Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic
Reload this Page >

HELP - CAN'T land my first gasser.. 30cc PILOT RC SBACH 342

Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

HELP - CAN'T land my first gasser.. 30cc PILOT RC SBACH 342

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2017, 12:59 PM
4sylvester

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP - CAN'T land my first gasser.. 30cc PILOT RC SBACH 342

I have flown lots of RC planes over the years including larger ones like the Top Flite cessna 310 but this is my first gasser. I am a licensed pilot also. I Just got a SBACH 342 30cc from Pilot RC and it flys great but I can't land it. The plane comes in Very HOT!!! is this normal for a large 3D plane? If i approach with power it takes me 300 feet to slow it down and 3-point. If i approach at idle i typicall stall after the roundout. is this normal for a plane with such a low wing loading to have such poor gliding characteristics? Is it just prop drag? I know a harrier style landing it an option but I would prefer not to land that way unless i have to. I am running an 18x6 on DLE 35.

Any advice is appreciated. Thank you.
Old 03-13-2017, 02:20 PM
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)

Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts

My bet: If you look at your elevator that's been trimmed for straight and level flight, it's going to have some "up" trimmed into it. That's nearly a guarantee the plane is nose heavy - regardless of what the directions tell you regarding CG.

Forward CG also pretty much guarantees high landing speeds.

If you're CG is ahead of the wing tube, that would be the 3rd indicator.

It really sounds like you need to trim for proper CG. On a plane like that, I would keep moving the CG back until you find yourself flying with a neutral elevator. That will be really close....
Old 03-13-2017, 02:24 PM
All Day Dan
My Feedback: (5)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts