Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

g26 remote choke

Reply
Old 07-02-2009, 10:41 AM
  #1
bokuda
Thread Starter
 
bokuda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: South Deerfield, MA
Posts: 841
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default g26 remote choke

I'm putting a G26 in a 1/4 scale Taylorcraft and need ideas on installing a manually operated remote choke. The cowl fully encloses the engine and I'd prefer not to have anything protruding from the cowl unless it's on the bottom. The engine is mounted inverted which puts the choke lever upwards. I mentioned manually operated since the detent on the choke seems too stiff to be operated by a servo.

Also, there will be a throttle servo on the firewall leaving no room for a choke servo. I don't want to run a choke servo from the inner fuse because I have a full cockpit, and running a stiff, or even flexible, rod would not be practical. (Thus, the firewall mounted throttle servo.)

I may have to go to a bellcrank mechanism with a lever or push-pull wire on the bottom of the cowl.


Anyone have any ideas?

I may post this inquiry in other forums.
bokuda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 12:04 PM
  #2
bps
 
bps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 1,335
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: g26 remote choke

Here is a picture of my 3 position choke switch on my Dr1. Standard servo is mounted in fuse. I have also read where some folks solder up the hole in the choke plate to get better choking. Hope this helps. The picture of the servo on the firewall is a micro switch mounted on a micro servo for back up ignition kill. I also have an ignition kill in the cocpit.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Rp45022.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	88.2 KB
ID:	1228626   Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo40715.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	77.0 KB
ID:	1228627  
bps is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 03:58 PM
  #3
bokuda
Thread Starter
 
bokuda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: South Deerfield, MA
Posts: 841
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: g26 remote choke

Thanks, Jeb.

This gives me some ideas. I guess I could use the nose wheel arm as you do with a 90 degree bellcrank attached to the firewall to a rod that would exit the bottom of the cowl. That seems to be my best option so far.
bokuda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 04:54 PM
  #4
Charley
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kerrville, TX
Posts: 2,040
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: g26 remote choke

I had a G26 mag in a H9 100" Super Cub. I was able to reach the choke arm - a nose steering arm I'd installed - through the air intake on the left side. I'd reach in and put it on choke, spin it with my starter until it popped, reach in and take it off choke and spin it until it started. Worked every time when cold. Didn't need to choke it when it was warm.

CR
Charley is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 06:51 PM
  #5
bokuda
Thread Starter
 
bokuda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: South Deerfield, MA
Posts: 841
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: g26 remote choke

I managed to find a way to fit a servo to operate the choke on the firewall along with the throttle servo.

I can post a photo if anyone is interested.
bokuda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 07:59 PM
  #6
sgtshultz
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Villa Rica, GA
Posts: 142
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: g26 remote choke

Looks great

What type of switch is that or what is it called?

Thanks
sgtshultz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 08:03 PM
  #7
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,545
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: g26 remote choke


Quote:
ORIGINAL: bokuda

I managed to find a way to fit a servo to operate the choke on the firewall along with the throttle servo.

I can post a photo if anyone is interested.
Pictures or it didn't happen?

w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 05:43 PM
  #8
bokuda
Thread Starter
 
bokuda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: South Deerfield, MA
Posts: 841
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: g26 remote choke


Quote:
ORIGINAL: w8ye


Quote:
ORIGINAL: bokuda

I managed to find a way to fit a servo to operate the choke on the firewall along with the throttle servo.

I can post a photo if anyone is interested.
Pictures or it didn't happen?

Yes, it happened. Unfortunately the plane did not survive its first flight and I did not take photos of the firewall. It will be rebuilt this winter.
bokuda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 06:03 PM
  #9
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,545
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: g26 remote choke

Get us pictures of the rebuild when you can
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 07:49 AM
  #10
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,905
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: g26 remote choke

Yes, it happened. Unfortunately the plane did not survive its first flight and I did not take photos of the firewall. It will be rebuilt this winter.
What happened???
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 03:47 PM
  #11
bokuda
Thread Starter
 
bokuda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: South Deerfield, MA
Posts: 841
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: g26 remote choke

Quote:
ORIGINAL: captinjohn

Yes, it happened. Unfortunately the plane did not survive its first flight and I did not take photos of the firewall. It will be rebuilt this winter.
What happened???
Not sure. It cartwheeled on takeoff. Seemed to have plenty of speed/power. All controls were correct. I've been at this hobby for 50 years so have a lot of experience. First time I've lost a plane on its first flight.

