Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

NEW 30% BME EDGE II

Old 11-27-2005, 07:23 PM
  #476  
JoeAirPort
My Feedback: (41)
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 10,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

The last two show the difference after applying some graphics.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw68867.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	43.6 KB
ID:	361176   Click image for larger version

Name:	Id95767.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	39.3 KB
ID:	361177   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn38103.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	55.1 KB
ID:	361178   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fd90836.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	46.6 KB
ID:	361179   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tq48634.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	43.5 KB
ID:	361180  
JoeAirPort is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 09:51 PM
  #477  
JohnVH
My Feedback: (38)
 
JohnVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 16,113
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

Looking good!
JohnVH is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 06:57 AM
  #478  
Maudib
Senior Member
My Feedback: (51)
 
Maudib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ashland, KY
Posts: 5,833
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

Awesome job JoeAirPort!

I wan't a huge fan of all those colors, but you are showing a very easy, and sweet, alternative...
Maudib is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 08:47 AM
  #479  
JoeAirPort
My Feedback: (41)
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 10,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

Thanks guys. I like the new color scheme much better. That was the only thing that bugged me about the ARF from the beginning. It was pretty easy to do. Ultracoat is so easy to work with.
JoeAirPort is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 02:07 PM
  #480  
drbebob
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Oxford, IA
Posts: 233
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

Thanks Joe--- Much much better. Did you know that 10% of male humans have a color vision deficiency? Max? Max?

Bob
drbebob is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 02:31 PM
  #481  
JoeAirPort
My Feedback: (41)
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 10,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

Hahahaha, that was funny Bob. I actually e-mailed Max with these pic's. I told him to consider changing the cover scheme, that he might sell a few more.

ORIGINAL: drbebob

Thanks Joe--- Much much better. Did you know that 10% of male humans have a color vision deficiency? Max? Max?

Bob
JoeAirPort is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 05:39 PM
  #482  
fasterthanlife
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
fasterthanlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Franklin, LA
Posts: 532
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

I know this thread was dying, but anyway.

I can hover my 65" yak Profile real easy and I torque roll my foamy uner 2 feet and what not, would yall rate the edge II as easy to harrier hover, or is it more difficult than most setups. Theres nothing I can't do with a foamy, but I know foamies are a bit easy.

I also harrier land my Yak too.


Thanks

oh yea O'v seen the Edge I fly and it looked pretty stable.
fasterthanlife is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 10:53 PM
  #483  
JoeAirPort
My Feedback: (41)
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 10,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

Ok this is done done. Just applied the last graphics. The ones that come with the kit are not very good, not sure how you could even apply them. They don't come with that backing paper to hold all the vinyl in place while you peel the backing off. You'd have to pick each little piece and letter off and apply it hoping that it all lines up. Too bad because I liked those BME Aircraft ones in white.

Anyway I'm not that good so I got my Edge 540 ones from BadBradGrpahics.com. I got my DA stuff from DA but Brad has the one on my cowling. I don't think he has the "Powered By DA 50". He might have the True Turn.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sp45431.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	63.0 KB
ID:	363380   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ea84290.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	55.6 KB
ID:	363381  
JoeAirPort is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 11:59 PM
  #484  
JohnVH
My Feedback: (38)
 
JohnVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 16,113
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

Joe, my edge came with a few strips of clear transfer tape, and you must reuse it for the other decal of the same size.
JohnVH is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 09:19 AM
  #485  
JoeAirPort
My Feedback: (41)
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 10,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

Oh man how stupid do I feel. I didn't know what that clear stuff was for. Oh well, learning can be painful.

ORIGINAL: JohnVH

Joe, my edge came with a few strips of clear transfer tape, and you must reuse it for the other decal of the same size.
JoeAirPort is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 11:06 AM
  #486  
drbebob
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Oxford, IA
Posts: 233
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

Joe--- Don't feel bad. It took me a while to figure it out and even after I figured it out I really didn't like the system. It works but definitely indicates a low quality level. I much prefer graphics with built in transfer tape. I had some made for the Yak I am completing and only used the small graphics that were supplied. I vote for fewer but higher quality graphics.

