Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

filling a gasser

Reply
Old 08-17-2009, 11:21 AM
  #1
edmoor
Thread Starter
 
edmoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killbuck, OH
Posts: 241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default filling a gasser

i am new to building a gasser......gonna use a g26 air in my taylorcraft......whats the setup providing access to filling the tank?....take the wing off everytime? going to have a hatch in the top....not sure if the tank will be reachable from there. do i run a fill hose???? not even sure what type of tank i will need.....plans do not specify.
edmoor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 12:05 PM
  #2
drbenz
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sharpsburg, GA
Posts: 257
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

You do it the same way you do a nitro plane except there is no line to the muffler, the second line is just a vent, and the rubber stopper in the fuel tank must be gas proof.
drbenz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 12:30 PM
  #3
edmoor
Thread Starter
 
edmoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killbuck, OH
Posts: 241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

so your saying i must run the vent line outside of the cowl to fuel it up? once the cowl is on.....getting to the fuel line wont happen. i still dont understand? the vent line therefore must be plugged after refilling? sometimes im goofy
edmoor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 12:48 PM
  #4
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,527
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

The vent line must be open at all times

You have to get gas into it some way?
w8ye is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 01:45 PM
  #5
spaceworm
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Guilford, CT
Posts: 3,905
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

Gasoline engines have a pump in the carbureter so that the position/location of the tank is not important (it can be on the cg so the cg does not shift with use of the fuel). The tank needs to be vented so that the carb does not collapse it. The vent line should be looped so that a part of it is higher than the tank so that inverted flight does not cause fuel to drain out of the vent line. Standard gasoline safety procedures apply to all preflight and handling operations as gasoline IS more dangerous than alcohol based fuels.
spaceworm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 01:46 PM
  #6
flatspinjim
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ft lupton, CO
Posts: 895
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

You can either run a tee in your line going to the carb, or run a 3 line system. If you run a tee one line goes to the carb and the other goes to a fuel dot. With a 3 line system you run one vent line, one line straight to the carb,with a clunk in the tank and one line from the tank to a fuel dot. The fill line must either have a seperate clunk, or run your brass tube to the bottom of the tank.
It's not much different than a glow set up but you don't use the vent line as a fill line.
flatspinjim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 01:55 PM
  #7
ed42d-RCU
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Buffalo Grove, IL
Posts: 212
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

On the fuel supply line from the tank clunk to the carb, I've been using a tee connector. I usually put the tee a couple of inches before the carb inlet and use a fuel dot to the side of the cowl.
ed42d-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 02:24 PM
  #8
edmoor
Thread Starter
 
edmoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killbuck, OH
Posts: 241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

[:@] seems to me......your confusing me?........why cant i run a fuel line with a clunk to the carb......put a "t" in.....to a fuel valve.....then i wont need a vent line? the fuel valve vents one way...right? i have this setup on a couple planes.....only i have a line going to muffler to pressure the tank.....which i wont need on a gas engine?........correct?
edmoor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 02:35 PM
  #9
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,527
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

You still need a vent
w8ye is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 02:50 PM
  #10
ed42d-RCU
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Buffalo Grove, IL
Posts: 212
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

Ok, maybe I wasn't clear in my description. I'll try again.

The fuel tank, at a minimum, has a vent line and fuel supply line to the carb. With the fuel supply line, I cut it in half somewhere between the fuel tank and the carb. Then I put in a tee connector and add a fill line to a fuel dot on the cowl. Hope that helps.

ed42d-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 03:03 PM
  #11
edmoor
Thread Starter
 
edmoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killbuck, OH
Posts: 241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

i understand the part about the tee......no problem there. the vent line confuses me. and what the h.... is a fuel dot? i cant find a fuel dot on tower.......only fuel valves. remember.......i have never done this on a pumped engine before. only glow. how can the vent line be at the bottom of the tank?......ya pump fuel in..its gonna pump out the vent unless its in airspace......if its in airspace inside the tank.....if ya go inverted.....you got a fuel leak......guess i will just buy a tank and all the stuff for it......and go on my own......i will find out im sure. thanks all for trying to help me understand......i just dont though?[:@]
edmoor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 03:44 PM
  #12
ed42d-RCU
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Buffalo Grove, IL
Posts: 212
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

A fuel dot is just a plug to stop air leaks. Tower has them under "Fuel Fittings". Great Planes and Slimline has some.

