Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

DLE30!

Reply
Old 04-08-2011, 05:21 PM
  #4551
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,887
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: kerwin50

Well I'm having a problem, I plugged in my rudder only, put the battery next to the rx and plugged it into the rx. so everything was at least 18 inchs apart.
operating the throttle manualy. I"m still getting rf interference.
The cap goes down to the compression ring.
Today the engine seemed to cut out some
I read a battery next to the RX can be a problem....if the battery is a noisy one! Try moving the battery away from other wires or rec. The current in the battery wires alsocan induce unwanted emf into other close-by gear. Just start moving things around to see if it helps. Nothing to loose. Capt,n
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 06:09 PM
  #4552
vertical grimmace
 
vertical grimmace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ft collins , CO
Posts: 7,148
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

How many have been cut by those dang spark plug caps? I gave myself a doozy from my DL 50 last summer that took weeks to heal. Be carefull with thos sharp flanges. That needs a design change I believe. IMO
vertical grimmace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 06:46 PM
  #4553
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,887
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

That sharp edge can be removed with a dremel tool. Also toss the cir-clip...grind the ridge off about where the hex is. Then you can place a worm gear quality hose clamp around the cap so when you tighten it in place it willstay there. To remove just lossen screw on clamp & the cap slips off easy. No fuss....no muss ! Too re-install just slip in place with one hand & tighten clamp with the oher hand. Capt,n
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 12:42 PM
  #4554
vertical grimmace
 
vertical grimmace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ft collins , CO
Posts: 7,148
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

Well, the Triplane is all wrapped up now. It used to have a Saito 180, and now a DLE 30. It has tuned out very nicely and I also have installed a TME smoke system. Going out for the maiden with all of this new stuff. Always a little nerve wracking with this large of an over haul, but that is what makes this fun, right! Even though I am looking forward to a clean gas exhaust, the smoke oil seems to be almost as bad as glow. We shall see though.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki20705.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	230.3 KB
ID:	1591467  
vertical grimmace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 06:46 AM
  #4555
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,887
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

vertical grimmance, how is the Triplane flying now. Thanks Capt,n
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 07:36 AM
  #4556
vertical grimmace
 
vertical grimmace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ft collins , CO
Posts: 7,148
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

The wind was a killer this weekend. I will try to get a flight in this week. For sure I have more power, and I think it will work just fine. The vibration is still an issue to some degree. We shall see.
vertical grimmace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 01:55 PM
  #4557
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,887
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

With any engine that has a RPM band where it viabrates more...avoid that RPM as much as possible. Also be sure & check engine mounting bolts for tightness and also check all fittings on the tail of airplane a lot at first. You will learn how to overcome this viabration in time. Best Regards, Capt,n
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 10:47 AM
  #4558
VF84sluggo
 
VF84sluggo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 2,367
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

Started my brand new DLE30 for the first time a little while ago. It fired right up, no problem at all. I have been chasing the needles around a little, but from what I gather in this thread, that is to be expected for the first hour or so. I also have that black exhaust mess that I've seen some posts about.

Right now I've only run the engine for about 15 minutes, but I cannot seem to get rid of a little bit of a stumble once the throttle has increased from idle. It goes away and the engine runs steady at mid to full throttle. Throttling back, I get the stumbling at what I'm guessing would be a landing approach throttle position. The engine doesn't quit, and at idle it is smooth again.

Any suggestions, as well as any other break-in advice, will be appreciated.

EDIT:
Upon further reading of this thread, it seems a bit of burble/stumble from 1/4 to 1/2 power is normal. Looks like I've been chasing around a non-problem. I did validate TOM's post about a too lean idle needle will keep the engine from stopping with the throttle fully at the idle stop. I richened that back up to where my engine quits at "full idle."
VF84sluggo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 02:54 AM
  #4559
bgee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Camperdown Victoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 50
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

Just tried to install a pitts muffler from DLE Australia on my DLE 30 and with the engine mounted on the standard standoffs the muffler wont fit because it further aft than the engine mounts. Does anyone know of a pitts muffler for the DLE 30 that is more compact.[link]http://www.dlenginesaustralia.com/dlshop/index.php?_a=viewProd&productId=354[/link]
bgee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 03:55 AM
  #4560
repinfl
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 166
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

Bisson sells one for the DLE 30. I have not tried it so not sure
if it is more compact. Bisson #10500.
repinfl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 04:13 AM
  #4561
repinfl
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 166
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

