Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 22 of 22

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    middletown, CT
    Posts
    2
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    New master tach tachometer



    New master tach tachometeron E-bay

    http://bit.ly/130dkUm


  2. #2
    vicman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Valdese, NC
    Posts
    9,873
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New master tach tachometer

    I really want one of those but not at that price.[X(]
    A guy who used to live on this site and now is rarely here due to the "upgrade".
    Most likely fading away till the My Forums is fixed. Too bad.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Paola, KS
    Posts
    2,617
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New master tach tachometer

    I was watching the auction, too - but lost interest about 50 bucks ago...

    Out of all the places we could be, this is one of them.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Waseca, MN
    Posts
    8,451
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New master tach tachometer

    I believe Alan was selling them for close to $300 a few years ago (if you could even get one)..

    I've tried to needle q40's with digi tachs and it just sucks, love my Analog Master Tachs...
    Dave Norman
    29w

  5. #5
    vicman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Valdese, NC
    Posts
    9,873
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New master tach tachometer

    5 days to go at that price with 18 bids is the main thing that spooked me.
    Maybe I need to list a Cox TD right now?
    A guy who used to live on this site and now is rarely here due to the "upgrade".
    Most likely fading away till the My Forums is fixed. Too bad.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Waseca, MN
    Posts
    8,451
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New master tach tachometer

    I have a NIB Cox Conquest .15, those tend to go well also, especially if you have the little muffler.
    Dave Norman
    29w

  7. #7
    vicman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Valdese, NC
    Posts
    9,873
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New master tach tachometer

    Just sold a ton of OK and O&R ignition engines last week.

    Dave, since you don't need your tach anymore, I think you should make a contribution to the Vicman foundation
    A guy who used to live on this site and now is rarely here due to the "upgrade".
    Most likely fading away till the My Forums is fixed. Too bad.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    middletown, CT
    Posts
    2
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New master tach tachometer

    I bought that tach for $275 brand new.  This past spring.  It took me over 3 years to get my hands on one.  But, Now I'm just so used to using the TNC. 

  9. #9
    vicman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Valdese, NC
    Posts
    9,873
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New master tach tachometer

    I hope you get your money back. It looks like you are on track.
    A guy who used to live on this site and now is rarely here due to the "upgrade".
    Most likely fading away till the My Forums is fixed. Too bad.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Waseca, MN
    Posts
    8,451
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New master tach tachometer

    I'm going to use my master tac tonight Vic...

    I actually have two of them, ha ha...
    Dave Norman
    29w

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Paola, KS
    Posts
    2,617
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New master tach tachometer

    So you use both, and average the readings?

    If you have one in each hand, who sets the needle valve?

    But seriously, the Master Tach is nice. I don't own one, but a friend of mine does, and it's a nice box.

    I still have an old (after all, I'm old, too) Royal Pro-Tach. Still works, too. At least as well as I do.

    Out of all the places we could be, this is one of them.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Powder Springs, GA
    Posts
    1,480
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New master tach tachometer

    Hey Fizz, isn't that the one the Wright Brothers used??
    Barry...
    http://www.RCPRO.org

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Paola, KS
    Posts
    2,617
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New master tach tachometer

    You know, Barry, it might just be! It ought to be worth a fortune!

    Even more archaic.. I have a Heathkit "Thumb Tach" that I built from a kit probably in 1973 or 1974... It works, but I wouldn't want to use it! Tiny meter, and no expanded scales - kinda hard to tell 20,000 RPM from 18,000 RPM on that one!

    Out of all the places we could be, this is one of them.

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Powder Springs, GA
    Posts
    1,480
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New master tach tachometer


    ORIGINAL: fizzwater2

    You know, Barry, it might just be! It ought to be worth a fortune!

    Even more archaic.. I have a Heathkit "Thumb Tach" that I built from a kit probably in 1973 or 1974... It works, but I wouldn't want to use it! Tiny meter, and no expanded scales - kinda hard to tell 20,000 RPM from 18,000 RPM on that one!

    I remember them. I can't remember what I used for my F1's back in the 70's. I have been wanting a Master tach for Q40 and I am watching this one.

