RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Gas Engines (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/gas-engines-142/)
-   -   MT70CC TWIN (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/gas-engines-142/9437379-mt70cc-twin.html)

Antique 04-20-2010 08:55 AM

RE: MT70CC TWIN

Mis alignment of the cases is possible..Chinese engines have no corner on bad QC[:o]....I have an Air Hobbies 4.2 here with the front bearing bore .015 higher in the case than the rear...It couldn't be assembled that way, so someone ground the rear crank by hand so it was smaller than the bearing bore...The person I talked to at AH said it wasn't possible...I'm a machinist, had a granite surface plate and indicator to check it with...It's still here...It could be fixed by putting a sleeve in the rear bore, then boring it to size in the right location...Then the rear crank extension would be too small and have to be ground smaller and a new sleeve pressed on it...Hardly worth the trouble for an overweight 4.2....

PlaneKrazee 04-20-2010 10:56 AM

Air Hobbies definately had their issues. I remember a twin crank being twisted from new. The crank would hit the case when turning the engine over. Not the kind of thing to build customer faith and loyalty.

JPrc 04-20-2010 12:13 PM

Any aftermarket prop bolt available to use a center bolt spinner?

unit53 04-20-2010 12:22 PM

looks like the shiznit has hit the fan,,,,i emailed tommy when i first recieved my engine and suggested he ,do certain things,and apparently he didnt believe me or decided not to do too many changes to meet ,,what most of us would expect,,even something simple as supplying instructions,,heck,,even  one of those balsa gliders you see at the toy store comes with instructions,i really think tommy means well ,but as planecrazee stated,,good intentions dont go far without some action.well the ball is in his court,and i know he reads this post,so ,,lets see what happens.

PlaneKrazee 04-20-2010 05:54 PM

ORIGINAL: JPrc