Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 202 of 210 FirstFirst ... 102152192200201202203204 ... LastLast
Results 5,026 to 5,050 of 5232

Thread: DLE30!


  1. #5026

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mona, UT
    Posts
    27
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    Thanx CMPTRGUY. I think that will make the setup a lot easier.
    Rod
    Club Saito #803

  2. #5027

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hesperia Michigan, MI
    Posts
    12,359
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    Deleted
    I never met a engine I did not like !

  3. #5028

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Freedom, PA
    Posts
    530
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!


    ORIGINAL: ricochet59

    Hi all, I could use some help. This is my first gas engine, read through this thread and others. I'm putting the DLE30 in a Seagull Spacewalker 120. The choke seems a little stiff, so I'm using a Hitec 645 servo (metal gear, high torque, analog). There is about a 2'' drop from the engine to the servo tray. I was thinking of using Sullivan 4-40 Nyrods (or similar), but the 4-40 I don't think would bend enough. My other thought was to use metal pushrods on the throttle and choke, and use Dubro ball links on the engine end. Is this enough to separate the metal to prevent RF interference. Any help and ideas would be greatly appreciated.
    Rod
    Stiff Choke??? In my experience anyway, the choke on the 20 & 30 were a little stiff out of the box, oil the brass choke shaft were it passes through the carb body, and work it open & closed awhile, should loosen right up. The pre-mix should keep it lubed from there.....

  4. #5029

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mona, UT
    Posts
    27
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    Thanx for the tip, I'll try that when I get home in July.
    Club Saito #803

  5. #5030

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    White Oak, TX
    Posts
    2,108
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!


    ORIGINAL: ricochet59

    Hi all, I could use some help. This is my first gas engine, read through this thread and others. I'm putting the DLE30 in a Seagull Spacewalker 120. The choke seems a little stiff, so I'm using a Hitec 645 servo (metal gear, high torque, analog). There is about a 2'' drop from the engine to the servo tray. I was thinking of using Sullivan 4-40 Nyrods (or similar), but the 4-40 I don't think would bend enough. My other thought was to use metal pushrods on the throttle and choke, and use Dubro ball links on the engine end. Is this enough to separate the metal to prevent RF interference. Any help and ideas would be greatly appreciated.
    Rod
    Yes... it should be adequate separation.

    btw... don't put the Seagull Spacewalker into a flat spin with CG on recommended position.

  6. #5031

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Posts
    46
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    Ok its been a while with IMAC and work I finally got to work on my dle 30 increased plug gap to .024" no luck, on the ground it seemed to be ok but once in the air the miss would come back, played with the hall sensor still no luck. My next thought is to change out the ignition with a known good one which I have since I'm building a 3DHS extra with a dle 30 that I know does not have a miss.

  7. #5032

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    kayseri, TURKEY
    Posts
    36
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    dear friends I m sorry if you have talked this before..I have dle 30 cc I live 1800 metres( nearly 600o feet) above sea level..we have no humidity problem here....so can I use gasolineil mixture(hidden in a well closed box in a cold area)  1 weeks after I have mixed it..?and is it different for mineral and synthtetic oil mixture ?

  8. #5033
    Moderator w8ye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Shelby, OH
    Posts
    37,022
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    The length of time that a gasoline - oil mixtures keep in different locations of the world varies.

    You are just going to store it best you can and see how it runs yourself?
    Attended the CutFinger Institute of DirtNap University for years but never did graduate....
    Recipient, Mangledhand award August 2008
    Club Saito Member #7
    Original AMA #31261

  9. #5034
    F4U Corsair's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Lawrenceburg, IN
    Posts
    476
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    Question lost by gas essay below, reposted below it. Thanks, DG
    Experience is something you aquire after you need it!

  10. #5035

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hesperia Michigan, MI
    Posts
    12,359
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!


    I never met a engine I did not like !

  11. #5036

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB, CANADA
    Posts
    585
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    Holy molly that took me a long time to read but was well worth it. I can't tell you how many times I have been at party's and the topic of Turkey oil comes up. Now I'll sound like a pro.

  12. #5037
    F4U Corsair's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Lawrenceburg, IN
    Posts
    476
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    Guys can a Master Airscrew 3-blade composite prop be used with a DLE30? The DLE requires 4 small prop bolt holes to be drilled, and looking at the rear of the prop there is a a circle that is milled/molded that is void of any material to drill into. Should you fill this area with epoxy or just leave it not as thick in this area as the rest of the prop hub? Also, the 4 mounting bolt holes are just outside these voids so it may be hard to drill. Anyone done this with a 70" warbird? I broke the engine in with a 18x8 xoar, but would like more prop ground clearance and a more scale look. Also, I saw some 1-3/4" prop spinners sold by Miracle that fit a DLE30 and mount with a single screw into the center hole on the DLE hub. Anyone know what is the size thread for the internal hub on the DLE30? Thanks, DG
    Experience is something you aquire after you need it!