It was a heartbreaker as I put a lot of effort into this and it was the best, most detailed plane I've ever built. I pretty much gave up the hobby for a year after that.

My model on the left, 2 of full scale on the right.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Rp42902.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	86.4 KB
ID:	1697303   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bw73038.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	20.0 KB
ID:	1697304   Click image for larger version

Name:	Uz68345.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	21.2 KB
ID:	1697305  
bokuda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 03:57 PM
  #12
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,545
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: g26 remote choke

I hope you get it repaired.

Make sure you have a little toe-in on those main wheels
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 04:12 PM
  #13
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,905
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: g26 remote choke

Wow, that sure was a nice airplane. I bet with you talents of building that good, you will be able to fix it just as good as it was. I am very sorry that happened. Years ago I hit a electric wire dead on and the airplane looked like it exploded. I felt the same way as you did. It was one of the best I ever made/built. Still not as good looking as your airplane. Best Regards and I hope that feeling of good building comes back soon.

Capt,n
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 08:35 AM
  #14
AA5BY
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: White Oak, TX
Posts: 2,361
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: g26 remote choke

Sorry to hear about the mishap and wishing you the best of luck with the Taylorcraft rebuild. I've been down that road twice.

I purchased a Hanger 9 Taylorcraft used that had suffered some minor damage by original owner who did a good job with repairs. I crashed it when it tip stalled after turning onto final from base leg with a fairly strong cross wind (tail wind on base leg). The crash completely tore up the front end. It was rebuilt by re-sizing the front end to the newer Hanger 9 cowl and wind screen. It flew for about five minutes on the maiden after the rebuild and the Zenoah G-23 quit (cause was found to be a crimped vent line) and I foolishly tried to make a non powered turn back into the wind to land and it tip stalled and tore up the front again.

The second rebuild was much easier as most of the parts were fit back together. It has flown several times since and flies ok. I did make some changes in the setup and programed some differential in the ailerons as well as mixed some up trim in the ailerons at low throttle to simulate some wash out to reduce tip stall tendency.

I agree with the suggestion to solder the hole in the choke plate closed. It makes getting a cowled gas engine started much easier. I've used both hand operated choke levers and servo operated. Both work fine.

Again... best of luck with the rebuild... if possible, document the rebuild as it takes place with pics. It is fun to follow a rebuild as it takes shape and see how various builders go about it.
AA5BY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 03:42 PM
  #15
bokuda
Thread Starter
 
bokuda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: South Deerfield, MA
Posts: 841
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: g26 remote choke

Quote:
ORIGINAL: AA5BY

Sorry to hear about the mishap and wishing you the best of luck with the Taylorcraft rebuild. I've been down that road twice.

I purchased a Hanger 9 Taylorcraft used that had suffered some minor damage by original owner who did a good job with repairs. I crashed it when it tip stalled after turning onto final from base leg with a fairly strong cross wind (tail wind on base leg). The crash completely tore up the front end. It was rebuilt by re-sizing the front end to the newer Hanger 9 cowl and wind screen. It flew for about five minutes on the maiden after the rebuild and the Zenoah G-23 quit (cause was found to be a crimped vent line) and I foolishly tried to make a non powered turn back into the wind to land and it tip stalled and tore up the front again.

The second rebuild was much easier as most of the parts were fit back together. It has flown several times since and flies ok. I did make some changes in the setup and programed some differential in the ailerons as well as mixed some up trim in the ailerons at low throttle to simulate some wash out to reduce tip stall tendency.

I agree with the suggestion to solder the hole in the choke plate closed. It makes getting a cowled gas engine started much easier. I've used both hand operated choke levers and servo operated. Both work fine.

Again... best of luck with the rebuild... if possible, document the rebuild as it takes place with pics. It is fun to follow a rebuild as it takes shape and see how various builders go about it.

Thanks. This plane was built from Hostetler plans and the front of the fuse was extensively modified to accept a full cockpit and hide all the wiring etc. It was a lot of work. The fuse was totally destroyed and a new one will have to be built although most of the scale "goodies" are still useable. I'm hoping I can transplant the empennage to the new fuse. There was some damage to one wing which is repairable. I intend to start on it after Christmas when I will be retired! Entering at least one scale contest is on my bucket list.
bokuda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 05:17 PM
  #16
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,905
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: g26 remote choke

That is a good way to start a retirement. Best of luck, I know you can do it. Best Regards Capt,n
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:13 AM.