Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic
Reload this Page >

Heavy duty servo extensios?

Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

Heavy duty servo extensios?

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2014, 06:12 AM
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)

Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts

Might not be? I'm just concerned over the amount of current going through that circuit board and the connections to/from it. I'm no electronics expert, but if I can reduce the load on the receiver buss and provide the rudder with a nearly straight shot to the battery, why wouldn't that be a good plan?

That, and I know it works. I've been flying it for quite a while now (3 seasons?).

Just tossing the idea out there. If it doesn't make sense, or makes you nervous, keep going the way you are!
Old 10-14-2014, 06:28 AM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 350 Likes on 280 Posts

I have no doubt that it works and I dont want to come across as busting your chops.

It certainly can't hurt anything.

That said, plenty of folks are running big rudder servos on 3D planes with big surfaces and a lot of load, off a receiver bus w/o any problem.

I'll give you an example of how I have my Corvus (avatar pic) setup.

1 2500mah A123 with two outputs. A heavy duty 18 ga output with a deans. This plugs into a Smartfly super switch. The superswitch has two JR outputs that go to a Spektrum AR9020 receiver.
The other lead is a standard JR connector that goes to a JR heavy duty switch, an RXEXL ignition kill, and on to the ignition.

I have or have had the same setup in 3 or 4 50 and 60cc planes with hundreds of flights. Several of those flights are by a couple of guys that fly a lot harder and better than I do, and the electronic installation has been flawless.

Savox 1231 or Hitec 7955TG servos for the most part as well.
Old 10-14-2014, 06:41 AM
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)