Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Reply
Old 08-24-2010, 10:24 AM
  #1001
barchiola
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: milford, NJ
Posts: 150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

is there a trick to getting a new carb to pull fuel from the tank? even with the choke closed i don't seem to be pulling fuel.
can i pump fuel from my storage tank into the fuel nipple on the engine?
thanks,
bart
barchiola is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 11:43 AM
  #1002
trpastor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Hey Bart -

It is a new dry carb. I had the same problem the first time. You can try to prime it with some fuel straight to the carb as you suggested. That will help the suction. And then flip flip flip. You are probably at very LOW risk of flooding, so flip with prejudice

Once you get it going the first time, it is an EASY starting engine though
trpastor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 01:46 PM
  #1003
apalsson
 
apalsson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Coffs Harbour NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,300
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines


Quote:
ORIGINAL: barchiola

is there a trick to getting a new carb to pull fuel from the tank? even with the choke closed i don't seem to be pulling fuel.
can i pump fuel from my storage tank into the fuel nipple on the engine?
thanks,
bart
Bart,

This is relatively common with new carburettors. They are good at pumping gas but absolutely poor at pumping air

Pumping directly into the fuel nipple on the engine will not work because of the way the carburettor works.
You can squirt a bit of fuel into the throat of the carby - that might get it pumping. If that doesn't work, take the membrane cover of the carburettor (it's the one with a single big screw in the middle) and let the fuel seap in till it floods the membrane.
Just be very careful not to to dislodge the membrane when you put the cover back on. This will absolutely get the carby pumping
apalsson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 02:00 PM
  #1004
CannonFodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Columbia , MO
Posts: 72
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Hey,

I found that if you rock the prop back and forth real fast (BDC) between compression strokes that seemed to help my dry carb pump bring fuel to the carb.
CannonFodder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 06:33 PM
  #1005
barchiola
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: milford, NJ
Posts: 150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

thanks for the suggestions guys. i took some slack out of the fuel lines inside the plane and then had another go at it. after filling the tank i filled the fuel line from the carb back to the tank to purge the air, flipped the prop a few times with the choke closed, flipped a few more with ignition on then opened the choke when it kicked. it started and idled pretty well but needed to have the high end opened up a little to hold the top end. so far, so good. i'm hoping to fly it saturday and then enjoy it for years to come. the muffler i made isn't muffling very much but that's ok, airplane noise is good noise.
thanks again for the help.
bart
barchiola is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 08:53 AM
  #1006
Tseres
 
Tseres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: elwood, IN
Posts: 2,998
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines


Quote:
ORIGINAL: mjohnst3

Hey,

I found that if you rock the prop back and forth real fast (BDC) between compression strokes that seemed to help my dry carb pump bring fuel to the carb.

Ditto.

I also found this useful when I stick the plane on the shelf for a month and don't start it for a while.
Another thing that I noticed that if you leave some fuel in the overflow tube then it it is also harder to suck up the fuel to the carb. Once you start the engine then you don't have to worry about it till you let *** sit on the shelf for a while again.
Tseres is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 02:49 PM
  #1007
plane addicts
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sping Hill, FL
Posts: 141
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Another thing that you guys can do is pull the plugs on a new engine and put a starter on the motors. This will help pull fuel into the carb once you have the fuel into the carb put the plugs back in and fire the motor up.
plane addicts is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 08:57 PM
  #1008
Mike Miller
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Selman, OK
Posts: 87
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

I finally got a chance to have a look and found what seems to be the lack of a retainer as you thought. I am going to try and post a picture on here, never done that before so bare with me. Take a look and tell me if I am looking at this correctly. Thanks all.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr51400.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	93.8 KB
ID:	1491285  
Mike Miller is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 11:14 PM
  #1009
Piston
 
Piston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 614
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Hey Mike
PM sent.....

Cheers
Henry
Piston is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 02:25 PM
  #1010
barchiola
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: milford, NJ
Posts: 150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

folks,
i was at the field with my akromaster/yda56 combo and i couldn't fly because my quick fueler was leaking badly. i'm going to scrap it and put a T in the clunk line from the tank to the carb and use a fuel dot to fill. does the throttle have to be pulled all the way back to idle cutoff to keep fuel from getting into the carb when i'm filling up the tank?
maybe i'll fly tomorrow if i can sneak out after pee-wee football.
bart
barchiola is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 03:03 PM
  #1011
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,526
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

No
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 10:39 PM
  #1012
Super08
 
Super08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fort McMurray, AB, CANADA
Posts: 4,086
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