  13. #5038
    cmptrguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Hayden, ID
    Posts
    50
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    Buy a single bolt adapter from valley View for the DLE-30 the bolt is 10MM.

    CMPTRGUY

  14. #5039

    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    wilmington, MA
    Posts
    820
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    swaping out my jc 28 for dle 30. mounting holes for jc 28 are 68 mm apart. holes for dle 30 are 70mm. do i really have to try to move holes (blind nuts) 1mm each ? larry

  15. #5040
    Moderator w8ye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Shelby, OH
    Posts
    37,022
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    If not you will place the stand-offs in a bind and break the case in the long run.
    Attended the CutFinger Institute of DirtNap University for years but never did graduate....
    Recipient, Mangledhand award August 2008
    Club Saito Member #7
    Original AMA #31261

  16. #5041

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hesperia Michigan, MI
    Posts
    12,359
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    This thread should be good to go now....not sure. Capt,n
    I never met a engine I did not like !

  17. #5042

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    945
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    Ive got my DLE30 on the way from Redwing RC along with my MX2.

    The DLE20 thread is at 220 somethin' pages and still going strong. Looks like DLE is becoming quite the favorite. I like to buy american, but being a working class american, its tough to afford it. Itd be nice to see the US companies come down a bit in price so we can afford them. Im not saying the same price as the Chinese companies, but closer to be competitive.

    I dont know if they are really that much more expensive, or they make their money from charging more from each unit, rather than selling more units. I know they do have a loyal following that is willing and able to pay the big bucks. And Im sure that's all they need to stay in business. There are guys in here that have more inside knowledge than I do.

    Any comments on this?

    Jeremy
    70\" Revolver, DLE20
    67\" Goldberg Edge 540, RCGF 26ccBM
    57\" The World Models P-51, TT.61 pr
    Dream plane - 50cc EG Raven

  18. #5043

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
    Posts
    2,546
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    Some guys (like me) buy on a bucks spent for bang received logic. DLE's work great here, as well as some others, but I'm not going to get that started. Some simply want the least expensive available (those doing a gas/hobby interest check?). Others though, are pretty committed to the hobby, and only the best will do. To each their own. I doubt you can make a convincing argument for right or wrong for any of the 3 groups, and I'm fine with that.

  19. #5044

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Millington, MI
    Posts
    963
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    Everyone I know, spends their money where they THINK they get the biggest bang for the buck (that covers a lot of ground).....When I worked at G.M., they did the same....made no difference where it came from.....

  20. #5045

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    945
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    Id have to say that it holds true for the great majority of people. Id like to try a DA or 3W someday. Im sure Ill end up buying something used from the classifieds though.
    70\" Revolver, DLE20
    67\" Goldberg Edge 540, RCGF 26ccBM
    57\" The World Models P-51, TT.61 pr
    Dream plane - 50cc EG Raven

  21. #5046

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    STEWARTSTOWN, PA
    Posts
    442
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    I ran my DLE-30 on Saturday and it ran like a dream. When I tried to run it tonight it wouldn't reach full rpm. It sounded like it was running REALLY rich. I hadn't touched the needles so it should have been the same. Pulled out the screw driver and adjusted the high speed needle...A FULL TURN! Anyone else have this problem? Are we supposed to put thread lock on the needles?

  22. #5047

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    17
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    Just found this thread about the DLE 30 after buying a new one. I notice that the choke and throttle linkage arms have about the same standoff distance away from the choke body. What have others done to be able to attach a throttle push rod and choke push rod without interfering with each other? Any help is greatly appreciated.

  23. #5048

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    945
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    I took off the choke arm and put it 180 degrees. Im sure you can do the same.
    70\" Revolver, DLE20
    67\" Goldberg Edge 540, RCGF 26ccBM
    57\" The World Models P-51, TT.61 pr
    Dream plane - 50cc EG Raven

  24. #5049

    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    wilmington, MA
    Posts
    820
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    what is the thread size on the 10 mm bolt......valley view single bolt adapter

  25. #5050
    drube's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    North Port, FL
    Posts
    1,536
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: NEW DLE30!

    Tons of info in this thread! I'm looking to buy a NEW dle 30 with the rear carb. I understand that this is the new version, but did moving the carb to the rear solve all the problems at idle, dying when tilting the plane? How about the dead sticks? Then i've read some are having ignition problems.. I've read so much negative stuff about this engine i'm having second thoughts.. I guess i'm just looking for reassurance.

    Thanks
    Alan

    CORSAIR Brotherhood # 90


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:28 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.