    Barry...
    http://www.RCPRO.org

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    , TN
    Posts
    278
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New master tach tachometer

    Hey Fizz, Is your Royal Pro Tach a Gray case, or the later White case? My Gray case died several years ago, but my trusty White case is still working fine. Some years ago I had Allen Booth install a modification on my Pro Tach so it would read higher. I don't know if he still works on the Pro Tach's or not. As a side note, I also have a James G. Biddle mechanical tach that I bought 40 years ago. I don't use it "on the line". I only use it when I'm doing serious test bench work. Greg

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Paola, KS
    Posts
    2,617
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New master tach tachometer

    Greg - it's a white one. Still works, don't use it much because it's in really good shape, I'm mostly just "having" it..

    Been using a TNC tach that belongs to a buddy of mine lately, just to try it out. It's OK, but I think I prefer the old needle type.

    Out of all the places we could be, this is one of them.

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Waseca, MN
    Posts
    8,451
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New master tach tachometer

    I have one of the first 5 Master Tacs ever built (with only 5 buttons), belonged to Rex Knepper (his name is scratched into it), I think it may have then gone on to Terry Frazer after that, and I bought it from Mike DeNeve probably close to 15 years ago for $50. I use that for local club racing and sport use. My other one is only used for traveling and stays wrapped in poly, batteries changed every year before leaving to Muncie. Alan serviced both of mine about 5 years ago and told me how old the history of the old one. Just don't break the glass on these things as its nearly impossible to replace anymore.
    Dave Norman
    29w

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Stansbury Park, UT
    Posts
    937
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    I've had my current Master Tack for close to twenty years and it's been rock solid. I've been wanting a backup for a long time, but Allen never had any when I checked with him. I don't know if he has any now, and I can't get in touch with him from my current overseas work location, so I went ahead and bid high on Trigg's, winning the auction! I know if I were patient I could probably save a few $ waiting on Allen, but when I had the chance to get one I jumped on it

    Triggs...you have the tack listed as "payment received", although I haven't sent you the payment...it's now keeping me from sending payment because of it. Can you give me your email address for Paypal, or another option for paying?

    Thanks!!
    GS

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    farmington, CT
    Posts
    603
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    My original Master Tach is over twenty years old. Besides reading 200 RPM high, it still works like a champ. I met Alan Booth at the 2012 Nats and he offered to recallibrate it.....it is more fun letting everyone think my motor is 200 RPM faster than theirs! He also told me he was making a run of about 12 tachs at that time. I was able to get a brand new backup from him last fall. Not sure if he is producing them regularly again or not. Once you get used to using one, it is hard to use anything else. Hard to buy anything these days that lasts twenty years plus, especially in the environment we use them in.

  20. #20
    RonMcCormick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Joliet, IL
    Posts
    301
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by GREG DOE View Post
    Hey Fizz, Is your Royal Pro Tach a Gray case, or the later White case? My Gray case died several years ago, but my trusty White case is still working fine. Some years ago I had Allen Booth install a modification on my Pro Tach so it would read higher. I don't know if he still works on the Pro Tach's or not. As a side note, I also have a James G. Biddle mechanical tach that I bought 40 years ago. I don't use it "on the line". I only use it when I'm doing serious test bench work. Greg
    WOW! I stumbled on this thread while looking for a good tach, had an order in for a TNC but got tired of waiting. Reading about the Pro Tach I remembered having one some time ago. Well I went down into the basement and started digging when I got down to 1976 there it was. I thought "hope I didn't leave batteries in it!" opened it and no batteries like new inside. After putting bats in I tested it and works like new!!! It will be great fun pulling it out to check the young ones RPM at the field.
    Ron McCormick
    AMA 53109, CPA 6, NSRCA 726

  21. #21

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    , TN
    Posts
    278
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Ron, Great news I'm happy for you. I personally think the Pro Tach is as good as anything today, except the Master Tach.
    I have my name and phone number on mine, so if I loose it, and some honest person finds it, they can get it back to me.
    You might consider listing it in your Last Will and Testament?

  22. #22
    RonMcCormick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Joliet, IL
    Posts
    301
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by GREG DOE View Post
    Ron, Great news I'm happy for you. I personally think the Pro Tach is as good as anything today, except the Master Tach.
    I have my name and phone number on mine, so if I loose it, and some honest person finds it, they can get it back to me.
    You might consider listing it in your Last Will and Testament?
    Thanks Greg, I take my sons into my shop and tell them "when I'm gone all you see will be yours and for some reason they start crying". It will be fun using the Pro Tach again
    Ron McCormick
    AMA 53109, CPA 6, NSRCA 726


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:52 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.