The fuel will not flow into the engine unless you can develop more pressure than what the pop off pressure is set at when you are pumping in the fuel. This is something which shouldn't happen.
Super08 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 05:35 PM
  #1013
barchiola
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: milford, NJ
Posts: 150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

the new yda56 ran great and i had the immense pleasure of finally flying my new plane.
thanks for the help,
bart
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay73419.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	165.5 KB
ID:	1492140   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ws56805.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	180.9 KB
ID:	1492141  
barchiola is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 08:27 PM
  #1014
stangevil29
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Vail, AZ
Posts: 381
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Henry,
Any new news on the engines? Still waiting patiently for the 38. I saw that you took the planes link from your site. Hope everything is going OK.
Stangevil29
stangevil29 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 10:03 PM
  #1015
Tseres
 
Tseres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: elwood, IN
Posts: 2,998
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

I got my engine mounted on the Sboch but I have some clearance issues with the pitts muffler on the front of the cowl. I'll hack it off and weld it up tomorrow and post some finished pictures for you.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ro41837.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	105.4 KB
ID:	1492339   Click image for larger version

Name:	Zu66065.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	99.3 KB
ID:	1492340  
Tseres is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 11:13 PM
  #1016
fhm101
 
fhm101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Pinson, AL
Posts: 2,487
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

I like the choke lever mount/brace.

fhm101 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 07:46 AM
  #1017
Tseres
 
Tseres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: elwood, IN
Posts: 2,998
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines


Quote:
ORIGINAL: fhm101

I like the choke lever mount/brace.

Thanks. Here are a few pictures on the way it works. It is spring loaded so you just push on it and lick it in with the throttle.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn37958.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	78.2 KB
ID:	1492513   Click image for larger version

Name:	Zu64737.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	67.3 KB
ID:	1492514   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ty65796.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	70.4 KB
ID:	1492515   Click image for larger version

Name:	At54664.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	51.1 KB
ID:	1492516  
Tseres is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 08:32 AM
  #1018
fhm101
 
fhm101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Pinson, AL
Posts: 2,487
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

The way it ties the upper and lower engine mount together it looks like it might offer some additional strength to the mount as well.
fhm101 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 09:37 AM
  #1019
plane addicts
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sping Hill, FL
Posts: 141
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Very Nice install Tom. What did you use to make the choke mount. Also did you make those standoff or buy them somewhere.
plane addicts is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 11:25 AM
  #1020
8of10
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 26
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Tom was away for a while....I knew he had to be up to something.
8of10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 01:27 PM
  #1021
barchiola
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: milford, NJ
Posts: 150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

steve,
would you happen to have a spare 56cc prop hub laying around? i stripped one of the bolt holes on mine. it's aluminum, no?
thanks,
bart
barchiola is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 01:48 PM
  #1022
FLPilot
 
FLPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Punta Gorda, FL
Posts: 313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Use one of these to install props.

Wood 50-55 inch ounces.

Composite 65 inch ounces.

http://www.harborfreight.com/1-4-qua...ench-2696.html

Comes in a red heavy duty case. Fits in my gasser field box.

You will not regret the purchase. Very nice for the price.



FLPilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 02:00 PM
  #1023
apalsson
 
apalsson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Coffs Harbour NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,300
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines


Quote:
ORIGINAL: barchiola

the new yda56 ran great and i had the immense pleasure of finally flying my new plane.
thanks for the help,
bart
Hi Bart,

I really like the look of your Akromaster.
Who makes those planes?
apalsson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 04:32 PM
  #1024
barchiola
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: milford, NJ
Posts: 150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines


Quote:
ORIGINAL: apalsson


Quote:
ORIGINAL: barchiola

the new yda56 ran great and i had the immense pleasure of finally flying my new plane.
thanks for the help,
bart
Hi Bart,

I really like the look of your Akromaster.
Who makes those planes?

thanks! it was made from an Air Tech kit in the early eighties. i bought it off of craigslist and recovered it. i haven't seen any other kits in over a year since buying this built up example. it flies really nicely, i'm very happy with it.
bart

barchiola is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 04:47 PM
  #1025
Tseres
 
Tseres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: elwood, IN
Posts: 2,998
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines


Quote:
ORIGINAL: plane addicts

Very Nice install Tom. What did you use to make the choke mount. Also did you make those standoff or buy them somewhere.
I used some Aluminum flat stock from the hardware store. Shaped it with a belt sander.
The standoffs came from my 26 that was in a box on the bench. They were longer then the ones that came with it. I needed 3 1/4" long. These were just over 2 3/4". 1/2" spacer made from Ply made them the perfect length.
Tseres is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:39 PM.