JTEC also has one but both the Bisson & the JTEC look like the
"can" extends back beyond the standard mounts. Both of these
companies will makeup a muffler to your specs. this I know
because they have done it for me.
repinfl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 12:03 PM
  #4562
planebow
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kalispell, MT
Posts: 54
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

I have the Bisson pitts on my DLE 30. It does not hit the firewall, there is a small gap between the can firewall.
planebow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 12:40 PM
  #4563
2robinhood
 
2robinhood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Egg Harbor City, NJ
Posts: 760
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

Hey guys,
My brother just bought a DLE-30 and he is putting it in a Goldberg Sukhoi.
I am figuring is should be in the 12 lb. range.
What prop would be a good one for him to get.
I was thinking of a Xoar 18 X 8.
2robinhood is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 12:57 PM
  #4564
repinfl
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 166
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

I have a GP YAK54 at 12.5 lbs with DLE30 swinging a Xoar 18x10.
I am happy but I am 72 and not a "hot dog" pilot. (Oh for the
good ole days when my hands did not cramp and my eyes were good)
repinfl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 02:23 PM
  #4565
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,887
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

I liked the 20x6 Master Airscrew wood the best. Made in Italy and are great for climb-out and gives a lower landing speed. Capt,n
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 05:29 PM
  #4566
Cyberwolf
 
Cyberwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Blackfoot , ID
Posts: 2,247
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

I have the DLE-30 in one of my GB sukhois and use the xoar 18x8 Laminatetd, but I think I will change it this year to 19x6 or 20x6 and see what that does, my plane is a little on the heavy side at 12-1/2 lbs but the 30 handles it ok for this alt and weight.
I think that either prop will due as Cap says and give it a little slower landing speed, as for better pull out well that is always a plus on any plane IMO.
Cyberwolf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 12:36 PM
  #4567
sty181
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tisdale, SK, CANADA
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

who makes a good biplane for the dle30. i have a new dle30 that needs a home

thanks brad
sty181 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 03:57 AM
  #4568
SkyPilot101
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Freedom, PA
Posts: 574
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_10207856/tm.htm
SkyPilot101 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 03:59 AM
  #4569
rogera
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dubai, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Posts: 34
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

I have seen that Great Planes are about to introduce the Waco YMF 5D biplane. Looks to be a realy nice plane and great colour scheme. The instructions also give details to fit the DLE 30. I am contemplating this combination if I have trouble in getting the ESM Hurricane 82" from the USA. Tower Hobbies indicate the Waco is available early June. Hope this helps. Safe landings from a warm Dubai.
rogera is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 06:51 AM
  #4570
airborne2.4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Freeport, BAHAMAS
Posts: 1,174
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

Cost a pretty penny, but this would be a nice home for your DLE 30cc.
http://www.aero-works.net/store/detail.aspx?ID=396
airborne2.4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 10:13 AM
  #4571
FOOPED
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: MIDLAND, TX
Posts: 473
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

Sty181 Nitro planes 120 Ultimate is also one to look at. i had a 26 in mine and had planed on putting the 30 in it. I dumb it into the ground before I got to it. Knife edge just a little too close to the ground. Great flying plane.
FOOPED is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 11:42 AM
  #4572
airborne2.4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Freeport, BAHAMAS
Posts: 1,174
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

FOOPED, is this the NP 120 Ultimate?
http://www.nitroplanes.com/ul12055nigas.html
airborne2.4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 01:47 PM
  #4573
stangevil29
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Vail, AZ
Posts: 381
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

Kangke USA has a good looking Waco as well. I'm just starting the build of mine and plan on having a DLE-30 pull it around.
stangevil29 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 06:32 PM
  #4574
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,887
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

I flew my Giles G202 again today. It really does fly nice. I am glad I checked the fuel line in tank...it was just split bad right here it slips on brass tube inside tank. No more Hayes fuel ine for me. It was the 2nd batch from Tower H that went bad. JUNK. Capt,n
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 06:51 PM
  #4575
outlander
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sault Ste. Marie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 49
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

captinjohn

What size and type , brand , of fuel line works best for the DLE 30 and 20 . I have both in projects
and have bought Hayes from Tower for inside the tank , because it was reported to stay flexible for
the longest time . Mistake ?
outlander is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:57 AM.