Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Quiet 40cc engine

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2009, 07:43 AM
Raymond LeFlyr
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Quiet 40cc engine

I've been flying electrics pretty much exclusively for the past three years or so. I enjoy the heck out of them but I'm in the mood to get a "full size" model back in the air again. However, having gotten rid of my gas stuff to finance batteries, motors, and ESCs - I'm in the position of having to buy a new 40cc engine. That's the first issue.

The second issue is that having gotten used to flying electrics I find I really, really like a quiet source of power. That and there are two guys at my field who fly very LOUD gas-powered models. We smile and joke about the noise with them but when they are not around, everybody complains - you can't hold a conversation while they are in the air. I do not want to be one of those offenders.

So, I have two questions or maybe a question in two parts, or maybe . . . well, here it/they is/are.

What is the quietest 2-stroke 40cc engine . . . and/or . . . what good value-for-money engine that I can quiet down effectively . . . and what mufflers/pipe would be most effective? (Oh yeah, I'm not convinced the big Saito is worth the money but if your consensus is that"s the way to go - OK.)
Old 09-17-2009, 08:17 AM
Jake Ruddy
My Feedback: (40)

Default RE: Quiet 40cc engine

The engine itself has very little to do with it.

The 2 factors for noise are the prop, too small of prop will rip and be very loud + some brands are just louder than others.

The exhaust system, many of the cheaper engines come with a basic side dump muffler which is not much more than a deflector. A large volume pitts style muffler will reduce noise a fair amount. If you want really quiet then you need to look at canisters or a tuned pipe setup.
Old 09-17-2009, 01:44 PM
Bass1

Received 1 Like on 1 Post