edmoor

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default filling a gasser

i am new to building a gasser......gonna use a g26 air in my taylorcraft......whats the setup providing access to filling the tank?....take the wing off everytime? going to have a hatch in the top....not sure if the tank will be reachable from there. do i run a fill hose???? not even sure what type of tank i will need.....plans do not specify.
Old 08-17-2009, 12:05 PM
drbenz

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

You do it the same way you do a nitro plane except there is no line to the muffler, the second line is just a vent, and the rubber stopper in the fuel tank must be gas proof.
Old 08-17-2009, 12:30 PM
edmoor

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

so your saying i must run the vent line outside of the cowl to fuel it up? once the cowl is on.....getting to the fuel line wont happen. i still dont understand? the vent line therefore must be plugged after refilling? sometimes im goofy
Old 08-17-2009, 12:48 PM
w8ye

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

The vent line must be open at all times

You have to get gas into it some way?
Old 08-17-2009, 01:45 PM
spaceworm

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Gasoline engines have a pump in the carbureter so that the position/location of the tank is not important (it can be on the cg so the cg does not shift with use of the fuel). The tank needs to be vented so that the carb does not collapse it. The vent line should be looped so that a part of it is higher than the tank so that inverted flight does not cause fuel to drain out of the vent line. Standard gasoline safety procedures apply to all preflight and handling operations as gasoline IS more dangerous than alcohol based fuels.
Old 08-17-2009, 01:46 PM
flatspinjim

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback