Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

What would you do??!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2004, 09:29 PM
lownslo

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What would you do??!!

I need to know what is the best way to cover my G 26 powered Flybaby kit. It WILL have smoke too. I want to use fabric but my G 23 puts out a black residue that several cleaners wont get off of Ultrakote!!![&o] I end up using McQuires cleaner polish and wax it off. (I have used 3 different oils.... I'm now running Amsoil 100:1 and the engine is tuned and runs terrific) I was wanting to use a pre-painted fabric, like Coverite, or pre-colored like Solartex because not only do I hate painting, I am not good at it either. I was thinking of spraying the bottom with satin polyurethane. I might have some white fabric stripes on the bottom, and I was afraid the polyu would turn yellow. Do any of you have this black, hard to remove residue..... and how do you cover when you have engine and smoke residue to deal with?? thanks........lownslo...
Old 10-29-2004, 09:36 PM
famousdave
My Feedback: (61)

Default RE: What would you do??!!

I use ultrakote on all my gassers and have never had a problem with residue staining. I have used Klotz, Amsoil and Lawnboy Ashless as well as Mobile.

If you are running 100:1 in your Zenoah you should have no residue... My guess is that you are wearing metal due to underlubrication. Those engines were meant to be run on 40:1 petroleum lube or 50:1 synthetic. You can run 100:1 but it will shorten the engine's life.

Switch to Klotz 50:1 syn or 40:1 ashless and you probably will see the residue subside.

Believe it or not the best cleaner for Ultrakote is Acetone. I use alcohol for general maint, but if there is an stubborn dirt, acetone takes it right off without ANY harm to the color or material itself. Been doing it for years and some of my planes are years old...