RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Gas Engines (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/gas-engines-142/)
-   -   Walker machine 4.2 (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/gas-engines-142/10074429-walker-machine-4-2-a.html)

ryandl1 10-17-2010 01:37 PM

Walker machine 4.2

Hi Guys I'm new to gas engines. I have a zirolli Texan With a Walker Machine 4.2 in it. my problem is it just seems that it does not have alot of power. It likes to surge at full throttle it have replaced the plug. Tried different to cycle oils at 32-1. It has a C-H ignition in it. as far as timing goes I have no idea how to adjust it. I am swinging a 22-8. Does any one know about these engines? is it worth having? or do I just need to get a G62?

Antique 10-17-2010 01:46 PM

RE: Walker machine 4.2

First off the prop is too small, get a 24-8 or 10....
The Waller 4.2 is the best of the Sachs conversions and will outlat anything you put it on...
Get a carb diaphragm rebuild kit and have someone check the timing..Look for rpm in the 7000 range without the muffler, less with one...

ryandl1 10-17-2010 01:59 PM

Ok Thanks! I'll try the larger prop. But I dont have any one around that knows about the timing. And what would be the best oil to use and at what mixture?

Antique 10-17-2010 02:23 PM

+It wa s chaninsaw...Go to Wally World and get a six pack of chainsaw oil, 3.2 oz to a gallon of regular gas....
Timing is easy to check...
turn on the igintiion with the spark plug out and resting on the cylinder slowly turn the crank CCW..When you hear the spark make a pencil line across the hub and crankcase..