General Racing Discussion Open discussion about racing and racing related topics

New master tach tachometer

Reply
Old 07-30-2013, 05:27 AM
  #1
Triggs
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: middletown, CT
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default New master tach tachometer



New master tach tachometeron E-bay

http://bit.ly/130dkUm

Triggs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 05:40 AM
  #2
vicman
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,903
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New master tach tachometer

I really want one of those but not at that price.[X(]
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 06:45 AM
  #3
fizzwater2
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Paola, KS
Posts: 2,719
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New master tach tachometer

I was watching the auction, too - but lost interest about 50 bucks ago...

fizzwater2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 06:48 AM
  #4
daven
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,452
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New master tach tachometer

I believe Alan was selling them for close to $300 a few years ago (if you could even get one)..

I've tried to needle q40's with digi tachs and it just sucks, love my Analog Master Tachs...
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 07:06 AM
  #5
vicman
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,903
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New master tach tachometer

5 days to go at that price with 18 bids is the main thing that spooked me.
Maybe I need to list a Cox TD right now?
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 07:25 AM
  #6
daven
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,452
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New master tach tachometer

I have a NIB Cox Conquest .15, those tend to go well also, especially if you have the little muffler.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 07:49 AM
  #7
vicman
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,903
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New master tach tachometer

Just sold a ton of OK and O&R ignition engines last week.

Dave, since you don't need your tach anymore, I think you should make a contribution to the Vicman foundation
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 11:17 AM
  #8
Triggs
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: middletown, CT
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New master tach tachometer

I bought that tach for $275 brand new.  This past spring.  It took me over 3 years to get my hands on one.  But, Now I'm just so used to using the TNC. 
Triggs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 12:41 PM
  #9
vicman
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,903
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New master tach tachometer

I hope you get your money back. It looks like you are on track.
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 08:34 AM
  #10
daven
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,452
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New master tach tachometer

I'm going to use my master tac tonight Vic...

I actually have two of them, ha ha...
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 10:01 AM
  #11
fizzwater2
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Paola, KS
Posts: 2,719
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New master tach tachometer

So you use both, and average the readings?

If you have one in each hand, who sets the needle valve?

But seriously, the Master Tach is nice. I don't own one, but a friend of mine does, and it's a nice box.

I still have an old (after all, I'm old, too) Royal Pro-Tach. Still works, too. At least as well as I do.

fizzwater2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 11:17 AM
  #12
BarryReade
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 1,494
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New master tach tachometer

Hey Fizz, isn't that the one the Wright Brothers used??
BarryReade is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 12:35 PM
  #13
fizzwater2
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Paola, KS
Posts: 2,719
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New master tach tachometer

You know, Barry, it might just be! It ought to be worth a fortune!

Even more archaic.. I have a Heathkit "Thumb Tach" that I built from a kit probably in 1973 or 1974... It works, but I wouldn't want to use it! Tiny meter, and no expanded scales - kinda hard to tell 20,000 RPM from 18,000 RPM on that one!

fizzwater2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 01:52 PM
  #14
BarryReade
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 1,494
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New master tach tachometer


Quote:
ORIGINAL: fizzwater2

You know, Barry, it might just be! It ought to be worth a fortune!

Even more archaic.. I have a Heathkit "Thumb Tach" that I built from a kit probably in 1973 or 1974... It works, but I wouldn't want to use it! Tiny meter, and no expanded scales - kinda hard to tell 20,000 RPM from 18,000 RPM on that one!

I remember them. I can't remember what I used for my F1's back in the 70's. I have been wanting a Master tach for Q40 and I am watching this one.

BarryReade is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 05:12 PM
  #15
GREG DOE
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: , TN
Posts: 511
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New master tach tachometer

Hey Fizz, Is your Royal Pro Tach a Gray case, or the later White case? My Gray case died several years ago, but my trusty White case is still working fine. Some years ago I had Allen Booth install a modification on my Pro Tach so it would read higher. I don't know if he still works on the Pro Tach's or not. As a side note, I also have a James G. Biddle mechanical tach that I bought 40 years ago. I don't use it "on the line". I only use it when I'm doing serious test bench work. Greg
GREG DOE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 05:17 AM
  #16
fizzwater2
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Paola, KS
Posts: 2,719
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New master tach tachometer

Greg - it's a white one. Still works, don't use it much because it's in really good shape, I'm mostly just "having" it..

