Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Sachs gas engine

Reply
Old 01-06-2008, 01:00 PM
  #1
TedMo
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sun City Center, FL
Posts: 1,270
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Sachs gas engine

I have an old Sachs 3.2 gas engine that I need a carburator for. Thus far I have not found a place to obtain one. The carb does not have any identifying numbers of any kind only that it is a Walbro. I had used this motor very successfully but that was about 15 years ago. It will run on a prime but will not draw fuel at all. Have had the screen cleaned but don't know how to disassemble it. Have not been able to locate the company A&M aircraft that had distributed it nor the Sachs company at all. Any info will be much appreciated.
TedMo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 01:07 PM
  #2
Rcpilot
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Arvada, CO
Posts: 7,732
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine

Take the engine to any small engine repair shop and tell them you want a REBUILD KIT for the carb. When you have that, post back here and I'll tell you exactly how to rebuild it--step by step. It's not hard, but you do have to pay attention about how you take it apart and put it back together.

FYI- Most Walbro carbs will have identifying numbers stamped into the casting right next to the high and low speed needles.
EXAMPLE:
HDA 137
HDA 148
WT 210

etc....

If you don't want to rebuild it, you can probably buy a new one from the small engine shop. The key thing to consider is where the throttle and choke arms are. That way you can get your throttle pushrod hooked up. You als need to buy a cab with the same size venturi. Too big and it won't run past 1/2 throttle. Too small and it will starve on the top end.

The venturi size is stamped into the throat of the carb--usually right behind the choke plate. You'll have to look closely--the numbers are small and difficult to spot the first time. It will be a 2 digit number. That number is representative of the venturi size in 64th of an inch. For example:
If it says 38 inside the throat--then you have a 38/64" venturi. You could go up or down by 2, but anything more or less than that could cause problems. Not always, but since you're not a carb expert--play it safe and buy the same size.
Rcpilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 03:54 PM
  #3
Tired Old Man
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Valley Springs, CA
Posts: 18,602
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine

Pick up a WT 201 Walbro at a saw and mower shop and go fly. A&M has been history for a long time. CH Ignitions, RC ignitions, and Taurus Engines will service the engine if needed. The new Brison company in Canada will have most of any new parts you may need. The early Brison company bought out the A&M designs and built on it from there. Sachs was bought out by Makita long time ago. If you need a new head the ones made by Mahle are the best by a long shot, but expensive.
Tired Old Man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 04:16 PM
  #4
TLH101
 
TLH101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Elephant Butte, N.M.
Posts: 6,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine

Orginal carb for an A&M 3.2 is a WT-76, or 76A. The number on this carb is on the side, right next to the fuel inlet nipple.
If you get a rebuild kit for a WAT carb, it will have the needed parts.
BTW, the parts (piston, cylinder, carb, etc) are from Sachs Dolmar 111, or 115 saw.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Us54610.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	35.7 KB
ID:	844034  
TLH101 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 05:08 PM
  #5
Tired Old Man
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Valley Springs, CA
Posts: 18,602
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine

Damn, I thought it was a 201. Must be suffering a case of crs
Tired Old Man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 05:42 PM
  #6
TLH101
 
TLH101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Elephant Butte, N.M.
Posts: 6,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine

I sometimes get crs............I think.
TLH101 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 07:54 PM
  #7
tim220225
 
tim220225's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 1,005
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine

Pat I use the 201 on a 44 and 50cc Echo conversion, same one as stock on a BME. Easy to come by too.
tim220225 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 09:51 PM
  #8
buck1856
 
buck1856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Superior, AZ
Posts: 1,147
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine

heres a pic of my A&M sachs i just rebuilt all from sachs model 115 chain saw parts.if you really need extra parts give me a shout as i have a connection thats a dealer.the first thing would go to a saw shop as mentioned earlier by rcpilot.mine is after i removed the old mechanical advanc,made a sensor ring to hold the magnet out of a used flywheel from ebay,then installed a rcexl ign with advance.muffler came from ken lambert.crank seal came from boca bearing.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Mk26948.jpg
Views:	146
Size:	56.5 KB
ID:	844350  
buck1856 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 02:57 PM
  #9
rcchuck
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wimauma, FL
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine


Quote:
ORIGINAL: buck1856

heres a pic of my A&M sachs i just rebuilt all from sachs model 115 chain saw parts.if you really need extra parts give me a shout as i have a connection thats a dealer.the first thing would go to a saw shop as mentioned earlier by rcpilot.mine is after i removed the old mechanical advanc,made a sensor ring to hold the magnet out of a used flywheel from ebay,then installed a rcexl ign with advance.muffler came from ken lambert.crank seal came from boca bearing.
I`m in the need of a cylinger & piston for a Sachs 3`2 and a muffler that would keep the db`s under 96
e-mail Cfeuerbacher@tampabay.rr.com
rcchuck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 12:59 PM
  #10
conrailer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: PARMA HEIGHTS, OH
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine

My Brison 2.4 and I understand the 3.2 motors have 76A on the carbs, however they have WT-551 as the Walbro part #. I think The Sachs motors are the same as Brisons.
conrailer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 07:14 PM
  #11
crash3720
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Muskegon, MI
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine

what fuel mixture does a 4.2 Sacks use? where can you get parts. do they have a web site?
crash3720 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 10:26 PM
  #12
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,874
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine


