Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

composite arf yak?

Reply
Old 04-10-2008, 12:58 AM
  #1726
Tired Old Man
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Valley Springs, CA
Posts: 18,602
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

Regarding the aileron/elevator horn positions. I don't know if it's a height issue or lateral positioning, but it might be easier to shim the servos to one side to offset a lateral positioning issue. You may also be able to use a ball link of the servo side to offset the linkage enough for a clevis to line up on surface horn. You can't use a ball link on the horns. They break that way.

Underdw

You could prolly talk me into buying those parts if you still have them.
Tired Old Man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 06:21 AM
  #1727
Flyjets
Moderator
 
Flyjets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 1,243
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

Hi Guys

I realize this is an old Thread but here are some Baffel photos.

My Engine Builder buddies swear this is a must.

Ian
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Li21194.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	62.7 KB
ID:	926587   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kf13117.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	57.5 KB
ID:	926588   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig11410.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	42.5 KB
ID:	926589   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bw73423.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	77.1 KB
ID:	926590  
Flyjets is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 08:41 AM
  #1728
coloradoz
 
coloradoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: evergreen, CO
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

The issue that I'm seeing right now is two-fold. a) from the pictures in the CA manual - the hinges are way too far forward, that is, the centerline on the hinge point do not line up with the rotation point (ie. the rod). The manual is misleading on this. b) The second issue is the height - the manual indicates the following:

"Trial fit one horn in the milled slot, so that the hole for the clevise is between 22 - 24mm from the bottom surface of the elevator, and exactly perpendicular to the hinge axis (the centre of the aluminum hinge tube). Adjust slots as needed...."

Now, I didn't originally build the plane, but I sure wish CA would supply the templates for this!
coloradoz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 09:03 AM
  #1729
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

Its not that difficult to make one yourself, just make sure the horn attachement point is over the hinge line.

Mike
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Gd93559.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	36.6 KB
ID:	926638   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dy79353.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	52.0 KB
ID:	926639  
BaldEagel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 09:49 AM
  #1730
cygnet
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary Alberta, AB, CANADA
Posts: 392
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

Not so I have nearly 300 flights on mine and not one over heating problem
cygnet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 10:11 AM
  #1731
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: cygnet

Not so I have nearly 300 flights on mine and not one over heating problem
I wonder what the ambient temp difference is between Alberta and Florida?

Mike
BaldEagel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 10:17 AM
  #1732
cygnet
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary Alberta, AB, CANADA
Posts: 392
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

Point well taken but we do fly in 100 degree heat in the summer Southern Alberta semi desert come vist you will like it
cygnet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 01:19 PM
  #1733
coloradoz
 
coloradoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: evergreen, CO
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

BaldEagle - your picture looks pretty much like what I saw in the manual, with the hole in the control arm located above the gap - but I don't believe that it is the right location. Shouldn't the 'hole' in the control arm be exactly perpendicular to the hinge rod - which in the Yak is quite a bit back from the gap)? Yours looks way forward of that point (this was the point I was trying to make).
coloradoz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 02:07 PM
  #1734
Hammbone
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Loveland, CO
Posts: 1,682
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

I'm not sure if it's supposed to be above the gap or the hinge rod, but I don't think it matters that much. What is more important is that both elevator horns are in the same location.

It is also important that all four aileron horns are equidistant and perpendicular from the hinge line.

Jim
Hammbone is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 02:09 PM
  #1735
Tired Old Man
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Valley Springs, CA
Posts: 18,602
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

He depicted an aileron, which does not have a hinge rod. It has a "living hinge". There you align with the upper hinge line.

Why not try the elevators first. You have to install elevator servos either way. If it works acceptably well, leave it alone. Worst case, glue and screw a forward extension on the existing horn. The instructions on how to make the alignment jig along with a picture are in the manual. No one else got a pre-made jig either. Without using one you don't have a clue what the horns line up with.
Tired Old Man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2008, 11:55 PM
  #1736
Darrinc
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 1,028
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

I am setting up my 2nd 2.6m Yak because I sold the first one and after a couple of years I really missed it.



