Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RC Pylon - An outsider's view PLEASE READ

Let me give you a firsthand viewpoint of what my entrance into RC pylon has been like so far. It’s a little lengthy but please bear with me. It’s a true outsider’s perspective. I’m relatively new to AMA racing at this point and I’m going to be jumping into Q40 in 2011. Here's a little background to at least tell you what’s driving my desire to race.

I’m Robert Vess from Raleigh, NC. I've been an RC modeler for many years and am very active in most other aspects of the hobby. But I've always been interested in pylon racing and wanted to get involved some day. Man, I can remember those beautiful Formula 1 planes and knew I would race at that level eventually. I worked at a hobby shop in high school in the seventies and former F1 and QM NATS champ Dave Pearce was a salesman that called on us. He was my "RC hero" that certainly planted the racing bug in me. My father and I even went to the Tangerine event in Florida to watch him race (I think he won, too!). But I couldn't do it myself at that time because I was soon headed to college.

Jim Katz made the next big impression on me. I think I met him at a “regular” RC event in the early 80’s or so, where he did a pylon demo. I enjoyed his flying/building skills and especially his sense of humor. He was always innovating with everything he did and, as a budding aero engineer at the time, I was drawn to this. I went on to design some airfoils for one or two of his amazing race planes but other distractions still kept me from racing myself. Life went on…