nonstoprc
 
nonstoprc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central, TX
Posts: 2,456
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???

Make sure the prop and spinner are balanced.
nonstoprc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 09:27 PM
  #12
Charley
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kerrville, TX
Posts: 2,040
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???


Maybe you should think about a ignition kill switch for the future.

CR
Charley is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 11:37 PM
  #13
bzyguy01
Thread Starter
 
bzyguy01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Peoria , AZ
Posts: 497
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Charley


Maybe you should think about a ignition kill switch for the future.

CR
You can say that again!!! Live and learn. School of hard nox!
bzyguy01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 11:41 PM
  #14
bzyguy01
Thread Starter
 
bzyguy01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Peoria , AZ
Posts: 497
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???

Yeah....It was good but the engine is a Brison single cylinder 100cc! She's a shaker! Big difference from my twins or even my g62 singles.....The brison makes fairly good power tho. I'm sure I will need to pick the very best option in this perticular bird with the Brison. I was shocked that all it took was one flight to kill that digital servo.
bzyguy01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 11:45 PM
  #15
bzyguy01
Thread Starter
 
bzyguy01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Peoria , AZ
Posts: 497
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???


Quote:
ORIGINAL: mrbigg

Anyone running standard digitals? with nylon gears?
Thats basically what I had in my bird. It was a standard spektrum digital with nylon gears. It failed within one flight.
bzyguy01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 01:05 AM
  #16
Tired Old Man
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Valley Springs, CA
Posts: 18,602
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???

I've run from Hitec 225 mg's up to JR 8611's for metal geared, and JR 4721 and 8411 for nylon geared. No throttle servo failures to date. In performance I prefer the coreless or the digitals because the throttle and the flight surfaces are similarly timed. With the analogs I note a lag betwen the throttle response and the surface responses. Seems I can never get the two in sync with the analogs. The small mini servos that are used for electrics are definately a no go.

As for increased battery drain with a digital throttle servo, just how much of an increase are we talking about here? If I can get 4 to 5 flights a day over a couple of days out of a single 4,800mAh flight lithion and a 2,400mAh ignition lithion who cares about the difference? I have to charge the mini battery JR puts in the 9303 long before I have to charge the plane.
Tired Old Man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 07:37 AM
  #17
JoeAirPort
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 10,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???

I like Hitec 5945's. Got them in two planes and work great (one of them for a year, many many flights on a ZDZ 50 NG).
JoeAirPort is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 12:28 PM
  #18
StevL
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 503
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???


Quote:
ORIGINAL: BaldEagel

If you read the advice given by Quique Simozimi he reccomends not using digital servos, because of thier constant referencing back to the servo position and therefore draining the battery uneccesaraly, he reccomends a good analog servo.

Mike
I don’t think its battery drain alone. A digital servo for a lack of better description has for example a hundred positions for the 60 degrees of throw. An analog servo has an infinite amount of positions.

This relates; kind of like the heli guys would never use a ratchet throttle on their radios, and a lot of 3d airplane pilots don’t use the ratchet either.
StevL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 06:42 PM
  #19
JoeAirPort
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 10,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???

I don't see that excess drain at all with digital servos on the throttle. Also there are no infinite positions with anything unless you have a analog transmitter (if one exists). Our transmitters and receivers only have so many steps in position (resolution). Lastly the analog servo is only so precise so the infinite positions is limited by the servo error. Even analog sytems have error. I would bet that the digital servo is more precise than an analog unless the analog is a really good quality one (i.e precise).



JoeAirPort is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 07:57 PM
  #20
Tired Old Man
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Valley Springs, CA
Posts: 18,602
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???

Which is one of several reasons we went to "digital" servos in the first place. Better resolution, better centering, higher starting and holding torque, and consistent speeds. You don't need a digital on a throttle, but I sure notice the lag when I don't have one.
Tired Old Man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 09:03 PM
  #21
altavillan
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Altaville, CA
Posts: 1,416
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXLN95&P=0 My currant throttle servo of choice. Excelent speed. Very little gear lash. And acording to Tower the SMT is for high vibration environment.
altavillan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 10:42 PM
  #22
JoeAirPort
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 10,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???


Quote:
ORIGINAL: altavillan

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXLN95&P=0 My currant throttle servo of choice. Excelent speed. Very little gear lash. And acording to Tower the SMT is for high vibration environment.
I wonder if this is just the Hitec 5245 with a Hobbico sticker?
JoeAirPort is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2007, 12:13 AM
  #23
skreamer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: colorado springs, CO
Posts: 145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???

I have used 645 mg 5945mg and one nylon. The nylon worked for 4 flights. I always use metal gear servos now and lately Digital servos only, throttle and choke as I use the choke as my second method of shutting off the engine. This came in really handy when my throttle servo went to sh8t.
skreamer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2007, 07:46 AM
  #24
JoeAirPort
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 10,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???

I used to use the Hitec 5245 mini MG but I realized that I didn't want to lose a throttle servo ever so I went with the 5945 for the added insurance. I doubt I will ever lose my throttle control with one of these.
JoeAirPort is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2007, 08:23 AM
  #25
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gasser Throttle Servo???

I hope you have not got a reed induction engine, because if you use the choke often as a means of cutting the engine you will fray the reeds, also with the engine on WOT you could hydrolock the engine which could bend the conrod, this is posted just for information.

Mike
BaldEagel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:12 AM.