Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

To smoke or not to smoke?

Reply

Old 01-14-2011, 03:23 PM
  #1  
SharpProp
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorchester, IL
Posts: 307
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default To smoke or not to smoke?

Would you bother with the excess weight of a smoke system on a 30cc sbach? I love the idea but I don't want to take too much away from it's 3d capabilities.
SharpProp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 04:04 PM
  #2  
dryverman
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Proctor, VT
Posts: 172
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: To smoke or not to smoke?

Aircraft International's 3W pump plugs into your receiver...no extra battery
needed. I don't think you would notice the added weight of the tank and plumbing.
What's the engine?
dryverman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 07:43 PM
  #3  
SharpProp
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorchester, IL
Posts: 307
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: To smoke or not to smoke?

DLE 30cc
SharpProp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 08:27 AM
  #4  
dryverman
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Proctor, VT
Posts: 172
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: To smoke or not to smoke?

Why not give it a try? BTW, I've had good luck with my 3W pump.
dryverman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 09:01 AM
  #5  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Highland Utah UT
Posts: 5,056
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: To smoke or not to smoke?


ORIGINAL: SharpProp

Would you bother with the excess weight of a smoke system on a 30cc sbach? I love the idea but I don't want to take too much away from it's 3d capabilities.
Well I'm going to disagree with dryverman....

In GENERAL, putting smoke system in a model will add about 1lb. to the weight and that's a BUNCH more weight for a 30cc size model to add to the wing loading. I would NOT share smoke pump power directly from the rx buss either for some of the same reasons I wouldn't run ignition power from that source. If you want to not run an additional battery, the solution is to pick up a power switch with multiple power out leads or a battery with multiple power output leads and use a separate switch for the smoke pump.

That said; smoke is kind of neat on models but chasing down the smoke fluid, getting the pump and your radio setup for a decent smoke output can be a challenge, if the smoke fluid gets loose insided the model you've got a real mess to deal with (anyone who say's they've NEVER had a leak probably hasn't played with it much), it's not exactly an inexpensive proposition and to top it off, the extra weight will change the model's flight characteristics.

JMHO....
Zeeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 09:41 AM
  #6  
ScottMcM
Senior Member
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bennettsville, SC
Posts: 1,171
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: To smoke or not to smoke?

I put a smoke system on a Giant Super Sportster/Zenoah G38, and it flies very differently than it did before the smoke system......I do like the smoke though. It looks great when I point it straight up, and it stalls, and then tail slides back down into the smoke
ScottMcM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 10:23 AM
  #7  
Flyfalcons
Senior Member
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: To smoke or not to smoke?

I wouldn't put smoke on anything under 100cc. The weight penalty is proportionally greater on the smaller planes.
Flyfalcons is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 11:02 AM
  #8  
SharpProp
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorchester, IL
Posts: 307
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: To smoke or not to smoke?

Does the weight come from the fluid itself or does the pump, etc. Add significant weight also? Also would it be possible to rig a system to be easily removable? Maybe put it on for a funfly and do some sport flying with smoke, then remove it for 3d.... Any thoughts on that?
SharpProp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 12:08 PM
  #9  
Flyfalcons
Senior Member
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: To smoke or not to smoke?

The entire system adds considerable weight. Yes it is possible to rig a removable system with the pump, tank, and battery on a removable tray.
Flyfalcons is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 06:07 AM
  #10  
Steve
My Feedback: (54)
 
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ashton, ID
Posts: 2,178
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: To smoke or not to smoke?

I agree with FlyFalcons, 100cc and larger are good for smoke systems.
Steve is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service