Bob
drbebob is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 11:19 AM
  #487  
JohnVH
My Feedback: (38)
 
JohnVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 16,113
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

Bob, graphics done have built in transfer tape, just most people put it on the decal instead of shipping it seperately. Either way, the system does work. This is how another plane Ive done had them too
JohnVH is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 06:00 PM
  #488  
drbebob
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Oxford, IA
Posts: 233
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

John-- I know the transfer tape is not built in. Let me rephrase. I prefer a seperate piece of transfer tape already applied to each graphic. It helps protect the surface of the graphics in shipping and handling and doesn't require reuse of the transfer medium along with any attendant problems in positioning the transfer tape.

Bob
drbebob is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 04:53 PM
  #489  
bcrc
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 91
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

Would a Zenoah GT-80 be too much engine for the BME Edge 540 II?
Would it be too heavy to balance the airplane (it would weigh 2 pounds more than a DA-50)?
bcrc is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 04:55 PM
  #490  
JohnVH
My Feedback: (38)
 
JohnVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 16,113
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

Yeah, I wouldnt put a GT80 on this plane, way too heavy, save that for a warbird, or boat anchor.

The DA50 gives mine wicked power.
JohnVH is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 06:56 PM
  #491  
Flyfalcons
Senior Member
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

Haha, wicked
Flyfalcons is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 08:58 PM
  #492  
JohnVH
My Feedback: (38)
 
JohnVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 16,113
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

hey stranger
JohnVH is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 11:04 AM
  #493  
jharkin
My Feedback: (2)
 
jharkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Holliston, MA
Posts: 368
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

An update on my Edge. I finally got through to RC Showcase and found that the ZDZ-50NG I have on backorder for a month wont be in before Christmas. So, order is cancelled and I have a DA-50 on the way instead (Troybuilt had them in stock) - should be here next week. Hopefully I will be started on the covering by the holidays. More photos to come...


BTW, Anybody notice that BME is now advertizing another update (Ver. III I guess?) coming in '06 - including pipe tunnel, aluminum control horns and wing/fuse bags. Hmm
jharkin is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 11:35 AM
  #494  
drbebob
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Oxford, IA
Posts: 233
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

I just hope they have changed the covering design or at least offer different color combinations.

Bob
drbebob is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 12:03 PM
  #495  
JoeAirPort
My Feedback: (41)
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 10,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

No kidding. Also the covering type is not good. I'd prefer Ultracoat. Even I can make Ultracoat look good when I apply it. That stuff they used is really hard to iron out wrinkles. It just creases and won't shrink. I suck at covering so I thought it was me. Then I applied some Ultracoat trim to the Edge II and wow, way better to work with.

As far as flying performance, this thing is the king. I've never flown anything like it. Can't wait till spring.... ARRRRRGGGGG!!!

ORIGINAL: drbebob

I just hope they have changed the covering design or at least offer different color combinations.

Bob
JoeAirPort is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 12:47 PM
  #496  
aeromax
Senior Member
 
aeromax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Burnaby, BC, CANADA
Posts: 110
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

JoeAirPort. The covering on the Edge II IS Ultracote.

Aeromax
aeromax is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 12:48 PM
  #497  
coony2787
Senior Member
My Feedback: (33)
 
coony2787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Oxford, MS
Posts: 870
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

I thought the new edge already has ultracoat on it already. I matched the colors with ultracote and had no problems working with it. I'am pretty sure it has ultracote on it.

Chad
coony2787 is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 01:06 PM
  #498  
JoeAirPort
My Feedback: (41)
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 10,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

I had a lot of trouble getting rid of wrinkles on the stock covering. It would not shrink, maybe it just won't tighten up anymore, not sure. Ultracoat is Hanger9/Horizon product isn't it? The colors match on the blue. I will try again and see if I can get it to shrink. The actual Ultracoat I bought at the store was a lot easier to work with, no doubting that.

JoeAirPort is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 02:13 PM
  #499  
coony2787
Senior Member
My Feedback: (33)
 
coony2787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Oxford, MS
Posts: 870
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

Hmm that is trange cause if you look in side the plane you can see the back of the covering and see that it says oracover, witch is ultracote.

Chad
coony2787 is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 02:52 PM
  #500  
sass25479
Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Oak Hills, CA
Posts: 93
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: NEW 30% BME EDGE II

Hey Max,
Are you bringing out version 3 of the edge? If so, what are the changes?
sass25479 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.