Quote:
ORIGINAL: buck1856

heres a pic of my A&M sachs i just rebuilt all from sachs model 115 chain saw parts.if you really need extra parts give me a shout as i have a connection thats a dealer.the first thing would go to a saw shop as mentioned earlier by rcpilot.mine is after i removed the old mechanical advanc,made a sensor ring to hold the magnet out of a used flywheel from ebay,then installed a rcexl ign with advance.muffler came from ken lambert.crank seal came from boca bearing.
QUESTION...buck1856, what is the cc or c.i. of this engine? Thanks Capt,n
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 11:47 PM
  #13
buck1856
 
buck1856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Superior, AZ
Posts: 1,147
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine

3.2 or 52cc.This is for captn
Crash,not sure what you mean by mixture.Any sachs dolmar dealer will have parts.Look at the numbers on the cylinder.The first 2 numbers on my 3.2 are 44ZN,that means 44mm.So its a 44mm jug,piston,and rings.I only know what models are for the 3.2.But if ya take the cylinder or engine to the repair shop or call a repair shop and give them the numbers off the cylinder they can get ya parts.My dealer lost his dealer license with sachs because he wouldnt build a new 1 million dollar showroom and repair shop.I do have another source if needed.ill post back.
conrailer,brison took over when A&M failed as my understanding.My 3.2 has WT-76A on it.I have a replacement but its not that number.
buck1856 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 10:09 AM
  #14
fj11
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine

I have a Sachs 4.2 that i need a front crank seal for it.
I have been told that there is a seal thats suppose to be there.
There is no seal there.
does anyone know where i can get one?
fj11 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 11:23 AM
  #15
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,526
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine

Does it run?
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 05:55 PM
  #16
fj11
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine

yes
i think it will be lean on its fuel and air mix.
i know its not right.
i think it will be running lean without the seal
It blows out pressure on the down stroke of the piston when you turn it over.
fj11 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 07:36 PM
  #17
jack19345
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Marietta, OK
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine


Quote:
ORIGINAL: fj11

yes
i think it will be lean on its fuel and air mix.
i know its not right.
i think it will be running lean without the seal
It blows out pressure on the down stroke of the piston when you turn it over.
It certainly will run lean, if at all, measure the seal and purchase it from a bearing company. If you cannot measure it, take the engine to a bearing company, they will get you the right seal. If all this is impossible, you will have to send it to a small engine repair shop to fit the seal.
jack19345 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 09:59 PM
  #18
45AIRPLANE
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: , GA
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine

DOES ANYONE KNOW WHERE I CAN PURCHASE A PITTS STYLE MUFFLER FOR A A&M SACHS 3.2 / 50CC ENGINE. OR MAYBE BUILD ONE TO FIT IN GS TOP FLITE P-51
45AIRPLANE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 10:03 PM
  #19
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,526
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine

http://www.jtecrc.com/brisonwraparound.htm
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 10:32 PM
  #20
GreaTOne_65
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Webberville, MI
Posts: 411
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine

Good luck, with that. I put a 3.2 Sachs in my TP Mustang, and there isn't any way it will fit, unless your willing to cut the front of the plane up to make it fit.
I had to use a B&B on mine, but if you cut the pipes short, at 100 mph and 100 ft off the ground you will never notice. I'm not sure about the 100 mph, but I can truthfully say, it's at least 20 mph faster than my PAU Edge, and I know that goes 98.5.
GreaTOne_65 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 11:44 AM
  #21
45AIRPLANE
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: , GA
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine

THANKS FOR ALL THE INFO. I KNOW THE TF P-51 WAS BUILT AROUND A US 41. I KNOW IT'S HARD TO FIND A GOOD ONE IF YOU CAN FIND ONE AT ALL. I'M NOT TO THE POINT I CAN'T CHANGE THINGS AROUND. I ALSO THOUGHT ABOUT TAKING THE TIME TO MAKE MY OWN MUFFLER OUT OF BRASS AND COPPER TUBING ?
45AIRPLANE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 01:07 PM
  #22
crash3720
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Muskegon, MI
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine


Quote:
ORIGINAL: 45AIRPLANE

THANKS FOR ALL THE INFO. I KNOW THE TF P-51 WAS BUILT AROUND A US 41. I KNOW IT'S HARD TO FIND A GOOD ONE IF YOU CAN FIND ONE AT ALL. I'M NOT TO THE POINT I CAN'T CHANGE THINGS AROUND. I ALSO THOUGHT ABOUT TAKING THE TIME TO MAKE MY OWN MUFFLER OUT OF BRASS AND COPPER TUBING ?
I have a US41 engine, in great shape, very little time on it. If interested please contact me
crash3720 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 03:44 PM
  #23
GreaTOne_65
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Webberville, MI
Posts: 411
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine

45, you can try, but there really isn't much width to play with. I will post a picture of my Mustang. Not sure if you can see it very well, but this is the muffler side.

No offense, meant, crash, but I've seen 2 Mustangs with the 41, and boy, they were under powered. My 3.2 really hauls mine around, almost to fast.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw68427.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	153.3 KB
ID:	1377990  
GreaTOne_65 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 09:47 PM
  #24
45AIRPLANE
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: , GA
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine

THANKS FOR THE INFO, JETECRC IS BUILDIND A MUFFLER FO THE SACHS 3.3 CC TO FIT IN THE GS P-51
45AIRPLANE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 12:53 PM
  #25
reelmany
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Louisa, VA
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sachs gas engine

I have a 3.2 Sachs and I want to remove the mechanical advance and replace it with an electronic sensor like you did. How do you remove the mechanical advance and what kind of flywheel did you use to make the mount for the electronic sensor. Any tips you can provide would really be appreciated. So much easier to do things when you have some idea of how to do them. Thanks.
reelmany is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:05 PM.