Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 183 of 210 FirstFirst ... 83133173181182183184185193 ... LastLast
Results 4,551 to 4,575 of 5232

Thread: DLE30!


  1. #4551

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hesperia Michigan, MI
    Posts
    12,360
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!


    ORIGINAL: kerwin50

    Well I'm having a problem, I plugged in my rudder only, put the battery next to the rx and plugged it into the rx. so everything was at least 18 inchs apart.
    operating the throttle manualy. I"m still getting rf interference.
    The cap goes down to the compression ring.
    Today the engine seemed to cut out some
    I read a battery next to the RX can be a problem....if the battery is a noisy one! Try moving the battery away from other wires or rec. The current in the battery wires alsocan induce unwanted emf into other close-by gear. Just start moving things around to see if it helps. Nothing to loose. Capt,n
    I never met a engine I did not like !

  2. #4552
    vertical grimmace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    ft collins , CO
    Posts
    5,687
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    How many have been cut by those dang spark plug caps? I gave myself a doozy from my DL 50 last summer that took weeks to heal. Be carefull with thos sharp flanges. That needs a design change I believe. IMO
    \"let\'\'\'\'s just say, they will be satisfied with less\" Ming the Merciless

  3. #4553

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hesperia Michigan, MI
    Posts
    12,360
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    That sharp edge can be removed with a dremel tool. Also toss the cir-clip...grind the ridge off about where the hex is. Then you can place a worm gear quality hose clamp around the cap so when you tighten it in place it willstay there. To remove just lossen screw on clamp & the cap slips off easy. No fuss....no muss ! Too re-install just slip in place with one hand & tighten clamp with the oher hand. Capt,n
    I never met a engine I did not like !

  4. #4554
    vertical grimmace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    ft collins , CO
    Posts
    5,687
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    Well, the Triplane is all wrapped up now. It used to have a Saito 180, and now a DLE 30. It has tuned out very nicely and I also have installed a TME smoke system. Going out for the maiden with all of this new stuff. Always a little nerve wracking with this large of an over haul, but that is what makes this fun, right! Even though I am looking forward to a clean gas exhaust, the smoke oil seems to be almost as bad as glow. We shall see though.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ki20705.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	230.3 KB 
ID:	1591467  
    \"let\'\'\'\'s just say, they will be satisfied with less\" Ming the Merciless

  5. #4555

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hesperia Michigan, MI
    Posts
    12,360
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    vertical grimmance, how is the Triplane flying now. Thanks Capt,n
    I never met a engine I did not like !

  6. #4556
    vertical grimmace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    ft collins , CO
    Posts
    5,687
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    The wind was a killer this weekend. I will try to get a flight in this week. For sure I have more power, and I think it will work just fine. The vibration is still an issue to some degree. We shall see.
    \"let\'\'\'\'s just say, they will be satisfied with less\" Ming the Merciless

  7. #4557

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hesperia Michigan, MI
    Posts
    12,360
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    With any engine that has a RPM band where it viabrates more...avoid that RPM as much as possible. Also be sure & check engine mounting bolts for tightness and also check all fittings on the tail of airplane a lot at first. You will learn how to overcome this viabration in time. Best Regards, Capt,n
    I never met a engine I did not like !

  8. #4558
    VF84sluggo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Gulf Breeze, FL
    Posts
    2,191
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    Started my brand new DLE30 for the first time a little while ago. It fired right up, no problem at all. I have been chasing the needles around a little, but from what I gather in this thread, that is to be expected for the first hour or so. I also have that black exhaust mess that I've seen some posts about.

    Right now I've only run the engine for about 15 minutes, but I cannot seem to get rid of a little bit of a stumble once the throttle has increased from idle. It goes away and the engine runs steady at mid to full throttle. Throttling back, I get the stumbling at what I'm guessing would be a landing approach throttle position. The engine doesn't quit, and at idle it is smooth again.

    Any suggestions, as well as any other break-in advice, will be appreciated.

    EDIT:
    Upon further reading of this thread, it seems a bit of burble/stumble from 1/4 to 1/2 power is normal. Looks like I've been chasing around a non-problem. I did validate TOM's post about a too lean idle needle will keep the engine from stopping with the throttle fully at the idle stop. I richened that back up to where my engine quits at "full idle."

