Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

DLE30!

Reply
Old 10-13-2012, 05:36 AM
  #5051
kgeb
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: cayuga, IN
Posts: 87
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

I have 3 DLE 30s. 2 of them I converted from a side carb to rear, and 1 original rear carb.
The side carb engines were ok, but changing them to rear carb made them much easier to tune.
Some do take 2 or three gallons of fuel to break in, but once broken in, they run very well and very reliable. Havent had a dead stick in a couple years of mild 3D flying.(Still learning.)
All 3 turning a Xoar 19x8 7200~7500 at about 500 feet of elevation on a 70deg day.
They are not as easy to tune as the dl50 /DLE55, just a little more finicky.
I did have 1 bad ignition, and have replaced 1 spark plug cap, but that was over about a 3 year time period.
From what I have read the new DLE35R is better. Easier to tune and slightly more powerful. Also no need to buy a wrap around pitts, to keep the muffler in the cowl on most planes.

So yes I would buy another DLE30 without hesitation, would like to try a DLE35R.
1 last thing, and this is only my opinion.
50CC airframes, engines and servos are not that much more money, but most of them will fly better than the 30CC size.
50CC and larger can become a problem to haul. :~( javascript:void(AddText('[\&o]','_image/s14.gif'))
kgeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 06:28 AM
  #5052
drube
 
drube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: North Port, FL
Posts: 1,579
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

Thanks that helps. I did see the DLE 35 on Tower due in November. Wondering if I should just wait... The engine will be going in a G&L 25% Extra 230 with a fiberglass fuse and foam core wings.
drube is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 07:48 AM
  #5053
cmptrguy
 
cmptrguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Hayden, ID
Posts: 50
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

I have 2 DLE 30's and they are great engines. Not hard to tune and lots of power. One is in a Pilot Sbach 342 and is a dream to fly. the other is in a Maxford MentorG (like a big gas trainer) for easy lazy flying also lots of power and unlimited vertical. Absolutely no problems from either engine -sometimes the one in the Sbach is a little cold blooded in those cooler morning starts. I would look at Valley View RC to purchase your DLE's from. Tom gives great deals and has a very good repair facility if needed in the future.

Cmptrguy
cmptrguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 10:29 AM
  #5054
drube
 
drube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: North Port, FL
Posts: 1,579
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

I love the look of the Sbach 342, nice plane! What size do you have?
drube is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 11:59 AM
  #5055
Super08
 
Super08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fort McMurray, AB, CANADA
Posts: 4,086
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

I have the Pilot Sbach with a DLE30 on it as well. Great combo. [8D]
Super08 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 03:42 AM
  #5056
greg palmer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

I would like to share some imfo about my dle 30. I have 2 of them 1 has that high speed miss, tried gapping the plug from. 018"-.024" with no luck bought new Rcexl ignition still had the miss, 2 different ignition batteries still had it, listen to my father in law and bought some Lucas upper cylinder and fuel injector cleaner from Rural King and just a squirt in a 1 gallon gas can I can say it fixed the miss. He told me it provides a hotter spark, and yes I tried tuning it out also. If you have one with the hs miss try it. On the 1st tank it was better but after 3 or 4 tanks through it the miss is now gone and it only cost about 5 bucks. He also told me you have to keep using it but at a squirt to a 1 gallon can it will last you long time.
greg palmer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 06:36 AM
  #5057
Mikecam
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB, CANADA
Posts: 587
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

Greg, did you check the timing?

A high speed miss is also an indication of the timing being off. You might find you are around 33 or 34 degress. If so drop it down to 30/31 and the miss will go away.
Mikecam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 08:58 AM
  #5058
greg palmer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

Yes I checked it I did not have a timing wheel so we took off the cowl and adjusted the halls sensor with no change. We marked it so we could put it back where we had it. If the Lucas oil thing did not fix it I was going to change out the reed block but the lucas oil fixed the problem.
greg palmer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 10:57 AM
  #5059
cmptrguy
 
cmptrguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Hayden, ID
Posts: 50
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

drube:

The pilot Sbach is a 73" wingspan for the 30CC size.

cmptrguy
cmptrguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 11:24 AM
  #5060
Mikecam
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB, CANADA
Posts: 587
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

If it was at 35 degrees and you moved it to 33 degrees it still could be the timing. Not one of my 3 DLE's had the correct timing, not out by much (1 or 2 degrees at most) but out nonetheless.

