Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Pylon Universe - RC Pylon Racing > General Racing Discussion
Reload this Page >

We want to start racing at our club, how?

Community
Search
Notices
General Racing Discussion Open discussion about racing and racing related topics

We want to start racing at our club, how?

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2006, 11:06 AM
hvac
My Feedback: (7)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default We want to start racing at our club, how?

We have several people at our club that want to start pylon racing. there is no organized pylon racing in our area(Indianapolis, racing capitol of the world, whats up with that?). Where do I begin? I want it to be affordable and fun. I have lots of experience in other forms of racing (karts, rc cars, etc.) and they all suffered from the new hot piece of the week syndrome. If you didnt buy the latest and greatest new equipment that seemed to come out every week you had no chance of running up front or winning. As a result your core racers quit and the series and events went away. I want a totally spec class and maybe a unlimited class for all the rich guys. Im thinking the spec class would be Viper or Predator only and the engine would be TT 40 only. Unlimited Class is self explanatory, no rules. I know nothing about semi organized airplane pylon racing and I am not interested in anything that has to do with the AMA. This will be local only and just for fun, althought I thought about charging a $5 entry fee and giving all the entry fee money back to the top 3 finishers. I think there are some guys at other local clubs that want to do this also. We could maybe race at a few other local clubs as a series. I want to use the KISS (keep it simple stupid) method. Any and all suggestions are welcome. Thanks.
Old 04-08-2006, 11:18 AM
hvac

Default RE: We want to start racing at our club, how?