  9. #4559

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Camperdown Victoria, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    48
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    Just tried to install a pitts muffler from DLE Australia on my DLE 30 and with the engine mounted on the standard standoffs the muffler wont fit because it further aft than the engine mounts. Does anyone know of a pitts muffler for the DLE 30 that is more compact.[link]http://www.dlenginesaustralia.com/dlshop/index.php?_a=viewProd&productId=354[/link]

  10. #4560

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Ocala, FL
    Posts
    160
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    Bisson sells one for the DLE 30. I have not tried it so not sure
    if it is more compact. Bisson #10500.

  11. #4561

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Ocala, FL
    Posts
    160
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    JTEC also has one but both the Bisson & the JTEC look like the
    "can" extends back beyond the standard mounts. Both of these
    companies will makeup a muffler to your specs. this I know
    because they have done it for me.

  12. #4562

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Kalispell, MT
    Posts
    54
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    I have the Bisson pitts on my DLE 30. It does not hit the firewall, there is a small gap between the can firewall.

  13. #4563
    2robinhood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Egg Harbor City, NJ
    Posts
    760
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    Hey guys,
    My brother just bought a DLE-30 and he is putting it in a Goldberg Sukhoi.
    I am figuring is should be in the 12 lb. range.
    What prop would be a good one for him to get.
    I was thinking of a Xoar 18 X 8.

  14. #4564

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Ocala, FL
    Posts
    160
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    I have a GP YAK54 at 12.5 lbs with DLE30 swinging a Xoar 18x10.
    I am happy but I am 72 and not a "hot dog" pilot. (Oh for the
    good ole days when my hands did not cramp and my eyes were good)

  15. #4565

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hesperia Michigan, MI
    Posts
    12,360
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    I liked the 20x6 Master Airscrew wood the best. Made in Italy and are great for climb-out and gives a lower landing speed. Capt,n
    I never met a engine I did not like !

  16. #4566
    Cyberwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Blackfoot , ID
    Posts
    2,111
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    I have the DLE-30 in one of my GB sukhois and use the xoar 18x8 Laminatetd, but I think I will change it this year to 19x6 or 20x6 and see what that does, my plane is a little on the heavy side at 12-1/2 lbs but the 30 handles it ok for this alt and weight.
    I think that either prop will due as Cap says and give it a little slower landing speed, as for better pull out well that is always a plus on any plane IMO.
    If you can\'\'t fix it with a hammer, you\'\'ve got an electrical problem.

  17. #4567

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Tisdale, SK, CANADA
    Posts
    19
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    who makes a good biplane for the dle30. i have a new dle30 that needs a home

    thanks brad

  18. #4568

  19. #4569

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Dubai, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
    Posts
    34
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    I have seen that Great Planes are about to introduce the Waco YMF 5D biplane. Looks to be a realy nice plane and great colour scheme. The instructions also give details to fit the DLE 30. I am contemplating this combination if I have trouble in getting the ESM Hurricane 82" from the USA. Tower Hobbies indicate the Waco is available early June. Hope this helps. Safe landings from a warm Dubai.

  20. #4570

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Freeport, BAHAMAS
    Posts
    1,159
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    Cost a pretty penny, but this would be a nice home for your DLE 30cc.
    http://www.aero-works.net/store/detail.aspx?ID=396
    If you think you can or think you can\'\'\'\'t, you\'\'\'\'re right.

  21. #4571

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    MIDLAND, TX
    Posts
    468
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    Sty181 Nitro planes 120 Ultimate is also one to look at. i had a 26 in mine and had planed on putting the 30 in it. I dumb it into the ground before I got to it. Knife edge just a little too close to the ground. Great flying plane.

  22. #4572

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Freeport, BAHAMAS
    Posts
    1,159
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    FOOPED, is this the NP 120 Ultimate?
    http://www.nitroplanes.com/ul12055nigas.html
    If you think you can or think you can\'\'\'\'t, you\'\'\'\'re right.

  23. #4573

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vail, AZ
    Posts
    381
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    Kangke USA has a good looking Waco as well. I'm just starting the build of mine and plan on having a DLE-30 pull it around.
    Stangevil29

  24. #4574

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hesperia Michigan, MI
    Posts
    12,360
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    I flew my Giles G202 again today. It really does fly nice. I am glad I checked the fuel line in tank...it was just split bad right here it slips on brass tube inside tank. No more Hayes fuel ine for me. It was the 2nd batch from Tower H that went bad. JUNK. Capt,n
    I never met a engine I did not like !

  25. #4575

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sault Ste. Marie, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    48
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    captinjohn

    What size and type , brand , of fuel line works best for the DLE 30 and 20 . I have both in projects
    and have bought Hayes from Tower for inside the tank , because it was reported to stay flexible for
    the longest time . Mistake ?


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:46 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.