Original setup:



DA 100 on stock exhaust, Beila 28x10

(1) 5945 per surface except for 5735 on rudder (changed to a 5995 when they came out)

(1) 700 2 cell li poly on ignition (no regulator)

(1) 4 cell 1200 li Ion reduncy pack, (no regulators) (originaly a 1200 2 cell li ion pack but ended up using a 4 cell pack to move the CG back)



This plane was amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Mine turned out nose heavy but the 4 cell pack fixed it, and was solid as a rock on control surfaces



New setup:



ZDZ Super 80 with canistor muffler, PT 26x10 carbon prop w/ carbon spinner (engine I have layng around, only needs a 1/2 spacer)

(1) 5995 per surface (I love these servos)

(1) 4 cell 4800 li Ion reduncy pack to run both ingition and rx (no regulator) from a single battery (got to love 2.4 to take the noise out of the system)



Thinking of using a 24 oz tank instead of the 32 oz because this Yak only flies so fast, so more throttle does not make it go any faster, so most of the time I was at 1/3 throttle or less and always landed my old one with half a tank or more. ( you definately will NOT get the speed of a Extra out of this plane, these are SLOW flying planes)



Really looking forward to another Yak 55SP!!!
Darrinc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 02:03 AM
  #1737
delizia1
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: lord valley, PA
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

Looking for a red bull yak 55sp 2.6 m if enybody have it for sale reply to me please
delizia1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 07:08 AM
  #1738
MDH75
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

They are still available from Comp Arf as a custom order.
MDH75 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 03:55 PM
  #1739
skymaster68
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 146
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

Hi I'm instaling KS 1060 pipes on my Yak Da 100, but have no experience with pipes before, can you tell me how tu tunn a pipe? what is a good distance from header to pipe?
Rgds
Cristian
skymaster68 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 10:05 PM
  #1740
underdw
 
underdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Erie CO
Posts: 356
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

Hi Skymaster,
To properly tune them, you'd have to set the engine up on a test stand with a way to quickly adjust the header length. Don't worry about it -DA has done the work for us. Just use their header, full length with about 1/4" coupler gap to the pipe. You'll have wicked power. I've never been totally happy with the mid-range, but the top end makes it worth it.
Enjoy,
Dan
underdw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 09:38 PM
  #1741
marc 540
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: HUNTINGTON, IN
Posts: 303
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

Hi all,
I know this is an old thread but I just ordered my Comp-Arf 2.6 yak (fantasy scheme) and I was wondering if anybody has used a DLE 111 in there yak? I have yet to decide on standard mufflers or full length carbon tuned pipes. I know the cannister tunnel is to short for full length pipes but it might actually be easier to install the full lenght pipes because you can get to them (and support them) where they come out of the tunnel into the fuse. Just wondering how the DLE would run with the full lenght pipes? I'll probably use today's super torque servos thruought on this plane (one per ail) along with the modern 2.4 technology we have today. Not sure about battery's yet but I like to keep things simple and light.

Marc 540[8D]
marc 540 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 03:30 AM
  #1742
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

Only advice I can offer is on the batteries, use two cell A123's for the Rx and servo's, no need for a regulator and can be quick charged on site without taking them out of the fus, I have been using them on all my airframes including jets for over five years without any problems, even use them on the ignition on my MVVS's.

Mike
BaldEagel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 03:42 AM
  #1743
nir schweizer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: germantown , MD
Posts: 37
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

Marc,
i build them for living and i got few YAK's with the carbon tuned pipes. you just need to make a nice holl at the ent of the tunnel
i would use JR 8711 one for each AIL and them have 2 of them at the tail for the radder.

if yuo have any Q's call 301 257 9888

Nir Schweizer
Yakboy
Nirlybuilt
nir schweizer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 04:28 AM
  #1744
ricardinho
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: tampa, FL
Posts: 1,041
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

hello guys...could somebody tell me the engine standoffs size needed for this plane using a da 100...thanks pat
ricardinho is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 06:40 AM
  #1745
nonstoprc
 
nonstoprc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central, TX
Posts: 2,452
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

You may need to contact one of the comp-arf representatives. Somebody has shown me that the original standoffs are multiple 1/4" thick alum "washers" and you stack them up to the proper length. The plane could be tail-heavy and you could add more washers to balance it out.
nonstoprc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 09:12 PM
  #1746
underdw
 
underdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Erie CO
Posts: 356
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

I have 2" standoffs. This spaces the spinner backplate about 1.6" from the front of the cowl. This large spacing helps with the balance, especially when using tuned pipes I also recall that a larger spacing was recommended by Quique on his Yaks to increase thrust. Some might find it unpleasing to the eye...

Dan
underdw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 02:52 AM
  #1747
nir schweizer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: germantown , MD
Posts: 37
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

All the 2.6 yak I built has1/2" stand offs
For a DA100
Nirlybuilt
nir schweizer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 03:59 AM
  #1748
ricardinho
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: tampa, FL
Posts: 1,041
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

hey nir nobody knows the yak like you...thanks buddy..
ricardinho is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 04:01 AM
  #1749
nir schweizer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: germantown , MD
Posts: 37
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

Any time I can help :-)
nir schweizer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 04:05 AM
  #1750
gene6029
 
gene6029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: wilson, NC
Posts: 1,202
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: composite arf yak?

+1 0n the 1/2 " standoffs w the DA-100. I used the aluminum standoffs from PSP, perfect!....Gene
gene6029 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:08 PM.