Video showing how to check.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GBXFpxWg7vY

Print out and glue on to a piece of cardboard. Keep hole in the center small enough so it is hard to push over engine hub.
http://ch-ignitions.com/img/cms/timing/imageEPQ.JPG
Mikecam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 04:58 PM
  #5061
Neddy191
 
Neddy191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Advance, NC
Posts: 312
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

This is probably a stupid quesion. I have a new DLE30 for a plane I'm building. When I got it from Tower I also bought the prop drilling guide for it. I got a Xoar beechwood prop. The hole in the prop is a bit smaller than the roudn piece in the center of the drilling guide so I can't bolt the prop onto the guide. I guess my question is what is the best way to enlarge that hole so the guide will fit. I'm wondering the best way to ensure it stays centered. Can I just put the proper sized drill bit on my drillpress and go for it or is there something other way I should do it instead?
Neddy191 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 05:08 PM
  #5062
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,535
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

The best way is with a prop reamer.

But as you have a drill press . . . Select a drill bit the size of the original hole in the prop and with the bit mounted in the chuck, use it to located the prop exactly centered under the chuck and then clamp the prop down.

Then install your new size drill bit and slowly make the hole larger.
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 12:09 AM
  #5063
DL826
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mile, CHINA
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE30!

Hello,guys
i am a representative of the DLE manufacturer ,and this is my first time to come here.
So hope i can learn and share something about DLE in here.

If you have any question,please feel free to ask me. I will try my best to help you.
But i donot know that(because i am also a newer for engines, i am also learning about DLE)

Thanks for your attention and support about DLE.
DL826 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 06:07 AM
  #5064
drube
 
drube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: North Port, FL
Posts: 1,579
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE30!

Hi guys,
What size fuel tanks are you using and what kind of flight times are you getting? I'm not sure what size tank to use but I would like to get at least 10 to 12 min flight time or longer.
The plane is a 25% Extra 230
Thanks
drube is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 05:25 AM
  #5065
drube
 
drube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: North Port, FL
Posts: 1,579
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE30!

Anyone?
drube is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 05:48 AM
  #5066
ahicks
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,530
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

Somebody was talking about an ounce a minute, which sounds about right to me for wide open throttle?
ahicks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 05:51 AM
  #5067
guille2006
 
guille2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: MaranelloModena, ITALY
Posts: 646
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

Half a litter will be more than enough for that time...
guille2006 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 01:40 PM
  #5068
MetallicaJunkie
 
MetallicaJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Donna, TX
Posts: 5,436
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DLE30!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: drube

Hi guys,
What size fuel tanks are you using and what kind of flight times are you getting? I'm not sure what size tank to use but I would like to get at least 10 to 12 min flight time or longer.
The plane is a 25% Extra 230
Thanks
12oz is more than enough
MetallicaJunkie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 05:06 PM
  #5069
greg palmer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

I use a 16oz tank and after 10 to 12 minute flight I still have at least a half of a tank. That's a little bit of 3d and IMAC style flying.
greg palmer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:20 AM
  #5070
Cyberwolf
 
Cyberwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Blackfoot , ID
Posts: 2,247
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

Yep I cut my tank size down to a 10 OZ on my 30 and still have close to half a tank after a good 10 min flight
Cyberwolf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 09:48 AM
  #5071
MartyH
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lawrenceburg, IN
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

Same as Greg. Mix of IMAC and full power on 12 minute flight leaves about 1/2 tank.
MartyH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 05:53 PM
  #5072
RBean
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lady Lake, FL
Posts: 1,389
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

I need some help with 3 blade prop size for the DLE 30. I have a DLE 30 installed in a Black Horse 70" wing span FW 190. Presently it has an 18-8 Master Airscrew 2 blade. Static rpm is 8,450. The plane has more than enough power. Also I think maybe in flight its too much rpm, probably exceeding 9,000. I want to install a 3 blade prop for the scale look. The selection of 3 blade props in the possible appropriate sizes is some what limited and they arn't cheap. I had a Beila 17-10 I had aquired somewhere. Installed it. Static rpm was only 5,500. I'm thinking maybe a Zinger 17-8 or 18-6 three blade. Does anyone have any info or testing in this regard? These prop are too expensive for me to buy four or five for testing. Here are picture of the plane with the 2 blade and the Beila 17-10 three blade.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig13327.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	57.9 KB
ID:	1820377   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ql34883.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	122.5 KB
ID:	1820378  
RBean is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 06:03 PM
  #5073
microdon2
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Whitestone, NY
Posts: 1,891
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

Rbean - the three blade prop definitely looks more scale. I don't know about Zinger 3-blade props, but the 2 blade Zinger's I've tested are better suited to stir paint.
microdon2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:03 PM
  #5074
DaleD
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 253
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

I would suggest you look at a 16" prop for three blade. Check out the 16.5x10x3 from Bollyhttp://www.bolly.com.au/models/glassthree.html

DaleD
DaleD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 05:30 AM
  #5075
ahicks
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,530
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW DLE30!

I would suggest staying away from a 6" pitch for a military plane? They're more for the slow (Cub), 3D or acrobat types looking for good vertical. 8" pitch would work better I think, but 10" might work OK too? If that's of any help.... -Al
ahicks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:02 PM.