RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Gas Engines (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/gas-engines-142/)
-   -   Best choice among current 20cc engines (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/gas-engines-142/11590981-best-choice-among-current-20cc-engines.html)

karolh 12-03-2013 06:37 PM

Best choice among current 20cc engines

I am contemplating purchasing an engine to replace my profile's Mintor 22 that was returned to the factory some months ago for service / upgrade, but so far has not yet returned and might never ever. The engines under consideration are DLE20, RCGF20 and the VV20, however I have very little running knowledge of them and would appreciate anyone with some hands on experience with them to advise how they stack up against each other in performance, reliability and availability of spares. Just for information the Mintor 22 turned a Falcon 17x6 beech @ 8,400 rpm. Thanks.

w8ye 12-03-2013 07:25 PM

the VV20 seems to have good support

radfordc 12-03-2013 07:57 PM

I have several DLE 20s and a RCG 20. They all run well. I prefer the DLE's

Truckracer 12-03-2013 08:14 PM

I have a VV20 that has a few flights on it. It runs very well and would appear to be good value for the $$ spent. If I bought another 20, I'd probably go with the DLE though. Bought on sale, the cost difference is minimal between the VV and the DLE. DLE constantly improves their products and the bearing and crank problems that plagued some of the early DLE20s seems to be pretty well taken care of in the current engine. The #4 ignition that caused problems is also changed to one with a more normal advance curve. Flip a coin I guess as either one seems like a good choice these days. No experience with RCGF here.

Indiomike 12-04-2013 03:46 AM

I have both DLE20's and a VV20. I think the DLE is slightly more powerful than the VV but not enough to to be a major difference. Go with whoever offers the best price.

ahicks 12-04-2013 04:50 AM