Setup the vent in the tank like you do for glow. The tank doesn't need muffler pressure, it just needs air to replace the used up fuel. So the end of the vent line can go anywhere.
ed42d-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 03:54 PM
  #13
edmoor
Thread Starter
 
edmoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killbuck, OH
Posts: 241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

now your the only one who made sense to me.....sometimes when ya ask a question......ya get too much info. THANK YOU ED.....FROM ED.
edmoor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 09:11 AM
  #14
Walt and Sage
 
Walt and Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ellensburg, WA
Posts: 817
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

Yea Guys what were you thinking !!!!
NO good deed goes unpunished....
Walt and Sage is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 10:07 AM
  #15
flatspinjim
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ft lupton, CO
Posts: 895
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

Our bad.
flatspinjim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 12:03 AM
  #16
tkg
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Riverton, WY
Posts: 3,114
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

Yea this is a tough one.
BCCHI
tkg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 03:04 AM
  #17
rednekk58
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Weare, NH
Posts: 291
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

I use one of these. http://www.wholesaletrains.com/Detai...p?ID=200304027 Also made for my glow engines too. Shuts the gas off to the carb while filling to prevent flooding. Another model is for glow only. Insert probe to filler and it stops flow to carb. Remove probe and it reconnects flow from tank to carb. No fuel dot or tee neccessary. Not saying it's any better, it's just what I use. Makes for a neat installation. My $.02 worth
rednekk58 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 01:46 PM
  #18
nashtm
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WarfieldBerkshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 303
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser


Quote:
ORIGINAL: ed42d-RCU

On the fuel supply line from the tank clunk to the carb, I've been using a tee connector. I usually put the tee a couple of inches before the carb inlet and use a fuel dot to the side of the cowl.

If you use a tee and the filling tube is two or so inches long (to clear the cowl) do you not get a air bubble or something going to the carb?
nashtm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 05:05 PM
  #19
Tired Old Man
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Valley Springs, CA
Posts: 18,602
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

Build a hinged hatch on the side of the plane. When you need to gas up open the hatch and unscrew the gas cap.....
Tired Old Man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 05:14 PM
  #20
edmoor
Thread Starter
 
edmoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killbuck, OH
Posts: 241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

cant you just give the guy an honest answer..if you dont know it....then dont post your remarks....he didnt ask for a hatch....he asked for advice......[:@]
edmoor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 06:17 PM
  #21
Uncas
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: St. Peters, MO,
Posts: 742
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

edmoor,
Here is how I do it.
Fuel line: Basically as you described it with the fuel dot - I use the Dubro equivalent - but same difference.

Vent Line: This is the tricky part. Come out of the tank to a Tee.
One line goes from the Tee around the tank, then goes straight down and ends with a filter. The filter is just a fuel filter to keep dirt in the air from entering the fuel tank.

The second line goes from the Tee, straight down and ends with a fuel line stopper. When I fill my tank I remove the stopper and run the line into a pan or something to catch the fuel when I top off the tank. This line is only used for filling to let me know when the tank is full and to control spillage. I cannot see my tank when I fill. This line is a little long and I push it back into the motor mount box when I am done filling. A fuel dot could work here too.
Uncas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 06:36 PM
  #22
rcairflr
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 1,095
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

This is how I do my tank for gassers and most others I fly with. It's a 3 line system. Vent runs over the top of the tank and out the bottom of airplane. One fuel clunk goes to carb and a third line for fueling and defueling. When the tank is full the fuel will run out the bottom of airplane by way of the vent line. You can add filters where required. Hope this helps
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay74324.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	30.5 KB
ID:	1259972  
rcairflr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 08:12 PM
  #23
Tired Old Man
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Valley Springs, CA
Posts: 18,602
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

If you really believe I don't know how to plumb a tank, you're less intuitive than the guy asking the original question My earlier post was in jest, but evidently too dry for some.

Me thinks the OP has never plumbed any plane before, let alone a gasser. A basic 2 line Tee system using a fuel dot is about as simple as it gets. One fuel dot, one Tee, and a vent line. Add a couple of feet of fuel line (oops, gotta be specific, people may not have a clue that gas can't use silicone fuel line) aaah Tygon, neoprene, or Viton fuel line, and it's a done deal.
Tired Old Man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 10:19 AM
  #24
Walt and Sage
 
Walt and Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ellensburg, WA
Posts: 817
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser

Quote:
ORIGINAL: rcairflr

This is how I do my tank for gassers and most others I fly with. It's a 3 line system. Vent runs over the top of the tank and out the bottom of airplane. One fuel clunk goes to carb and a third line for fueling and defueling. When the tank is full the fuel will run out the bottom of airplane by way of the vent line. You can add filters where required. Hope this helps
This is the BEST set up..
With a "T" in the line to the motor, if you get any leaking of air (at the fuel dot) you will be doing dead sticks and wondering WHAT HAPPENED
Had to learn this the HARD WAY...
Walt
Walt and Sage is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 05:34 PM
  #25
edmoor
Thread Starter
 
edmoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killbuck, OH
Posts: 241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: filling a gasser


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Tired Old Man

If you really believe I don't know how to plumb a tank, you're less intuitive than the guy asking the original question My earlier post was in jest, but evidently too dry for some.

Me thinks the OP has never plumbed any plane before, let alone a gasser. A basic 2 line Tee system using a fuel dot is about as simple as it gets. One fuel dot, one Tee, and a vent line. Add a couple of feet of fuel line (oops, gotta be specific, people may not have a clue that gas can't use silicone fuel line) aaah Tygon, neoprene, or Viton fuel line, and it's a done deal.
I WOULDNT ASK FOR HELP IF I KNEW HOW TO PLUMB A GASSER.....keep your quirky jests to yourself....i want to thank the folks who did help me.....not you. [:@] (end of my reading this post). i copied the drawing.....and thank you.
edmoor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:01 PM.