General Racing Discussion Open discussion about racing and racing related topics

dominator 1500

Reply
Old 02-23-2011, 08:12 AM
  #1
airraptor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: fairfield, CA
Posts: 4,125
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default dominator 1500

I am looking for one. If anyone knows where i can get one let me know thanks
airraptor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 08:19 AM
  #2
js9467
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fuquay Varina, NC
Posts: 24
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dominator 1500

I've got the 500..
js9467 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 09:12 AM
  #3
daven
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,452
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dominator 1500

I think he wants the "Big Boy"
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 10:25 AM
  #4
airraptor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: fairfield, CA
Posts: 4,125
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dominator 1500

yes i want the big one. i have a moki 2.10 and a mds 2.18 need a speed plane for them. i will mod the engine per summerwinds specs. he was able to turn a 16x16 apc at 9,900 on 65%.

i would like to hit 150 or so with this plane.

Also anyone knows if there is a wing kit/core's made i might be able to make a fus my self
airraptor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 10:46 AM
  #5
Bill Vargas
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Apple Valley, CA
Posts: 1,987
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dominator 1500

Go to www.flyingfoam.com and ask for Bob. He's got all the latest "Speed" airfoils plus CNC foam cutting abilities for foam wing cores and many different foam densities to choose from.

Tell him BV sent yas


BV
Bill Vargas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 10:58 AM
  #6
BernieV
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 42
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dominator 1500

Airraptor,

Are you sure that big Dominator will do 150?

We put a radar gun on one once that I think was powered by the Moki 2.10 and it was 110 MPH straight and level, about the same speed as a 424 plane.

FWIW, you hate to put in the time & $ and then be disappointed.

BernieV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 01:07 PM
  #7
daven
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,452
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dominator 1500

Bernie is correct, they are big dogs built stock.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 02:57 PM
  #8
Teachu2
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,243
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dominator 1500

PM sent.
Teachu2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 03:48 PM
  #9
airraptor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: fairfield, CA
Posts: 4,125
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dominator 1500

yeah not sure if will go that fast or not never flown one. i do remember in the rules they "said" they were in the 120-130 range with moki 2.10 on the "rule" prop of a 17x12.

it wasnt summer wind that gave me the specs on modding the moki it was longrifles. he got 174 in his 80" sundowner. that was on the 2.10 turning a APC 16x16 at 9,600 on the ground with 50% can be run on 65%

once i get one we will see. heck even if 110 in that size plane might be "fun"
airraptor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 12:47 PM
  #10
BUDMAN27
 
BUDMAN27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Galveston, TX
Posts: 1,588
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dominator 1500

I have one with a Mds 2.18 on it. I biult her all stock. No mods. She will top out at 100. Can,t remember what prop I have on her. Fun plane to fly ,but she sucks high dollar nitro fuel like its going out of style.
BUDMAN27 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 12:49 PM
  #11
BUDMAN27
 
BUDMAN27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Galveston, TX
Posts: 1,588
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dominator 1500

No not intristed in selling her.
BUDMAN27 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 03:24 PM
  #12
airraptor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: fairfield, CA
Posts: 4,125
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dominator 1500

i wonder if couls fit a DA/Dle 60/55 or a MT70 twin on it??????
airraptor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 03:16 PM
  #13
airraptor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: fairfield, CA
Posts: 4,125
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dominator 1500

ok i bought one and got it in the mail today.

My question to all you guys that have flown and built these. id the plywood fus really reguired. i would think i could make one just as strong with laminated balsa and save some weight?

i do plane to fly this plane very hard and will try to go as fast as i can since not racing under the old rules. so a highly modded MOKI 2.10 will be in it.
airraptor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 03:59 AM
  #14
BUDMAN27
 
BUDMAN27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Galveston, TX
Posts: 1,588
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dominator 1500

The plywood fuse is good to go. Not sure if balsa fuse is strong enugh to handle the stress but I could be wrong. Just don,t know. Try it and let us know if it works.
BUDMAN27 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 07:08 AM
  #15
daven
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,452
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dominator 1500

I'd use the ply, that moki is a shaker. The weight will not hurt you with this plane when its up to speed.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 12:52 PM
  #16
airraptor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: fairfield, CA
Posts: 4,125
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dominator 1500

yes will end up using the ply on this one. On the second one might make a balsa fus and think of two OS 120AX to make a twin. lol

i was even looking at a DA 85 to see if would fit on the firewall. run a 22-20 prop
thanks
airraptor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 06:00 PM
  #17
BadThumz
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dominator 1500

I have one, new in the box, here in Livermore. Make a fair offer and its yours.
BadThumz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:09 PM.