Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic
Reload this Page >

Size tug plane recommendations for 99 cc Stihl engine.

Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2015, 01:50 PM
Jim.Thompson

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Size tug plane recommendations for 99 cc Stihl engine.

[HR][/HR] I'm planning on designing and building a tug plane for aerotowing gliders. I let this be known to a pal of mine and he immediately gave me a big MS660 Stihl chainsaw, which has a 99 cc engine in it. (big bore kit fitted).
Some questions for the readers of this forum:

1. What size plane is nominally matched to an engine this size? I am aware that weight will be a factor, and I will not know the weight of this engine until I strip all the surplus chainsaw stuff off it.
I am totally ignorant of powered radio control aircraft as I'm a glider designer/builder/flyer.

2. What is the reason for using (typically), very thick airfoil sections on powered planes, especially aerobatic planes (like around 12% +). Is it for the added drag that moderates speed through a variety of aerobatics?

Apologies in advance for the simplicity and basic level of the questions.

Jim.
Old 10-09-2015, 06:55 PM
Pelle Gris

I´d recommend a sturdy boxlike structure around 100" span. Straight wing, fully symmetrical airfoil around 15-18% and large flaps if you have a short runway.
Also do build too light! In my experience a tug only profits from a somewhat high wing loading as it gets more stable in tow and you are able to fly in high winds.

I currently fly my own design tug. It´s 97in span, chord of 18,5in and weighs in at about 33lbs ready for takeoff. It´s powered by a King 140RV boxer. Total length including engine is 85".
I´m currently finalizing v2 which will have a slightly stretched wing (103in) as well as larger flaps.