Been using a TNC tach that belongs to a buddy of mine lately, just to try it out. It's OK, but I think I prefer the old needle type.

fizzwater2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 07:10 AM
  #17
daven
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,452
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New master tach tachometer

I have one of the first 5 Master Tacs ever built (with only 5 buttons), belonged to Rex Knepper (his name is scratched into it), I think it may have then gone on to Terry Frazer after that, and I bought it from Mike DeNeve probably close to 15 years ago for $50. I use that for local club racing and sport use. My other one is only used for traveling and stays wrapped in poly, batteries changed every year before leaving to Muncie. Alan serviced both of mine about 5 years ago and told me how old the history of the old one. Just don't break the glass on these things as its nearly impossible to replace anymore.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 03:18 PM
  #18
garys
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Stansbury Park, UT
Posts: 937
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I've had my current Master Tack for close to twenty years and it's been rock solid. I've been wanting a backup for a long time, but Allen never had any when I checked with him. I don't know if he has any now, and I can't get in touch with him from my current overseas work location, so I went ahead and bid high on Trigg's, winning the auction! I know if I were patient I could probably save a few $ waiting on Allen, but when I had the chance to get one I jumped on it

Triggs...you have the tack listed as "payment received", although I haven't sent you the payment...it's now keeping me from sending payment because of it. Can you give me your email address for Paypal, or another option for paying?

Thanks!!
garys is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 04:09 AM
  #19
cbk07
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: farmington, CT
Posts: 607
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

My original Master Tach is over twenty years old. Besides reading 200 RPM high, it still works like a champ. I met Alan Booth at the 2012 Nats and he offered to recallibrate it.....it is more fun letting everyone think my motor is 200 RPM faster than theirs! He also told me he was making a run of about 12 tachs at that time. I was able to get a brand new backup from him last fall. Not sure if he is producing them regularly again or not. Once you get used to using one, it is hard to use anything else. Hard to buy anything these days that lasts twenty years plus, especially in the environment we use them in.
cbk07 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 07:30 PM
  #20
RonMcCormick
 
RonMcCormick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 329
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GREG DOE View Post
Hey Fizz, Is your Royal Pro Tach a Gray case, or the later White case? My Gray case died several years ago, but my trusty White case is still working fine. Some years ago I had Allen Booth install a modification on my Pro Tach so it would read higher. I don't know if he still works on the Pro Tach's or not. As a side note, I also have a James G. Biddle mechanical tach that I bought 40 years ago. I don't use it "on the line". I only use it when I'm doing serious test bench work. Greg
WOW! I stumbled on this thread while looking for a good tach, had an order in for a TNC but got tired of waiting. Reading about the Pro Tach I remembered having one some time ago. Well I went down into the basement and started digging when I got down to 1976 there it was. I thought "hope I didn't leave batteries in it!" opened it and no batteries like new inside. After putting bats in I tested it and works like new!!! It will be great fun pulling it out to check the young ones RPM at the field.
RonMcCormick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 08:43 PM
  #21
GREG DOE
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: , TN
Posts: 511
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Ron, Great news I'm happy for you. I personally think the Pro Tach is as good as anything today, except the Master Tach.
I have my name and phone number on mine, so if I loose it, and some honest person finds it, they can get it back to me.
You might consider listing it in your Last Will and Testament?
GREG DOE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 09:19 PM
  #22
RonMcCormick
 
RonMcCormick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 329
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GREG DOE View Post
Ron, Great news I'm happy for you. I personally think the Pro Tach is as good as anything today, except the Master Tach.
I have my name and phone number on mine, so if I loose it, and some honest person finds it, they can get it back to me.
You might consider listing it in your Last Will and Testament?
Thanks Greg, I take my sons into my shop and tell them "when I'm gone all you see will be yours and for some reason they start crying". It will be fun using the Pro Tach again
RonMcCormick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:27 AM.